Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Sarah Heinz House is not just a non-profit organization, or a Boys and Girls Club. It is a home, and with in a home is a family i have had there since i was 6 years old. From the start Heinz was always a place i could go and grow and be accepted for who i was. I was like a little seed put in a pot of dirt with many others who were there with me. From there we started to grow into young role models and strong independent individuals. Everyone grew at a different pace but that was never a problem because the other members, older members and staff were always there to help you. As we got older our leaves started to bloom and we were given opportunities kids cant even dream about. We were able to get a volunteer job whether it was for a gym class, a club program...but in our eyes, it didn't really matter because we just loved to be engaged and get involved with all the members. Soon we started to step out more on our own. We were always unique and different in our own ways, but hitting the teenage years really brought us to our peak. As a 14 year old I was able to get a job as a locker room attendant. Some can complain and cry that it was stupid. But in my eyes no job was stupid and i was thankful for the opportunity to even have a job at 14 and so were many of my other friends. But Heinz was not always about jobs and volunteering, it was about getting involved with activities and making new friends, and that is exactly what i did. At 6 years old i joined the gymnastics program, I was apart of gymnastics for 11 years and spent my childhood growing up with some amazing people. Some went there own way...but for others who have stayed we aren't just friends we are brothers and sisters to each other. I cannot explain to how much the Staff down Heinz truly means to me. In my life they were my gymnastics coach, gym teacher, swim instructor, but most of all my friend and someone i could talk to. Without them or Heinz, i really cant tell you where I'd be in life. I am so grateful that my parents dropped me off at Heinz those 12 years ago. It would have been very unfortunate to have lived my life only for myself and not spreading my horizons and being able to be there for someone and give them hope or a smile for the day at the club. You never truly know whats going on in someones life and thats why you can never just judge from what you see. Everyday when i went down Heinz I strived to be a role model and tried to be the best I could be. But most of all, it always made my day to be someone they looked up to, or was there when they needed help or someone to talk to, but most of all just to see a smile on there face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

When our children first brought home the application for Heinz House our initial thought was, "This is a big time commitment, but let's give it a try." Three years later, I don't know what we would do without this place!!! We are at Heinz House every single night of the week participating in activities such as swim team, robotics, gymnastics, swim lessons, and design factory. The staff is friendly, encouraging, and loving. They take a true interest in our children and our children love the activities and spending time with their peers outside of school. The summer camps are as awesome as the programs that are offered during the school year. If you want to find a facility where your child can try many different activities, this is it! The choices are abundant!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am grateful, honored and blessed to be a part of one of the finest organizations I've ever known! There is no better place for kids. The purpose, goals and intentions of SHH are clearly defined and executed. The proof is in the members ~ period.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

When I was asked to serve on the Board of Sarah Heinz House, an organization I did not know, I was not confident that I would be able to commit the appropriate amount of time given other obligations. From my first visit to "The Club", however, I realized that I simply could not say "no" to the request. The "vibe" of SHH is overwhelming - from the energy of the kids to the commitment of the enormous number of volunteers to the integrity and passion of the staff. Once you've been there, you simply want to contribute whatever you can to help such a special place. Of particular note is the staff's focus on continuous improvement and desire to make a great institution even better. Their professionalism surpasses that of most institutions with which I have had experience, from small companies to large corporations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I would not be where I am today without Sarah Heinz House. It taught me skills that I will be able to use for many things in the future. It was the sole reason I wanted to work with children for a living. Since I left, I have been trying to give back as much I can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Sarah Heinz House really changes the lives of kids and teens in the Pittsburgh community every single day, and I can say that because I know it changed my life. When I was a young boy I moved to Pittsburgh to be adopted after a tough childhood involving being abandoned by my parents, moving around with several different families, and overall leaving me not knowing what place I had to call home or who to call family. When I first stepped foot into Sarah Heinz House, I found both of those things. For the next 11 years and still to this day, I call Sarah Heinz House my second home, and every single member, volunteer, and staff member is one big family. The people there are incredible; they truly care about everything you do. The programs are amazing in that they set you up for a great future. There are all the fun programs that keep you interested and excited at all ages, but they also teach you so many things in teamwork, the importance of giving back, and teach you how to be a great leader. I know all of these things have had a huge impact on my life because I definitely would not be where I am today without Sarah Heinz House. I would recommend this place to anyone, and I know I will always be a part of this great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Each year, Sarah Heinz House nominates a student to partipate in the Natiuonal Youth of the Year Program. We have consistently been recognized as the leader in space - resulting most recently on the National Youth of the Year (who followed on the heels of recent State and Regional winners). Each year, in connection that program, the Youth of the Year candiates visit with the Board, and share "what Sarah Heinz House" means to them. I was fortunate that my first ever board meeting included these brilliant presentations. As a result, as a Board Member, I am directl connected to how important SHH is to our memebers, and how much our members contribute and deeply care about SHH.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Sarah Heinz House was a haven for me as I grew up! I was there almost every day to participate in sports, swimming, etc, etc. Thanks to the staff and to the outstanding volunteers I learned many things there. Today SHH continues to be a haven for boys and girls in the Northside and surrounding areas. Its a magical place with experiences that you remember forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been in education for 15 years and the SHH 'gets it.' The are amazing in the development of programs that meet the needs of a very diverse group of kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

The Sarah Heinze House has a long history of making a difference in the lives of the children of Pittsburgh especially in the Northiside. The motto--laugh,learn, lead--tells the importance of what is offered including an after school program and summer camp. For many needy kids, financially and socially, this is a second home; a place to learn from great teachers and mentors and in turn become leaders. The SHH has over 1000 memebers and serves an additional 2500 kids. The program reguires regular attendance which increases the child's committment. Over 40 % have been members for over 2 years with many remaining in "Club" through high school. Over 90% of those who remain with the program are admitted to college or a trade school. Last year, a student from the SHH, Nick Foley, was awarded the national Youth of the Year by the Boys & Girls Club of America. Supporting this organization helps many kids who need our help the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with gym classes, our after school tutoring program called "education nation", assist with art classes, help serve meals in our cafeteria, work with robotics students & so much more! Volunteer