Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs as a volunteer for the past several years in various events sponsored by the Sanctuary to increase awareness of its much needed work. I have al... more

October 30, 2014

I have recently joined the Board to help continue its good work. Prior to that my family has had several years of involvement with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs fostering gentle, wonderful dogs that we loved and cared for. Each of our dogs had different personalities and added so much to our household. It was a privilege to give them a loving home until the end of their days. I wish everyone knew about the Sanctuary. The Director and her team of volunteers do an excellent job of making sure these four legged seniors are carefully placed where they are welcomed with open and loving hearts into their forever homes.
October 31, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs as a volunteer for the past several years in various events sponsored by the Sanctuary to increase awareness of its much needed work. I have also been involved in fostering those wonderful senior dogs, including some that have been in "hospice care." I can attest to the fact that all the dogs that come into the Sanctuary's care are loved and live in dignity to the end of their days. Not only are these 4-legged seniors welcomed into homes and given much care and love, they likewise return untold benefits to the families they join. My family's lives have all been enhanced by the kind and gentle souls who have entered our home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs runs extremely well. It has excellent leadership and dedicated volunteers. I would not make any changes to this organization. My wish, however, would be to have greater financial support to establish a physical facility to house senior dogs until they could be placed in permanent homes, and thus reduce the number of dogs that have to be turned down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs has been a catalyst for bringing awareness to the value of senior dogs in the community. I have first hand experience to the services that the organization has provided over the past decade. My first real experience to the power of the organization was when I was working for an animal control shelter and a blind 8 year old collie mix was found wandering the streets. I felt so bad for this dog, it was heartbreaking to see him so confused in a cage, I am sure so scared by sensory overload of loud noises and overwhelming smells. The realization was that there was no chance that he would live out his golden years in a safe and loving environment, I just remember how pathetic that was. Thankfully, when the Sanctuary was notified, the path to a loving home was set in motion. With a lot of hard work and brainstorming on the part of the organization, this dog found a loving home who was committed to providing him a safe and fulfilling life. That started the beginning of the life saving role that the Sanctuary has had for dogs who otherwise would not have an opportunity to enjoy what should be the best and most comfortable years of their lives. The organization has taught me that nothing is impossible when a small group of dedicated individuals are determined and passionate about making a difference in the lives of senior dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have been blessed to be a part of this organization for about 10 years. The S,anctuary for Senior Dogs is exactly what the name indicates ,a true sanctuary for old dogs who have found themselves homeless and frightened. Thanks to this wonderful group of caring people these amazing dogs are able to live out their senior years in loving, caring FOREVER homes. I have seen many a dog come to the Sanctuary freightened and alone and in a very short they are happy, heathy and loved. The most beautiful experience I have had with the organization is taking a dog to his or her new home and seeing the happiness they give and get. The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs and the loving people that are a part of it, big or small, is truly a life saving organization.I am now on the board and very honored to be!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I started as a volunteer with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs about 6 years ago, becoming a board member a few years after that. I am so honored to be a small part of an organization that does such wonderful work. Senior dogs are so amazingly special and it is truly heartbreaking how many of them end up in dire circumstances through no fault of their own. Other reviewers have talked about all of the things that the Sanctuary does to meet the needs of these wonderful creatures, but one of the things that also impressed me was their mission to show what these dogs can still contribute to society. Almost since their beginning, the Sanctuary has had one or more senior therpay dogs actively giving back to the community by visiting nursing homes, developmental centers, library reading programs, etc. I could go on for some time about the difference the Sanctuary makes in the lives of so many deserving dogs, but right now my own 13 year old has brought me a toy and is asking to go outside.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers