Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

San Jose Obrero Mission offers Financial Literacy, Life Skills and Career Training classes in English and Spanish to all of the participants. All the participants are assigned a case manager that helps them with their needs. The program helps the participants to be self-sufficient and increase their self-esteem with various workshops offered by outside services. Through the community linkage agreements, the participants can be seen by other counselors, doctors and receive other services free of charge to them. Once a the participant is ready to exit, the case manger arranges the proper transportation so that the participant is able to go to their new place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work with the Chicago Coalition for the Homeless, and do regular outreach with the residents at San Jose Obrero Mission's two sites: Women and Families in Crisis, and Men in Crisis. SJOM staff gives hope to men, women and children who are experiencing homelessness by providing them with high-quality services, safe facilities, and opportunities and motivation for personal and career growth. The staff really cares, and often goes above and beyond what they have to, for example, organizing special events on their own time for clients to attend and to raise money for SJOM. SJOM is open to people from all backgrounds, but is particularly capable at serving Latino clients, and is a pillar in the Pilsen and La Villita communities. A story I often hear from clients is this: "I have been in Pilsen for 20 years. I always knew this place was here, but never thought I would become homeless. Now that I am in this situation, I am so thankful for San Jose Obrero Mission. Without them I would be sleeping in the street. Because of them, I got a job, am saving money, and am getting ready to move into my own place."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

San Jose Obrero Mission is an agency which provides employment and housing. There Interim Housing Program serves single men, women with children and single women as well. San Jose Obrero Mission helps participants get on their feet, with income, housing and programs that will benefit them. I have seen participants successfully complete the program and find housing thru San Jose Obrero Mssion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Thank you San Jose Obrero Mission for taking on an issue that many people feel is a strain and epedimic on our society. Keep on standing up for those that are most vulnerable.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I serve as Executive Director to San Jose Obrero Mission. In the past four years San Jose Obrero Mission has become a pioneer of a new kind of Interim Housing in Chicago. Focusing in the Latino communities, our bilingual services exemplifies the services we offer to our Latino men, women, and children ensuring education on every level be the foundation that will stabilize peoples lives. As a former homeless man i understand the journey of a person or familiy without support or resources to become contributing members of society. As we hold everyone accountable, we have seen many thus far move into permanent housing which brings us joy to know that we are helping the economy as we help others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers