Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
May 4, 2011

This organization is a wonderful place for families to come that would otherwise be lost in the system. The workers for Kids' Connection take time to listen to each individual person and assist them in getting help and resources they need for themselves and their family. They cut through all the garbage and jump right in to help!! Saving Tax payers thousands of dollars while helping parents and their children get back on their feet and back out into the community. They promote health living and healthy parenting in a kind gentle mannor that makes a hard time a positive experience and helps families want to make a positve change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have used this organization for my families I work with in the community to help them improve their lifestyles.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add to what they do, more help and support in achieving their mission.

April 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2011

Our organization has partnered with the Sanilac County Kids Connection since it's inception. Our ability to expand services to the children in our program is due in large part to the Kids Connection. The staff, director and many volunteers continue to support our mission and goal. Our families who visit there are shown kindness consistently. I feel comments made otherwise are from professionals who have never supported the ideals of this wonderful non-profit and especially feel covetous of the director who has exceeded all expectations of her "job description". The opinions of Sanilac County Families are what matter most. I can tell you first hand how much they value the Sanilac County Kids Connection

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Positive comments from our families, Convenience for families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

April 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2011

I have used the Kids' Connection numerous times as a resource for the parents I serve in my position as a therapist with Community Mental Health. They have been instrumental in providing linking to needed resources and services for children in our community. The service is friendly and informative for my consumers who otherwise may not have the confidence to investigate resources for themselves. Kids' Connection makes getting involved and utilizing programs and resources easy and accessible. I would use their services whenever my consumers have needs related to their children. Thank you Kids' Connection!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding to expand existing programs, and broaden services.

April 25, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2011

The Sanilac County Kids' Connection captured my interested when I began volunteering in this community several years ago. The Kids' Connection is the ultimate one-stop-shop for services & programs for area children & families. The initiatives of this organization have benefited so many people! Here is a list of some of these programs and the wonderful things that they have to offer:
-The Connection Referral Team is a collaboration of many area human service organizations. The team meets twice a month at the Kids' Connection to discuss & create service plans for families that have multiple needs and don't know where to turn.
-Greater Thumb & Saginaw Area Safe Kids offers monthly car seat checking stations in 3 counties & replacement car seats are available to low income families. Over 5000 car seats have been checked since the beginning of this program. Safe Kids offers many other programs on how to prevent injury & death to children such as home safety, bike safety rodeos with helmet distribution, crib safety, sports safety & so much more.
-Great Start Collaborative Sanilac is a partnership of parents, community agencies, business leaders, educators, health care providers, faith leaders and individuals working to ensure our young children are ready for kindergarten.
-In-Home Team is an intensive program to help keep children with their families & prevent removal. This program has saved Sanilac County thousands of dollars that would have otherwise been spent in the child foster care system.
-The Information, Resource & Referral program is dedicated to connecting anyone to appropriate services & programs. In 2010, the Resource & Referral Specialist connected almost 5000 families & individuals to programs that assist with emergency food, utilities, rent/mortgage, child care, homelessness, domestic violence and so many more.
-RAMP is an initiative that has a goal of providing youth with positive alternatives to drinking and doing drugs. It is also a media campaign promoting a healthier lifestyle rather than negative behaviors.
-Great Start Regional Resource Center is dedicated connecting families to quality child care & connecting child care providers to quality training.
The Kids' Connection also hosts the Baby Pantry on the 2nd & 4th Monday of every month. Baby Pantry is a program of the Sanilac County Child Abuse Prevention Council, and provides free baby items such as diapers, wipes, formula, clothing, shoes, coats & much more.
The staff of the Kids' Connection work tirelessly to ensure that every child has an opportunity to succeed in life. And, because of the dedication of the staff & director, Kids' Connection has been recognized as a Promise Place by the America's Promise Alliance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the daily, positive, front-line connection that I have with the families that call or walk-in the front door.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring on more staff to assist with large case loads & fundraising efforts. The staff is very overwhelmed and have volunteered countless hours to coordinating special events in addition to their daily job responsibilities.

April 22, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
April 22, 2011

This organization is wonderful: a one of a kind state model for collaborative service delivery. The Kids' Connection's only goal is to make sure that children with multiple needs and their families get linked with appropriate services that help them meet their needs.
The staff do a
sensational job of insuring that no child (or their family) falls between the cracks in the often fragmented and complicated service delivery system in Michigan.
I have personally observed them go to extraordinary lengths to advocate for their children. They are bulldogs and I know when I make a referral to them that they will nevere ever give up on any family in need.
The community loves the Kid's Connection because they untangle complicated issues and systems that cannot be resolved by a single agency. Treatment is vastly improved for every child because all the relevant agencies are working and communicating together to meet the whole childs needs. The Director , Nancy Dean is very talented and dedicated professional .

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my almost daily working relationship with them. I have made a numbrer of referrals and our organization (CMH ) works very closely with the Kids' Connection on a number of consumers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Kids' Connection could definetely use additional personnel. I don't know how they manage to get as much done as they do with such limited staff. Mrs. Dean is everywhere and at every meeting advocating for multi agency collaboration.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers