Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I started volunteering at Sanctuary One in January. Being an animal lover, I wanted to work with animals who needed it and to help a good cause. It wasn't until I started there that I learned all they did to help animals, people and the earth. I have learned so much and have received at least as much as I have given. Every person I have met at Sanctuary One is an exceptional being who cares about leaving the world better than it was found. The respect for the animals, the earth and for each other is a concept that isn't yet readily promoted in the US. It's popular in many European countries, but we still have a lot to learn. I would love for them to help spread the word about the great work they do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them do even more good than they already do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I am one of the main Veterinarians (large animal) that visits Sanctuary One on a regular basis. I normally make a volunteer visit once monthly, and every time I visit, I'm impressed with the quality of care that all of the animals receive, as well as the excellent husbandry that is always evident. All of the animals are treated and loved equally, as I can observe through the interactions with all of the interns and staff. Sanctuary One is truly a "family".

I'm honored to be a part of this great facility, and hope to be involved for many years to come.

A special thanks and deserved recognition also goes to Ms. Sansa Collins (Animal Care Manager). She is always aware of the status of each animal, and her ability to notice if an animal isn't doing well, as well as her ability to treat those in need of care is outstanding.

Sincerely,

Dan Cochren, DVM
Talent Equine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I got my Nikki from sanctuary one. We found her in pet finder and contacted them for the process since we live over 500 miles away. They worked with oru local SPCA to completely make sure we'd could offer the right type of home and not take us for our word. I really appreciated then doing this because so many pets have owners that should have never been able to adopt in the first place. The have a great property and communicate very well. What an amazing place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love them to be able to take in more animals. (this takes more funding and volunteers, They are growing! )

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

What lovely reviews! They say it all, really.

Sanctuary One is a beautiful place in the Applegate Valley full of amazing people dedicated to the comfort and happiness of the animals in their care.

Having volunteered there since February of 2013, my plans are to continue
volunteering as long as I am able.
It's a wonderful place to be. They share my values and I believe in the work they do. I am proud to be a part of what they strive to accomplish in this crazy world.
It's a great place to do some good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Sanctuary One is an amazing place to spend a few hours learning about animals and how by helping animals this amazing organization to helping people as well. This care farm combines the care of animals with therapeutic programs for people facing difficulties such as veterans working through PTSD and juvenile offenders. Hundreds of local school children also visit the care farm on field trips. On a farm tour, you will get to meet the care farm's creatures up close and personal. The intern who led our tour was a recent Southern Oregon University Graduate and shared her knowledge in so many areas. In these days of corporate farms raising animals in factory farms, Sanctuary One is doing amazing work to raise the public's awareness of the poor life of animals in abusive farms and what we all can do to help them. There are also domestic pets cared for here that are up for adoption. The farm is in a beautiful setting in Oregon's Applegate Valley. Please visit, donate and consider adopting an animal from Sanctuary One.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their facilities to care for more creatures

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I spent a weekend at Sanctuary One and was blown away. Such a peaceful place full of hope, education and community. As an ethical vegan I am now inspired to start a nonprofit of my own to serve animals and build a compassionate community based on giving, nonviolence and education; just as Sanctuary One has. Thank you for all that you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish there were more nonprofits just like Sanctuary One.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Sanctuary One is a fantastic care farm. I attended Sanctuary One as part of a field trip. The workers and interns are polite, helpful and wonderful to talk to. The animals are sweet and well cared for, and the grounds are beautiful. Once I visited Sanctuary One I realized that it was no small wonder that they are so well loved. Amazing place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have adopted two barn animals from Sanctuary One which is how I became acquainted with them. I too live on a small farm in Oregon and help barn animals, but Sanctuary One is a role model for me in many ways. They not only help animals, they help people and the earth. They bring it all together in a full circle which is what care farming is all about. I have been back to S.One several times to visit and each time I am so inspired, and each time they have created new shelters, new garden beds, new earth-garden experiments are going on, there are volunteers scurry around and everyone has a positive attitude. They help children from the area learn about animals and earth - and caring for them. And they bring in war vets to help farm and garden - healing broken hearts and hurt souls. I can assure you if you support this group, your money is being used wisely. I personally know some of the staff and they are just great. Katherine Dunn / Apifera Farm, Oregon

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Sanctuary One is in my opinion one of the most valuable Non-Profit resources we have in Oregon. The education, understanding, and overall commitment to sustainability, kindness, and positive alternative livability sets the standards as high as they get. Keeping their message simple, focusing on positive change, I hope hundreds of Sanctuaries follow their concepts and it becomes a natural way of life for us all.

My husband and I took their tour after much time had already been spent with us on the phone and through email where the Board and Staff worked with us in answering questions about starting a sanctuary of our own and adopting animals from them. Sanctuary One is professional and kind, it does not get much better than that.

Thank you!

Sincerely,

Marie Botchie

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a board member for The Allie Smiles Foundation and a lover of animals, I can say that Sanctuary One and the staff are exceptional! Our 'focused giving' model allows us to support wonderful charities like Sanctuary One. We were very engaged in the concept of 'Care Farming' and knowing that Sanctuary One is the only Care Farm in North America solidified our commitment to being involved. Sanctuary One's mission of a synergistic balance between animals, the land and people is leaps ahead of its time. Great karma, great people, great location... All doing good things! We love Sanctuary One and hope you do too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers