Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Write A Review
August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

My husband and I both attended Heinz House when we were younger and now our children are members. They love it! There is so much for the kids to do there. My son is autistic and he has come a long way. The staff at Heinz House is awesome with him. He even went to Resident Camp this year and he loved it! We thought he would only last maybe a few days, but he ended up staying both sessions! My daughter is a member and she also volunteers. She loves helping out with other kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

Awesome place! Great summer camp for my two boys ages 5 & 9. Lots for them to do, well organized, and the kids had fun everyday.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

The values and lessons instilled into my childhood development by the distinguished staff of Sarah Heinz House molded me into the person I am today. I have been fortunate enough to attend SHH as a member, and now as a volunteer. The program is the epitome of what is possible when at-risk youth become involved in an influential program. Sarah Heinz House has guided me through high school, college, graduate school, and now continues to be a part of my development as an educator. I highly recommend Sarah Heinz House to anyone who wants their youth to receive a positive, engaging, and impactful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

Sarah Heinz House has been a part of my life since I can remember. It truely is a "house" for so many youth. I have benefited from SHH as a member, volunteer and parent of a member. I really like seeing the personal involvement of the staff with the members. I can trust any of the staff and volunteers as a mentor for my son. With all that is heard in the news about inappropriate relationships and abusing of children, I am always secure knowing my son is there with great people. I am really happy with the robotics program that is offered there. My son has become very involved in robotics and is planning on a career in that field. The program is well funded and I have not have had to pay nearly any money for supplies or competitions. The most of the mentors are from CMU and really are involved with the kids. Plus the kids do the planning and building of the robots and the adults are there for guidance. It is truely the kids' robot.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

Sarah Heinz House changed my life for the better in so many ways. I began as a member at the age of 9 and continued on until the age of 18. I had the opportunity to join numerous groups and experience so many opportunities that a city girl like me would never have gotten. I had my first job there at the age of 14 working at the desk and answering phones. I got to play on the traveling basketball team. I got to be a summer camp counselor. Most of all, I got to be me and learned that being me was ok. I was always made to feel like I was important and that I mattered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

The Sarah Heinz House provides such a wonderful and safe environment for children, and even adults. THe staff are professional and go above & beyond what is expected of them. The Sarah Heinz House changes lives and has inspired me in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

At about 4 or 5 years of age, I would go to work with my dad at SHH and count down the days until I could be a member. Being a member of SHH was, by far, the most influential factor in my adolescent and teen years. I would say SHH was like a second home, but in reality, it was probably more like my first home. I saw so many members go from wallflowers to outgoing, well-rounded kids, myself being one of them. I have no idea what or whom I would be today if it weren't for my involvement in gymnastics and the entire SHH program. The friends I made at SHH were some of the best friends I have ever had and I still look back on my times with them with extreme fondness. Because of the staff and volunteers at SHH, I was able to understand the importance of having a team mentality while also being comfortable enough to stand out. I learned the impact one's character and integrity has on who they become later in life, which I know now, is an incredibly valuable lesson to learn at a young age. It's rare to have such a complete sense of belonging, especially as a child and a teenager, and I have nothing but gratitude for SHH.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

From the early age of seven, I had the opportunity to be a member of Sarah Heinz House. I am who I am today because of the varied experiences I gained during my time as a member. Through my eleven career at Sarah Heinz House, I was able to grow as a student, leader, and person. SHH prides itself on developing the character of each and every member. My first volunteer experience was at the age of eight. Since I was a swim team member, I was able to volunteer my time to help other members learn how to swim. Volunteerism and philanthropy is still a huge part of my life due to my early foundation. During my high school years, I was selected to serve on the regional and national steering committees for the Keystone Conferences. This started my experiences with public speaking and honed my leadership skills. Due to my strong leadership abilities, I was able to serve as president in many organizations and also now lead an elementary school. Sarah Heinz House is a special place for young children. Of all the amazing and meaningful activities/clubs/etc that SHH has to offer, the most special part of Heinz is the people that make up the organization. The full-time and part-time staff members and volunteers give and given and give their time, money, and support to help each member realize his/her potential. The staff cares and loves each member unconditionally. As I said, I am who I am because of Sarah Heinz House, a place I considered my home for many years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I attended SHH from the time I was 7 until I graduated high school I still count the friends I made at Heinz among my best friends, 13 years after leaving. The staff and volunteers had an incredibly positive impact on my life. I can honestly say I would not be the man I am today without Sarah Heinz House. I am now a volunteer at Heinz because I want to help in any way I can and be a positive impact in the lives of today's youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My four children attended Sarah Heinz House from the time they were able to join. Specifically, my oldest son, who is now in his 2nd year at a very prestigious university, has benefited from being a member at Sarah Heinz House. It was his second home where he felt comfortable being himself. In school, he was a very introverted person who was teased for being a "nerd". His social circle was small. He did not feel like he could "let his hair down" so to speak. At Heinz House, he was a totally different person. He used to say that he didn’t have to try to be cool at Heinz House, he could just be himself. It took him several years of being "just a member" to come out of his shell. But because he had to attend Heinz twice a week for membership, then also for all of his “extra” activities, he looked forward to being there almost every day of the week and making a name for himself in a very quiet way. He led by example. He led through encouragement from the staff. He led because it was his home away from home. The motto "Success is never final, Failure is never fatal, it's Courage that counts" made such an impression on him and has helped propel him to be successful in his life! This comfort allowed him to gain the confidence to step up in school socially. He started a Comic Book Club at his high school which had a premise of service...being a hero in everyday life. He participated in the musicals at Heinz House where he had the courage to be on stage to perform. He played on various sports teams and attended the summer resident camp and robotics camp. He enjoyed intense participation in the teen leadership programs, like the Keystone Club and Lead Team. Service learning was a powerful component of his experience, and volunteering became a high priority for him. His holistic experience developed and diversified him as a person. Heinz House is doing this again for my three other boys. We will not move from Pittsburgh because there are no other boys and girls clubs like Sarah Heinz House. Our family are "Heinzies" all the way! Over the past few years, Heinz House and its youth members have received recognition at the state, regional, and national levels, including Nick Foley, a friend of my sons, who earned the honor of 2012 National Youth of the Year through Boys & Girls Clubs of America. Nick and my sons are just a few of thousands who have benefitted from Sarah Heinz House.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with gym classes, our after school tutoring program called "education nation", assist with art classes, help serve meals in our cafeteria, work with robotics students & so much more! Volunteer