Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

My husband and I learned a lot and enjoyed volunteering with HFH. The crew was organized, experienced, and efficient with time. We hope to participate again soon, once our newborn baby is older.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

I have been volunteering with Sarasota Habitat along side our college students for many years. We keep coming back because of the mission of the organization, their integrity, and the wonderful experience they provide for everyone involved.
As the Director of Student Volunteerism and
Service-Learning at the Ringling College of Art and Design, I continue to look for community partners who can provide our students with meaningful opportunities for service in this area, while also offering a valuable learning experience. We have had a wonderful partnership with Sarasota Habitat for year because they continue to offer that and so much more.
Our students always ask when we are going to Sarasota Habitat next. Every time they serve, no matter what the task, they have their eyes opened to the needs of Sarasota families and the wonderful efforts of Sarasota Habitat to meet those needs. They learn the importance of team work, communication and collaboration. And they have a blast!
They are always warmly greeted by Habitat staff and volunteers, who provide everything for a successful service project. They work with the families who will receive the homes. All of the volunteers are always so grateful for each others' service and everyone leaves wanting to return.
This is all from the point of view from a volunteer, but does not even touch upon the important work Habitat does in this community. They are making huge strides in providing safe and affordable housing- which many families are in great need. Their Neighborhood Stabilization Project homes have transformed blighted streets in to beautiful neighborhoods of which homeowners are proud.
Sarasota Habitat is not only building homes and providing housing, they are building communities.
We thank them for all they do as they are truly a GREAT NONPROFIT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 1, 2011

more

December 1, 2011

Habitat for Humanity Sarasota is a great organization putting over 200 mortgage paying underprivileged families into homes to date. Each month we feature a charity in REAL Magazine. Renee Snyder and Habitat for Humanity Sarasota are the only charity to be featured as a COVER STORY by REAL Magazine for their efforts. You may read their story at http://bit.ly/eIA5nS

They are very deserving of this award.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have attended numerous home dedications and have personally experienced the joy of each new home owner taking possession. It is very touching.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The changes I recommended are well underway. They concerned enhancing visibility in the market. Habitat for Humanity Sarasota now has a cohesive marketing/PR program that consistently gets them exposure in the market.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Referral from a REALTOR

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

Allison,

Thank you for your service to us. We have used your store and have found it really helpful in providing affordable furniture for our house.
We have recommended your store to many of our friends.

Thanks again,

Jim & Maria Champine

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping others who are homeless. Providing affordable household items to us and our friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more inventory.

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

Habitat for Humanity is one of the most wonderful chairities that I have ever been associated. The persons working for Habitat are the most giving people that I have ever known. They are caring beyond measure holding others before themselves. They strive for greatness and love for their homeowners and are very generous with their homes and their content. There is also a Christian atmosphere.
I am not involved in the building of houses although I have done that through my church. I work in the retail store, "Restore II".
I couldn't ask for a better place to volunteer my services or be more appreciated. I love my "job"!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The great feelings I get when I volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize more on TV and the newspaper.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has taught me new skills in the retail business and I have made many new and different loving friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Appreciated!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

Habitat is helping me be a home owner which is something I never thought would happen. I am very greatful for what they have done and are doing for me and my famliy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They are helping me become a homeowner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep it the same they are wonderful

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Made me feel good about myself and i learned how to do yard work

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

this world needs more and even better organizations like habitat if it hopes to survive

a capitalist society will be the death of humanity

even more recycling and providing of !!! affordable !!!, usable remnants should be paramount

thank you habitat

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

The Sarasota Association of Realtors partnered with Habitat this year to rehab a home. As we got to know the family, who worked alongside us throughout the project, this truly became a labor of love. Habitat staff and organizers were great to work with, and we are looking forward to another project in 2012.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sarasota, FL

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I am a regular Saturday volunteer, almost exclusively involved with the Neighborhood Stabilization Program (NSP). Having years of experience in most phases of construction, I am currently a senior estimator with a major construction company. Over the years I've actually enjoyed working with my hands to help friends with their major home projects. I look forward to my Habitat day as it gives me a chance to use my tools and talents, mostly as a plumber. But I get more out of the experience than I give. There is a huge satisfaction in helping future homeowners up the ladder to home ownership, while improving neighborhoods, and making a difference in our community one home at a time.
Habitat is blessed to have many regular, dedicated volunteers who show up Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. But the project and team leaders are to be especially commended for their dedication and patience in being responsible for projects, while leading a wide spectrum of volunteers some of whom have no construction skills at all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The can do attitude of Habitat leaders has taught me to encourage others to try what they thought was impossible. I now encourage people more, while having more patience with those less experienced. I now understand how many people have helped me in life, even though I may not have realized at the time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Whether building new homes or rehabitating existing ones through the NSP Program there needs to be consistent, standard practices to ensure the homes last and the clients get the best value. This has not always been the case. I have been working with one of the project leaders to develop a checklist to ensure that certain processes are always followed. It's still a work in progress, but I hope Habitat will embrace it and insist that it's leaders follow it's directions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Try to find out ahead of time if a person has any particular construction skills. This information could be on the initial volunteer form and made available to all the project and team leaders.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Greatful for the opportunity to help others with a hands on approach. Anyone can contribute money (which is good) but actually getting physically involved is very rewarding.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I have worked as a volunteer with Sarasota Habitat for Humanity for about 2 1/2 years. This group from Sarasota is the most organized, dedicated and professional group I have had the pleasure to work with. Taking a house from Trashed to Treasured is such a wonderful feeling, especially when you see the look on the new homeowners' faces as they work and experience the transformation.

Five Stars for Habitat for Humanity Sarasota.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers