Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

What a wonderful non profit organization! They bring awareness to senior dogs who need homes too!!! What a blessing they are to such deserving animals!!!!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

It is heartwarming to see an underserved population of dogs being saved and treated so well.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am an animal lover. I've had dogs almost all my life and I take the responsibility seriously. Till death do us part. I have rescued, fostered and rehomed dogs.The cruelty that happens to these wonderful babies is so mind boggling to me and I cannot understand how anyone can have a dog in their family for years, then suddenly decide to abandon them because they are old. They must have no heart. This organization pulled at my heart strings from the first time I saw them on facebook. I wasn't really aware how often this was happening to senior dogs. These people that put their time and effort into loving and caring for abandoned old dogs feel like family to me because they "get it". Imagine how confused, scared and lonely these dogs feel waiting for their owners to return after being dropped off at some shelter. Many will not be adopted because of their age. Many will be euthanized. At this time I live in a home that is to small to foster or rescue more dogs then I already have but once I have a bigger spot I will follow this rescues example and take in senior dogs. This organization has openned my eyes and I am so thankful they do what they do.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Love this organization. Senior dogs have almost no chance if they end up in a shelter. This organization gives them a voice.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am also a huge advocate for senior rescues and am proud to see ones such as this go to such lengths to help and rehome our elderly dog population. They become so forgotten and deserve just as much a good life as any dog of any age. Keep up the good work!
November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first contacted the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs when I was volunteering in dog rescue & attempting to match a senior dog in a kill shelter with a rescue. They were unable to take a dog from out of state at that time due to resource constraints but they were helpful and sympathetic. I began to follow their work & learn all that they do for senior dogs. Many people do not realise how hard it is to rescue seniors, how often they are dumped in shelters, or onto the streets. Everyone wants a puppy, or at least a younger dog. The work of this rescue is crucial. They raise awareness about what wonderful companions senior dogs are and they save many lives. They publish a calendar that highlights the wisdom & beauty of grey-muzzled dogs. I contribute to them when I can and would give more if I could so that they can expand their resources and save more seniors. No senior dog should die unloved and abandoned in a shelter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers