Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is an amazing organization. They help vulnerable senior dogs get the home, love, and veterinary care they need. They screen potential fosters and adopters to make sure their dogs go somewhere safe. They also have dogs that do therapy work and some that need to stay with them as forever fosters for medical or emotional reasons. They provide individualized care to every dog they rescue.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have been fostering for the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for just shy of a year and it is amazing to see firsthand the transformation of scared, abandoned, sometimes sick senior dogs to beloved pets. They have a forever foster program for dogs that for whatever reason cannot be adopted out which speaks to their commitment to the dogs they take in. The forever foster program also is a great way for animal lovers who cannot have pets in their home donate to care for an animal in need. They also have great therapy dogs that go out into the community. Lastly, I think it's great that they have a reduced adoption fee for senior citizens to adopt a senior pup.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

They give older dogs a second chance at happiness. It is a pleasure to foster for this organization; they are very supportive of their fosters & bend over backward to do what's in the best interest of every dog they rescue. They do a great job screening forever homes & families so that they know their dogs are going to a good place. They will take back any dog that was adopted out from them regardless of the reason, so the dog is guaranteed the care it needs for life.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

This small hands-on group works tirelessly to care for the senior dogs often overlooked by adopters and difficult for shelters to care for. I have been a foster volunteer for a little over a year and have found them to be well organized, capable and endlessly devoted to the senior dogs in their care. They work with local & regional shelters and other rescue groups, focusing only on saving as many older dogs as possible. They compassionately take in the oldest, sickest and hardest to place dogs and give them a loving, safe place during their "golden" years. And, their commitment ends only when the dogs pass away, some of whom experienced their only loving home ever. They definitely deserve support!
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

This past February, I pushed my family to join me in beginning an adventure into the realm of fostering dogs - specifically senior dogs. We applied with the Sanctuary, and I was impressed with how carefully our application was reviewed - references were contacted, I spent a lot if time on the phone with the Director, visited the Sanctuary with my family, and wrapped up with a home visit before we finally had the chance to foster our first dog. Our first fostering experience was wonderful and the support and level of communication and commitment from the Director was outstanding. We now have a second foster in our care and are continuing to have a wonderful experience. We are huge fans of the Sanctuary and are always happy to spread the word about the good work this organization does in a responsible way.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs as a volunteer for the past several years in various events sponsored by the Sanctuary to increase awareness of its much needed work. I have al... more

October 30, 2014

I have recently joined the Board to help continue its good work. Prior to that my family has had several years of involvement with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs fostering gentle, wonderful dogs that we loved and cared for. Each of our dogs had different personalities and added so much to our household. It was a privilege to give them a loving home until the end of their days. I wish everyone knew about the Sanctuary. The Director and her team of volunteers do an excellent job of making sure these four legged seniors are carefully placed where they are welcomed with open and loving hearts into their forever homes.
October 31, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs as a volunteer for the past several years in various events sponsored by the Sanctuary to increase awareness of its much needed work. I have also been involved in fostering those wonderful senior dogs, including some that have been in "hospice care." I can attest to the fact that all the dogs that come into the Sanctuary's care are loved and live in dignity to the end of their days. Not only are these 4-legged seniors welcomed into homes and given much care and love, they likewise return untold benefits to the families they join. My family's lives have all been enhanced by the kind and gentle souls who have entered our home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs runs extremely well. It has excellent leadership and dedicated volunteers. I would not make any changes to this organization. My wish, however, would be to have greater financial support to establish a physical facility to house senior dogs until they could be placed in permanent homes, and thus reduce the number of dogs that have to be turned down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I provided a foster home for Trudy. It was a wonderful experience, and found the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs to be extremely caring and supportive of both the dogs and foster parents. On two occasions I needed to be hospitalized on an emergency basis and they immediately found someone to take care of Trudy, came to my home to pick her up, and then returned her when I was back home. A month ago I had to sell my home, and move to an apartment where they would not allow dogs. This was a very difficult experience. I had dogs all my life and am now 72 yrs old. They were very supportive of me and what I was going through, and were able to locate another loving foster home for Trudy. She is adapting very well. I plan on continuing to volunteer for the sanctuary, although I am unable to foster at this point. They were also focused on maintaining the dog's physical health, and had a wonderful relationship with Dr. Bob at Gateway Animal Hosp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs provides hope for the most desperate animals in a shelter. It's rare for a senior to get adopted from a shelter, however, it is almost impossible for a senior with healt... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I currently foster for the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs and absolutely love it. I have fostered for other rescue groups before and what stands out about the Sanctuary is the level of commitment they have to the dogs in their care. They spare absolutely no expense when it comes to vet care and never question whether or not to spend the money at the vet. That gives a volunteer such piece of mind. It also gives potential adopters piece of mind, knowing this dog has had their medical, social and behavioral needs addressed while in foster care. I know the vet they use is the absolute best in the area and truly cares about the well being of senior animals. The Sanctuary goes above and beyond when it comes to an animals well being.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers to foster. There are so many senior dogs in shelters that need help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs provides hope for the most desperate animals in a shelter. It's rare for a senior to get adopted from a shelter, however, it is almost impossible for a senior with health or behavior issues to make it out alive. I have been fostering a 10 year old mixed breed dog with a treatable thyroid condition for months. I have trouble imagining she would have made it out of a shelter without the help of the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs. When she was found as a stray, she had tumors and other health issues. She can be terribly shy with people and is not one of those dogs that would stand out in a shelter. However, in a foster home she thrives. She gets to play with other dogs (which she enjoys), lay in a comfy bed, eat good food, go on walks, have her medical needs attended to and most importantly, learn that she can trust people and be part of a family again. The Sanctuary for Senior dogs gave her hope and treated her life with the respect and dignity she deserves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is an organization dedicated to saving the lives of senior dogs in shelters. I fostered for them and adopted one of my fosters 6 years ago. She is a true joy and I am so glad that I found out about this organization. All of the dogs are placed in loving homes until they are adopted, and Sanctuary dogs have a home for life if the home they are adopted into doesn't work out for any reason.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization needs more fosters to offer their homes to senior dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My husband and I are proud volunteers for this great organization! The sanctuary for senior dogs rescues and saves many senior dogs that are abandoned and dumped at shelters. Many of them would be euthanized because of their age and health issues. We had an extraordinary experience this summer when fostering a sweet senior lab that had only three legs. He was found abandoned and tied outside during the hot summer weather, without food and water. He was in danger of being euthanized and The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs took him in, and paid for his vet medical care and medications. We fostered this very special boy until he was healthy enough to be adopted. We are very happy to know that he's in his forever home, where he is loved and spoiled by his mom & dad.
Without The Sanctuary, I hate to think what would have happened to this very special boy and the thousands they have helped over the years! Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers