Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been involved with the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs as a volunteer for the past several years in various events sponsored by the Sanctuary to increase awareness of its much needed work. I have also been involved in fostering those wonderful senior dogs, including some that have been in "hospice care." I can attest to the fact that all the dogs that come into the Sanctuary's care are loved and live in dignity to the end of their days. Not only are these 4-legged seniors welcomed into homes and given much care and love, they likewise return untold benefits to the families they join. My family's lives have all been enhanced by the kind and gentle souls who have entered our home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs runs extremely well. It has excellent leadership and dedicated volunteers. I would not make any changes to this organization. My wish, however, would be to have greater financial support to establish a physical facility to house senior dogs until they could be placed in permanent homes, and thus reduce the number of dogs that have to be turned down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This a great organization with passionate leadership who uses a lot of personal resources and time to help out a more marginalized group of animals--senior dogs. The fact that an organization exists to specifically care for the often forgotten (but very lovable!) older and ailing man's best friends is a great asset to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The ability for the organization to have more funding so more foster dogs can be helped and none turned away in their time of need. Also, more funding for a facility to house the foster dogs. More community outreach and volunteer opportunities would be great.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family has been involved with The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over 10 years now and it truely is an amazing organization! Everytime I get a chance to help out at one of their events I am amazed at how caring and dedicated the people who run this organization are. I have had the joy of meeting alot of the Sanctuaries seniors and when you look into the eyes of these sweet dogs your life is changed forever! I have a t-shirt from the Sanctuary that says "Old Dogs Make Great Friends" and it is absolutely true! I am so happy that an organization exsists that is dedicated to saving so many of the overlooked senior dogs in kennels and hope they continue to rescue even more than they already have!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a great group of very dedicated people. I volunteer at a Humane society that had a senior dog that was not doing well in a shelter setting. She came from a bad situation and had been at the shelter a long time and was being overlooked by adopters because of her age. We contacted The Sanctuary For Senior Dogs and they agreed to take her in. She was taken in by a foster and is now living the wonderful life we had all hoped she would find.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been a follower of Sanctuary for Senior Dogs for over 8 years now. The compassion, dedication and caring of the individuals who run this wonderful organization is beyond amazing. I would absolutely consider them in any future adoption/fostering should I be in a position to do so. I would also refer people looking to adopt/foster. Giving elder dogs with no hope of a future their life back goes beyond words.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only make sure that they had the funds to comfortably run this organization with no stress of financial difficulty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I provided a foster home for Trudy. It was a wonderful experience, and found the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs to be extremely caring and supportive of both the dogs and foster parents. On two occasions I needed to be hospitalized on an emergency basis and they immediately found someone to take care of Trudy, came to my home to pick her up, and then returned her when I was back home. A month ago I had to sell my home, and move to an apartment where they would not allow dogs. This was a very difficult experience. I had dogs all my life and am now 72 yrs old. They were very supportive of me and what I was going through, and were able to locate another loving foster home for Trudy. She is adapting very well. I plan on continuing to volunteer for the sanctuary, although I am unable to foster at this point. They were also focused on maintaining the dog's physical health, and had a wonderful relationship with Dr. Bob at Gateway Animal Hosp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs provides hope for the most desperate animals in a shelter. It's rare for a senior to get adopted from a shelter, however, it is almost impossible for a senior with healt... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I currently foster for the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs and absolutely love it. I have fostered for other rescue groups before and what stands out about the Sanctuary is the level of commitment they have to the dogs in their care. They spare absolutely no expense when it comes to vet care and never question whether or not to spend the money at the vet. That gives a volunteer such piece of mind. It also gives potential adopters piece of mind, knowing this dog has had their medical, social and behavioral needs addressed while in foster care. I know the vet they use is the absolute best in the area and truly cares about the well being of senior animals. The Sanctuary goes above and beyond when it comes to an animals well being.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers to foster. There are so many senior dogs in shelters that need help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs provides hope for the most desperate animals in a shelter. It's rare for a senior to get adopted from a shelter, however, it is almost impossible for a senior with health or behavior issues to make it out alive. I have been fostering a 10 year old mixed breed dog with a treatable thyroid condition for months. I have trouble imagining she would have made it out of a shelter without the help of the Sanctuary for Senior Dogs. When she was found as a stray, she had tumors and other health issues. She can be terribly shy with people and is not one of those dogs that would stand out in a shelter. However, in a foster home she thrives. She gets to play with other dogs (which she enjoys), lay in a comfy bed, eat good food, go on walks, have her medical needs attended to and most importantly, learn that she can trust people and be part of a family again. The Sanctuary for Senior dogs gave her hope and treated her life with the respect and dignity she deserves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs is an organization dedicated to saving the lives of senior dogs in shelters. I fostered for them and adopted one of my fosters 6 years ago. She is a true joy and I am so glad that I found out about this organization. All of the dogs are placed in loving homes until they are adopted, and Sanctuary dogs have a home for life if the home they are adopted into doesn't work out for any reason.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization needs more fosters to offer their homes to senior dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs has been a catalyst for bringing awareness to the value of senior dogs in the community. I have first hand experience to the services that the organization has provided over the past decade. My first real experience to the power of the organization was when I was working for an animal control shelter and a blind 8 year old collie mix was found wandering the streets. I felt so bad for this dog, it was heartbreaking to see him so confused in a cage, I am sure so scared by sensory overload of loud noises and overwhelming smells. The realization was that there was no chance that he would live out his golden years in a safe and loving environment, I just remember how pathetic that was. Thankfully, when the Sanctuary was notified, the path to a loving home was set in motion. With a lot of hard work and brainstorming on the part of the organization, this dog found a loving home who was committed to providing him a safe and fulfilling life. That started the beginning of the life saving role that the Sanctuary has had for dogs who otherwise would not have an opportunity to enjoy what should be the best and most comfortable years of their lives. The organization has taught me that nothing is impossible when a small group of dedicated individuals are determined and passionate about making a difference in the lives of senior dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My husband and I are proud volunteers for this great organization! The sanctuary for senior dogs rescues and saves many senior dogs that are abandoned and dumped at shelters. Many of them would be euthanized because of their age and health issues. We had an extraordinary experience this summer when fostering a sweet senior lab that had only three legs. He was found abandoned and tied outside during the hot summer weather, without food and water. He was in danger of being euthanized and The Sanctuary for Senior Dogs took him in, and paid for his vet medical care and medications. We fostered this very special boy until he was healthy enough to be adopted. We are very happy to know that he's in his forever home, where he is loved and spoiled by his mom & dad.
Without The Sanctuary, I hate to think what would have happened to this very special boy and the thousands they have helped over the years! Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers