Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This a great organization with passionate leadership who uses a lot of personal resources and time to help out a more marginalized group of animals--senior dogs. The fact that an organization exists to specifically care for the often forgotten (but very lovable!) older and ailing man's best friends is a great asset to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The ability for the organization to have more funding so more foster dogs can be helped and none turned away in their time of need. Also, more funding for a facility to house the foster dogs. More community outreach and volunteer opportunities would be great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved with The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over 10 years now and it truely is an amazing organization! Everytime I get a chance to help out at one of their events I am amazed at how caring and dedicated the people who run this organization are. I have had the joy of meeting alot of the Sanctuaries seniors and when you look into the eyes of these sweet dogs your life is changed forever! I have a t-shirt from the Sanctuary that says "Old Dogs Make Great Friends" and it is absolutely true! I am so happy that an organization exsists that is dedicated to saving so many of the overlooked senior dogs in kennels and hope they continue to rescue even more than they already have!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a follower of Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over 8 years now. The compassion, dedication and caring of the individuals who run this wonderful organization is beyond amazing. I would absolutely consider them in any future adoption/fostering should I be in a position to do so. I would also refer people looking to adopt/foster. Giving elder dogs with no hope of a future their life back goes beyond words.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only make sure that they had the funds to comfortably run this organization with no stress of financial difficulty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs (SSD) is not “only” a rescue organization for senior dogs, but this grass roots group illustrates how all living beings have worth through compassion and caring. I ha... more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We've been fortunate to foster, adopt, transport, and provide hospice care to several senior dogs guided our way. The experiences are priceless when you see a senior dog (we fostered; then adopted) pick up a pebble and fling it at our feet, barking so that WE knew she wanted us to throw it for her. Well, we learned through her that senior dogs can guide us, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a spot on PBS every month to discuss senior animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs (SSD) is not “only” a rescue organization for senior dogs, but this grass roots group illustrates how all living beings have worth through compassion and caring. I have had the privilege of volunteering with the SSD as well as having been a foster and adoptive parent. Priceless. May more organizations stay as true to their mission as the SSD.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have worked with and have known a huge number of animal rescue organizations in the past 30 years, and the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs ranks among the very top of all of them. They are unique in the fact that they focus more on the individual dog rather than the number of dogs (although the number of dogs they are able to rescue and care for is very impressive, too). Every senior dog is given 100% of whatever they need in terms of vet care, emotional care, love and compassion, training, patience, and time. If they cannot be adopted for any reason, the Sanctuary will give them all the love and care they want in a foster home for the remainder of their lives. They are never euthanized to make room for more. The ones that can be adopted are adopted only to the best of homes to ensure that they are never abandoned or lost or dumped again, and that they live out their lives with safety, health, and love. Each dog that enters the Sanctuary is given the love and dignity he/she so very much deserves, and is given a lifetime commitment by the Sanctuary. The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is also unique in that it focuses only on senior dogs, which are the ones that, sadly, society tends to throw away in favor of the younger puppies. The Sanctuary sees the immense value and worthiness of these seniors and what they have to offer us, and makes sure that they are given the love and respect that they so richly deserve in return.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

This organization is such a blessing for the senior dogs who would otherwise die alone & terrified, in a shelter surrounded by strangers. Here they are surrounded by love of families for the remainder of their life, a valued & treasured family member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is an amazing nonprofit!! They rescue senior dogs (7 years or older) from local shelters and pounds. The Sanctuary then provides each and every dog with exceptions medical care and loving foster homes where they are shown unconditional love until they can find their forever home. Even more impressive is their forever foster program, if a dog that is rescued is unable to be adopted maybe because of a medical condition they remain in the program until such time as they cross the Rainbow Bridge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers