Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.885715
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

"It takes a village to raise a child." Bob, Jen, Charlie, Dave, Chris, Chuck, Lynn, Cathy, Mr. P., Val, Paul, Kyle, Dan, Gary, Cindy, Mr. and Mrs. Basil, Miss Kitty, Miss Dee and Mr. Bill, Phyllis, Jim, Gary and the hundreds of others that have touched our lives, Those mentioned are the staff, volunteers and Board members of Sarah Heinz House that have helped in raising our two boys. Without each of you (and all of those not mentioned) Liam and Nick would not be who they are today. THANK YOU.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

20+ years ago I was introduced to SHH by my best friend and subsequently became a member and volunteer. Initially I thought SHH was just a place to go however, many of the experiences and opportunities I had while being a member and volunteer have shaped me into the person I am today. Throughout high school SHH became my second home. It truly was and is a great place to learn, grow and build relationships. SHH is a special resource for youth/adolescent development. Programs encouraged us to think, explore, and be responsible, to try new things, to be creative and accepting of others. And….they were fun!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

Sarah Heinz House has been a part of life since I was born. My grandfather was a former program director and executive director there for many, many years. My parents met there as members of Sarah Heinz House. I too was a member of Sarah Heinz House, where I took dance classes and attended their summer camp program in Ellwood City. Now all these years later my daughter is in going into her 5th year as a member of Sarah Heinz House and her first year as a junior volunteer. The best thing I can save about Sarah Heinz House is that after all these years, the same core values and rules still exist and are followed to this day. You learn respect from the moment you walk in the door of Sarah Heinz House and are asked to take your hat off. However Sarah Heinz House has not failed to keep up with the times either - now offering programs such as day camp, robotics, media lab and silver sneakers. These are just some of the wonderful addtions made to the Sarah Heinz House over the years. Sarah Heinz House has always been a safe and fun place for school kids of all ages to go. Everyone is made to feel like they are part of one big happy family while they are down there. The staff and volunteers are exceptionally patient, caring and fun. They go out of their way to make every kid feel special and apart of the family. My daughter just loves Sarah Heinz House. She says she feels like she fits in and belongs more there than at her own school. Sarah Heinz House is truly a treasure to be shared by all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Inn 1991 being between jobs I applied and got hired as a camp counselor at Heinz House Camp. Had the best time of my life. Met great people and great kids! I was invited by Charlie Chmura to come to the club and be a volunteer. 22 years later I am still volunteering and enjoying this boys and girls club. The facility is state of the art, has multiple activities and offer so much opportunity. But the best part of this place is the kids and the volunteers. Many of my best friends have come from meetings them or volunteering with them at Sarah Heinz House. Growing up in south suburbs of Pittsburgh I never really knew what the Northside was. This club and it's people not only welcomed me into their group, I became like one of the family. If you donate to Heinz House know that your investment is reaching lots of kids if you volunteer know that it will become a life of friendship and fulfillment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Our organization, Carnegie Mellon's Robotics Academy, has worked with the Sarah Heinz House since 2003. Each year we team with SHH to host several robotics competitions. In the fall we team with them to host a middle school tournament called FIRST LEGO League and a high school competition called the VEX Competition. Several teams that have competed in those competitions have qualified to go to the National Championship. Each spring SHH sponsors a "May Madness" robotics competition that is open to both middle and high school age students. The spring tournament draws over 30 teams and several hundred kids. They have been an incredible partner and are making a difference in kids lives across the region.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They do everything that they can with the resources that they have. They could use more support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Sarah Heinz House provides youth with the skills necessary to succeed. The staff members are genuinely concerned about every members development. The staff members and volunteers are top notch. The members love being at Heinz House and it's great to know that these children have a place to call home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to hire more full time staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I only wish I had been given the opportunity to be a member of The Sarah Heinz House. About 20 years ago, a friend told me about it. I walked into the building and honestly my heart never left. My four children all became members, enjoying all the programs and activities offered. The Staff and Volunteers who provided leadership and friendship throughout the years can never be repaid for the work they do.

These days, I am watching my granddaughter enjoy all the great benefits that Heinz House has to offer and I still love to participate as a volunteer at Sarah Heinz House. It has truly been an Honor to be part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I was a member and volunteer here for many years, and SHH impacted my life positively in many ways. It promotes strong character, good values and allowed me to form many long-lasting relationships. It truly is a wonderful place for youth. In fact, I am honored and proud to share the tradition with my children who participate in the tot programs and plan on enrolling them as members when old enough. It is much more than an after-school program, it is a second home!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

Both of my children, 12 and 9, have been members since first grade. They attend Cyber School. What we were seeking was a place where my children can have social interaction with their peers, but what we received was far more. My daughter is now on the swim team; my son is learning to swim and thoroughly enjoying the robotics class. Five days a week they are in a fun safe environment for a minimal cost. I could not be more pleased with the facility, the staff, and especially the swimming coaches.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow participation (at a higher cost) in the extra activities, without mandatory attendance in Club and Gym-swim.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

It was with great anticipation and excitement the day that I joined the Sarah Heinz House. I'm a senior using the Sllver Sneakers program. I needed to join to continue my physical rehab. The receptioist, Phyllis, was most helpful in handling the paperwork.

Bob Bechtold was attentive to my
rehab needs and reviewed the exercise machines with me. This is an excellent facility and a grea addition to Pittsburgh.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with gym classes, our after school tutoring program called "education nation", assist with art classes, help serve meals in our cafeteria, work with robotics students & so much more! Volunteer