Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 19, 2013

more

November 19, 2013

They seem to do a good job of placing animals, but I would really like to know where all the money from donations they collected years ago to build the new shelter has gone? I heard they collected millions of dollars, yet there is still no new shelter. Maybe it is related that they seem very disorganized.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open their books. Tell the public how much they collected for the new shelter and when that shelter will be completed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Thanks for all your hard work. We just adopted a beautiful standard poodle from you and the process was simple. Everyone on the staff knew what they were doing and knew the animals well. We'll always be grateful for the work you've done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a new facility.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As both a volunteer and adopter I can't say enough about the compassion and caring shown to the animals in the care of the santa Cruz SPCA. My much loved dog and cats were once residents...now they're happily at home with me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund the new shelter! We're raising $$ as fast as we can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have to say that I owe a good deal of the happiness in my daily life to the wonderful Santa Cruz SPCA, for I got my beloved Marley and my beloved Ami from them. First of all, the fact that they dedicate themselves to finding homes for the animals and do not kill them makes me totally love this branch. This is hard work, and the result is that any pets you adopt from the Santa Cruz SPCA has been given so much love and interaction that he or she will be highly socialized, well behaved and loving. The staff makes sure to learn the individual personalities and needs of the animals, so as to match them well with their human families. For example,Ami was in a cage that said that she would best be with a family that is home and can spend time with her, because she wants to be close to her person. This is so true. It became very obvious early on, that she loves to be near; she follows me when I go into a different room; she loves to sit near me and likes to have at least some part of her body making contact with me. When I first met her as a kitten, what stood out is while all the other kittens I may have picked up squirmed to get back down to the floor to play with other kittens, Ami just settled herself on my shoulder, so I sat down and she curled up on me contentedly and didn't want to go down to play. We just bonded and I loved her too much to leave her! My other cat, Marley, is much more independent and loves to go outside in the daytime. However, he loves to greet me and any visitors who come to the house, giving each person love by rubbing up against their legs and then assuming the "Pet me!" position. So each animal has his or her own personality and habits, and when you come to choose a pet at the SPCA you will know so much about each animal because THEY do! You'll never find that at a pet shop and you won't at most shelters, either. The people who work here deeply love animals and put so much love into what they do. Because they are animal advocates, they are our advocates, too, for the pet you bring home will be the perfect one, just for you and your family. I am eternally grateful for the deeply loving pets I adoped here. I love love love the Santa Cruz SPCA!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

transport them to their new, bigger home right now!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work near the Santa Cruz SPCA and see the wonderful volunteers walking the dogs past our business. The animals look happy and healthy, and the volunteers appear to be thoroughly enjoying themselves. It makes me feel good to see the pets so well cared for until the find their forever homes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The Santa Cruz SPCA goes the extra mile to rescue dogs from high kill shelters. By doing this they help us to be able to share our home with Buster (previously known as Snookie).

They have come up with great ideas to deal with there limited space

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it would be to get them into the new building they need

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The SC SPCA helped my husband and I find our beloved dog Hurley. He has brought so much joy to both our lives. We are so grateful that they take such wonderful care of all the animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

A year and a half ago we adopted a two year old dog named Hoagie (now Augie). We saw his picture on the web site and I contacted a friend who volunteered there to see if he was still available. He was still there so we jumped into our truck and beat a path for the SPCA. When we got there, the staff had us take him out for a walk to see how we liked each other. It was a perfect match and we couldn't wait to get him loaded up and back to his new forever home. We had per-filled out the forms, so the paperwork was quick and painless. Ten minutes after getting to his new home, he had found a place outside to lie in the shade on the lawn and just soak things. He's been a wonderful addition to the family and we never fail to get comments when we're out walking about was a gorgeous dog he is (he's a Golden Retriever and something else mix and a lovely red/gold color).
A+++ to the folks at the SCSPCA for their dedication, love for their temporary charges, and for making a difference in so many animals lives that are fortunate enough to pass through their doors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes that I can recommend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My boyfriend & I adopted our now 4 year old dog, Diego (known as Spike back when he was 9 weeks old) at the SPCA. We are so thankful that the SPCA had rescued him from Madera and brought him to Santa Cruz. The moment we saw Diego (a.k.a Spike) we knew our family was finally going to be complete (we had spent a year and a half morning the loss of our dear boxer beagle mix Sandy.) The employees were extremely helpful & they even offered a new pet parent training seminar at there facility one night. We are so blessed to have an organization like the SPCA all around the country. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the love & hard work the SPCA put into finding forever homes for such precious beings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have had the privilege of being on both sides of the SPCA: as a foster family volunteer and as an adoptive family of a 5 year old dog. I know that the staff of the Santa Cruz SPCA (both paid and volunteer) are truly the voices of the animals there. Placing animal companions in loving, safe homes is always the first priority of this agency. They also host a summer camp for kids that is educational and fun; my daughter has participated 2 years in a row, and she wouldn't consider summer complete without it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more funding so they could expand their physical space. They are operating under very crowded conditions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers