Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

The San Pedro River Arts Council partnered with the Friends of the Benson Library to make a very special program available to the children of our community in March of 2012. They have also assured us of financial support for a similar program in 2013. In addition, their Vice-President, an accomplished graphic artist, designed a logo for our organization, at no cost to us, that we use on our stationery, banners, and business cards. This has helped us to have a recognizable image to present to the public in our fund-raising and outreach programs. Their willingness to help us in our efforts to expand our programs and presence in the community has been invaluable. In a small community like ours, it is refreshing to have such cooperation from another non-profit organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Benson and the surrounding areas have profited greatly by the San Pedro River Arts Council. The Council raises awareness of arts with the children in our area, as well as giving local artists a chance to display and sell their work through events they put on. Currently they are offering art to middle and high school students in an area where art has been removed from the school. It is an honor for me to be on the Board of such a community oriented organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

The San Pedro River Arts Council.supported the children's program the Frinds of the Library conducted last year through a financial donation as well as artistic support. Through their work, citizens of Benson have the opportunity to participate in activities that are informative as well as enjoyable. I have had the opportunity to work with volunteers from the Council and have found them to be knowledgeable and eager to support us in our work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Art has always been part of my life. I was among the few that started the San Pedro River Arts Council, some years ago, and served as its President. The Arizona Desert is a place where Art thrives with the help of solid volunteers who simply cannot let it die. The San Pedro River Arts Council has adjusted its programs as its volunteers have come and gone. The creativity of these folks has made this small organization flourish and survive. No one is paid a salary. The Council is assisted by State and Local government programs that recognize that Art is a necessity, not a pastime and by the exciting programs to which people contribute. Although I no longer live in Arizona, I still consider myself a dedicated member, and will be as long as the San Pedro Arts Council exists. Its purpose and dedication in making sure that the Arts are alive and well for as many artists and students of all skills and ages as want to partake is a noble one and worthy of recognition for its contribution to the arts in this small corner of the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I have worked with the San Pedro Arts Council as a volunteer for the last several years and their contribution to our small community has been very valuable. Without them our community would not have an active Arts community. They have worked well with the other volunteer groups in the community to maximize the common resource pool. They have reached out to the local school to sponsor a high school and middle school arts club when the school no longer offered an Arts class as part of its program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

The San Pedro River Arts Council (SPRAC) serves the small rural communities of Benson and St David in Arizona. Both of these communities are underserved from an arts perspective. SPRAC is the only organization in these areas engaging residents through a local arts show, rotating art exhibits, Kids’ Days program and art education. In particular, SPRAC sponsors middle school and high school art clubs for the St David School District as they totally discontinued art education due to funding cutbacks. SPRAC provides supplies and instructors to small groups of enthusiastic students. I think SPRAC is a great asset to these communities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

St. David Unified School District has faced some hard economic times. We are a small High School but have always valued what the arts add to education. When our past art teacher retired we were not able to to hire a new full time art teacher. We were able to offer a few periods of art with a non-qualified teacher. As a district we were worried about this and we reached out for help from the San Pedro River Arts Council. With there assistance and the beginning of an after school art club we were able to offer a stellar program and continue to see the impact art can have on a child. Once again we were faced with some personnel changes which led to the loss of art being taught in during the day. Being very concerned about this San Pedro River Arts Council working with me ensured that the students in grade 6-12 would continue to have an opportunity to have art touch their lives. The Arts council provides the needed supplies and the guest artists that come in and instruct and our students during the after school club once each week. They ensure that the students are given the opportunity that could not be offered in our small school. I cannot express what this has meant to our students who were facing school without the opportunity to express themselves and learn through art. I would welcome all to our school to see the generosity and professionalism of the San Pedro River Arts Council.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

As a San Pedro River Arts Council board member my viewpoint may be considered biased and perhaps it is, but I am so proud of what we have accomplished in a relatively short period. One of the things I am most proud of is our dedication to serving our communities through our support of after school programs.

Saint David is a rural community about seven miles south of Benson, AZ with a total school population between 450 and 500 students. In partnership with the Saint David School District, last year the San Pedro River Arts Council (SPRAC) sponsored an after school Art Club which included middle school and high school students.

This year the Saint David School District dropped all funding for the art program in its schools. Left with no art program for district students, SPRAC decide to continue with the program providing all necessary funding as well as volunteer artists who coordinate an oversee the entire program. The students we serve have been extremely appreciative of our efforts and one student even declared the "art club was her favorite day of the week".

Shryl Miles
Vice President
SPRAC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have been a member artist for several years of SPRAC. During this time I have attended meetings and have shown art in the annual Cochise College sponsored show. All of these events have been handled in a professional manner and provided the community with a wonderful experience. The volunteers and directors do a fine job of supporting it's members, providing a venue for local artist on their website and venues for displaying the members art. It is a valuable asset to the community. Fred Ruth, member

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The San Pedro River Arts Council supports art of all sorts to the rural communities of Benson and St. David. They sponsor an after school art program for children. They are the reason there is art here at all!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers