Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In 2006 I went to an event the Sanctuary was holding, I have been with them ever since. We share our home with one of the Sanctuary's permanent fosters. He's a member of our family and has been a wonderful addition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I found the Sanctuary quite by mistake - my son was looking for a small dog so I started searching the internet for a chihuahua. What I found was a sad looking little girl with the most interesting face in the world. The sadness in her eyes was more than I could resist. I called the Sanctuary and went to meet Evie. It was love at first sight on my side and, I hope, on her side too.

After being evaluated as a foster parent for Evie, I took her home and started her on the path to happy home life. Deborah Workman was there to help me and answer any questions that I had about taking proper care of Evie. Since she had some serious medical problems when she came to the Sanctuary, Evie could not be spayed so I remained her foster mom for several years before she developed pyometra. Even though this is a serious medical problem and life-threatening, Evie's resilience came through again and she survived the surgery and now I was able to officially adopt her.

Without the Sanctuary I'm sure that Evie would not have survived. They really are a sanctuary for older dogs who become homeless through no fault of their own. Often older dogs become homeless because their owners are also old. They often cannot continue to care for their cherished pets because of medical issues, having to move into a home that won't accept their pet or perhaps death. The Sanctuary is always there to try and find a new home for these misfortunate pets and make sure they get the medical care they need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to expand the number of foster parents available to care for the displaced pets. I would also like to increase the public's awareness of this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We had a great experience this year with the Sanctuary For Senior Dogs. We were lucky enough to adopt a sweet puggle that we named Molly. She has brought a wonderful joy to our family! We support the Sanctuary in the work they do and are happy to have met such a great organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over ten years...some years more active than others. What amazes me about this rescue is the dedication of so many people to improving the quality of life for senior dogs and the vision that they can do (just about) anything. Therapy dog training is not uncommon. Competitions at the annual summer fundraiser are a pleasure to watch. The dogs amaze. It is so heartwarming to see how "throw away" dogs thrive in good homes....and how much they have to give back. They are the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create an unlimited number of foster homes so that more senior dogs could be saved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I met Deborah Workman at my place of work. She asked me if I would consider welcoming a senior dog into my home. A short time later, I became permanent foster for " Chester." Chester stayed with me for about two years until he crossed the rainbow bridge. I think Chester fostered me more than I him. I only wish we had more time together. The sanctuary places great seniors in homes where they are able to live out their final years with dignity and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs (SSD) is not “only” a rescue organization for senior dogs, but this grass roots group illustrates how all living beings have worth through compassion and caring. I ha... more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We've been fortunate to foster, adopt, transport, and provide hospice care to several senior dogs guided our way. The experiences are priceless when you see a senior dog (we fostered; then adopted) pick up a pebble and fling it at our feet, barking so that WE knew she wanted us to throw it for her. Well, we learned through her that senior dogs can guide us, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a spot on PBS every month to discuss senior animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs (SSD) is not “only” a rescue organization for senior dogs, but this grass roots group illustrates how all living beings have worth through compassion and caring. I have had the privilege of volunteering with the SSD as well as having been a foster and adoptive parent. Priceless. May more organizations stay as true to their mission as the SSD.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is a wonderful organization of compassionate people. They rescue great older dogs and all dogs stay with volunteers at their homes. We have adopted 2 loving dogs from them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they had all the money needed to keep rescuing wonderful canine companions.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is an amazing organization which has helped so many older dogs find safe, loving forever homes. I was introduced to the Sanctuary about four years ago and was amazed at how much care and love they provide for senior dogs. All dogs are kept in loving foster homes and all fosters have the support of the organization. Any dog that enters the Sanctuary's program is a member for life and will always have a safe, loving place to call home. The SSD is an exceptional non-profit organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over 10 years. Their focus is on saving and rehabilitating senior dogs that have been abandoned in shelters and pounds and also on educating the public of the value of senior dogs. Just this year they have added 3 new senior therapy dogs!! What better way to spread the word about the wonderful accomplishments our senior canine friends can achieve. I have fostered multiple dogs for this organization. Some for just short periods before they have been adopted, and some "forever" fosters due to health or behavior issues. I have had several dogs in hospice care and have found this organization to be very supportive of the needs of the dog and the foster home. The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs provides all medical care for the dogs it takes in and never denies medical care for any condition. All of the volunteers are dedicated to this organization and to spreading the word about the value of senior dogs. I wouldn't want to be doing anything else.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for the sanctuary when i was about eight years old. I am now eighteen years old and even thought ten years have passed, I still can not find a better group of people. They truly care about the dogs. They saw a cause that needed fighting for and they stuck to it even when it was hard to do. Even though they are a relatively small organization, i honestly believe they are the best one out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers