Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

20+ years ago I was introduced to SHH by my best friend and subsequently became a member and volunteer. Initially I thought SHH was just a place to go however, many of the experiences and opportunities I had while being a member and volunteer have shaped me into the person I am today. Throughout high school SHH became my second home. It truly was and is a great place to learn, grow and build relationships. SHH is a special resource for youth/adolescent development. Programs encouraged us to think, explore, and be responsible, to try new things, to be creative and accepting of others. And….they were fun!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I was a member and volunteer here for many years, and SHH impacted my life positively in many ways. It promotes strong character, good values and allowed me to form many long-lasting relationships. It truly is a wonderful place for youth. In fact, I am honored and proud to share the tradition with my children who participate in the tot programs and plan on enrolling them as members when old enough. It is much more than an after-school program, it is a second home!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Awesome place! Great summer camp for my two boys ages 5 & 9. Lots for them to do, well organized, and the kids had fun everyday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

Sarah Heinz House changed my life for the better in so many ways. I began as a member at the age of 9 and continued on until the age of 18. I had the opportunity to join numerous groups and experience so many opportunities that a city girl like me would never have gotten. I had my first job there at the age of 14 working at the desk and answering phones. I got to play on the traveling basketball team. I got to be a summer camp counselor. Most of all, I got to be me and learned that being me was ok. I was always made to feel like I was important and that I mattered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

From the early age of seven, I had the opportunity to be a member of Sarah Heinz House. I am who I am today because of the varied experiences I gained during my time as a member. Through my eleven career at Sarah Heinz House, I was able to grow as a student, leader, and person. SHH prides itself on developing the character of each and every member. My first volunteer experience was at the age of eight. Since I was a swim team member, I was able to volunteer my time to help other members learn how to swim. Volunteerism and philanthropy is still a huge part of my life due to my early foundation. During my high school years, I was selected to serve on the regional and national steering committees for the Keystone Conferences. This started my experiences with public speaking and honed my leadership skills. Due to my strong leadership abilities, I was able to serve as president in many organizations and also now lead an elementary school. Sarah Heinz House is a special place for young children. Of all the amazing and meaningful activities/clubs/etc that SHH has to offer, the most special part of Heinz is the people that make up the organization. The full-time and part-time staff members and volunteers give and given and give their time, money, and support to help each member realize his/her potential. The staff cares and loves each member unconditionally. As I said, I am who I am because of Sarah Heinz House, a place I considered my home for many years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Sarah Heinz House really changes the lives of kids and teens in the Pittsburgh community every single day, and I can say that because I know it changed my life. When I was a young boy I moved to Pittsburgh to be adopted after a tough childhood involving being abandoned by my parents, moving around with several different families, and overall leaving me not knowing what place I had to call home or who to call family. When I first stepped foot into Sarah Heinz House, I found both of those things. For the next 11 years and still to this day, I call Sarah Heinz House my second home, and every single member, volunteer, and staff member is one big family. The people there are incredible; they truly care about everything you do. The programs are amazing in that they set you up for a great future. There are all the fun programs that keep you interested and excited at all ages, but they also teach you so many things in teamwork, the importance of giving back, and teach you how to be a great leader. I know all of these things have had a huge impact on my life because I definitely would not be where I am today without Sarah Heinz House. I would recommend this place to anyone, and I know I will always be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2012

Hands down, the best youth association in Pittsburgh!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with gym classes, our after school tutoring program called "education nation", assist with art classes, help serve meals in our cafeteria, work with robotics students & so much more! Volunteer