Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

As someone who adopts senior dogs, it is wonderful to have a rescue devoted to them
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

My husband and I adopted a sweet, gentle senior lab mix a couple of years ago. The Sanctuary takes placement very seriously and puts the dog's welfare above all else. When we are in a position to adopt a dog in the future, we will certainly contact the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been involved with Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for about 9 years after adopting my wonderful senior dog. I have nothing but awe and praise for the folks involved in running this organization. If you are looking to adopt a senior dog, please consider Sanctuary for Senior Dogs.
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a great group of very dedicated people. I volunteer at a Humane society that had a senior dog that was not doing well in a shelter setting. She came from a bad situation and had been at the shelter a long time and was being overlooked by adopters because of her age. We contacted The Sanctuary For Senior Dogs and they agreed to take her in. She was taken in by a foster and is now living the wonderful life we had all hoped she would find.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I found the Sanctuary quite by mistake - my son was looking for a small dog so I started searching the internet for a chihuahua. What I found was a sad looking little girl with the most interesting face in the world. The sadness in her eyes was more than I could resist. I called the Sanctuary and went to meet Evie. It was love at first sight on my side and, I hope, on her side too.

After being evaluated as a foster parent for Evie, I took her home and started her on the path to happy home life. Deborah Workman was there to help me and answer any questions that I had about taking proper care of Evie. Since she had some serious medical problems when she came to the Sanctuary, Evie could not be spayed so I remained her foster mom for several years before she developed pyometra. Even though this is a serious medical problem and life-threatening, Evie's resilience came through again and she survived the surgery and now I was able to officially adopt her.

Without the Sanctuary I'm sure that Evie would not have survived. They really are a sanctuary for older dogs who become homeless through no fault of their own. Often older dogs become homeless because their owners are also old. They often cannot continue to care for their cherished pets because of medical issues, having to move into a home that won't accept their pet or perhaps death. The Sanctuary is always there to try and find a new home for these misfortunate pets and make sure they get the medical care they need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to expand the number of foster parents available to care for the displaced pets. I would also like to increase the public's awareness of this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We had a great experience this year with the Sanctuary For Senior Dogs. We were lucky enough to adopt a sweet puggle that we named Molly. She has brought a wonderful joy to our family! We support the Sanctuary in the work they do and are happy to have met such a great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is a wonderful organization of compassionate people. They rescue great older dogs and all dogs stay with volunteers at their homes. We have adopted 2 loving dogs from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they had all the money needed to keep rescuing wonderful canine companions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Two years ago there was a tiny, very old, very fragile chihuahua at the rural high-kill shelter where I volunteered to arrange rescue for their dogs. She was very sweet but in terrible shape, missing teeth, loaded with fleas, hair loss and it was clear she had other health problems as well. I was familiar with their work and so I contacted the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs. They had a foster available and agreed to take her. She was taken to a vet immediately, received the very best care possible, and then went to a loving "forever" foster home because she was too fragile to spay. Her last days could have been spent laying on a cold concrete floor in a dog pound without their help. I rescued hundreds of dogs during my years of going to this pound and some of them will stay in my heart forever. Evie was one of those dogs. I had followed their work before and continue to do so and have seen many beautiful loving dogs get second chances because of the work they do. Seniors are so deserving and generally very hard to find a rescue for, especially those who are very old or have serious health problems. Every dog that joins the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs has a safe, kind, loving place to live out however much time they have. Their contribution to the rescue community is immeasurable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers