Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

Sarah Heinz House has been a part of life since I was born. My grandfather was a former program director and executive director there for many, many years. My parents met there as members of Sarah Heinz House. I too was a member of Sarah Heinz House, where I took dance classes and attended their summer camp program in Ellwood City. Now all these years later my daughter is in going into her 5th year as a member of Sarah Heinz House and her first year as a junior volunteer. The best thing I can save about Sarah Heinz House is that after all these years, the same core values and rules still exist and are followed to this day. You learn respect from the moment you walk in the door of Sarah Heinz House and are asked to take your hat off. However Sarah Heinz House has not failed to keep up with the times either - now offering programs such as day camp, robotics, media lab and silver sneakers. These are just some of the wonderful addtions made to the Sarah Heinz House over the years. Sarah Heinz House has always been a safe and fun place for school kids of all ages to go. Everyone is made to feel like they are part of one big happy family while they are down there. The staff and volunteers are exceptionally patient, caring and fun. They go out of their way to make every kid feel special and apart of the family. My daughter just loves Sarah Heinz House. She says she feels like she fits in and belongs more there than at her own school. Sarah Heinz House is truly a treasure to be shared by all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Inn 1991 being between jobs I applied and got hired as a camp counselor at Heinz House Camp. Had the best time of my life. Met great people and great kids! I was invited by Charlie Chmura to come to the club and be a volunteer. 22 years later I am still volunteering and enjoying this boys and girls club. The facility is state of the art, has multiple activities and offer so much opportunity. But the best part of this place is the kids and the volunteers. Many of my best friends have come from meetings them or volunteering with them at Sarah Heinz House. Growing up in south suburbs of Pittsburgh I never really knew what the Northside was. This club and it's people not only welcomed me into their group, I became like one of the family. If you donate to Heinz House know that your investment is reaching lots of kids if you volunteer know that it will become a life of friendship and fulfillment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Our organization, Carnegie Mellon's Robotics Academy, has worked with the Sarah Heinz House since 2003. Each year we team with SHH to host several robotics competitions. In the fall we team with them to host a middle school tournament called FIRST LEGO League and a high school competition called the VEX Competition. Several teams that have competed in those competitions have qualified to go to the National Championship. Each spring SHH sponsors a "May Madness" robotics competition that is open to both middle and high school age students. The spring tournament draws over 30 teams and several hundred kids. They have been an incredible partner and are making a difference in kids lives across the region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They do everything that they can with the resources that they have. They could use more support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Sarah Heinz House provides youth with the skills necessary to succeed. The staff members are genuinely concerned about every members development. The staff members and volunteers are top notch. The members love being at Heinz House and it's great to know that these children have a place to call home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to hire more full time staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I only wish I had been given the opportunity to be a member of The Sarah Heinz House. About 20 years ago, a friend told me about it. I walked into the building and honestly my heart never left. My four children all became members, enjoying all the programs and activities offered. The Staff and Volunteers who provided leadership and friendship throughout the years can never be repaid for the work they do.

These days, I am watching my granddaughter enjoy all the great benefits that Heinz House has to offer and I still love to participate as a volunteer at Sarah Heinz House. It has truly been an Honor to be part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

My husband and I both attended Heinz House when we were younger and now our children are members. They love it! There is so much for the kids to do there. My son is autistic and he has come a long way. The staff at Heinz House is awesome with him. He even went to Resident Camp this year and he loved it! We thought he would only last maybe a few days, but he ended up staying both sessions! My daughter is a member and she also volunteers. She loves helping out with other kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

The values and lessons instilled into my childhood development by the distinguished staff of Sarah Heinz House molded me into the person I am today. I have been fortunate enough to attend SHH as a member, and now as a volunteer. The program is the epitome of what is possible when at-risk youth become involved in an influential program. Sarah Heinz House has guided me through high school, college, graduate school, and now continues to be a part of my development as an educator. I highly recommend Sarah Heinz House to anyone who wants their youth to receive a positive, engaging, and impactful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

Sarah Heinz House has been a part of my life since I can remember. It truely is a "house" for so many youth. I have benefited from SHH as a member, volunteer and parent of a member. I really like seeing the personal involvement of the staff with the members. I can trust any of the staff and volunteers as a mentor for my son. With all that is heard in the news about inappropriate relationships and abusing of children, I am always secure knowing my son is there with great people. I am really happy with the robotics program that is offered there. My son has become very involved in robotics and is planning on a career in that field. The program is well funded and I have not have had to pay nearly any money for supplies or competitions. The most of the mentors are from CMU and really are involved with the kids. Plus the kids do the planning and building of the robots and the adults are there for guidance. It is truely the kids' robot.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

The Sarah Heinz House provides such a wonderful and safe environment for children, and even adults. THe staff are professional and go above & beyond what is expected of them. The Sarah Heinz House changes lives and has inspired me in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

At about 4 or 5 years of age, I would go to work with my dad at SHH and count down the days until I could be a member. Being a member of SHH was, by far, the most influential factor in my adolescent and teen years. I would say SHH was like a second home, but in reality, it was probably more like my first home. I saw so many members go from wallflowers to outgoing, well-rounded kids, myself being one of them. I have no idea what or whom I would be today if it weren't for my involvement in gymnastics and the entire SHH program. The friends I made at SHH were some of the best friends I have ever had and I still look back on my times with them with extreme fondness. Because of the staff and volunteers at SHH, I was able to understand the importance of having a team mentality while also being comfortable enough to stand out. I learned the impact one's character and integrity has on who they become later in life, which I know now, is an incredibly valuable lesson to learn at a young age. It's rare to have such a complete sense of belonging, especially as a child and a teenager, and I have nothing but gratitude for SHH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with gym classes, our after school tutoring program called "education nation", assist with art classes, help serve meals in our cafeteria, work with robotics students & so much more! Volunteer