Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I have done volunteer work at the agency for homeless men, women and children. I started by providing Sunday night dinner when the cook was off. We were a team of three and cooked and served the resid... more

April 5, 2013

I began helping this agency over twenty years ago serving homeless men a meal on Sunday night. I joined the board ten years ago and have seen the mission serve men, women and children find housing, learn to get a job or to improve to a better job. They provide interim housing and services to aid the residents find permanent housing. They offer services in English and Spanish . They provide life skills training, health assessment and financial skills to help the resident become self sufficient .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have done volunteer work at the agency for homeless men, women and children. I started by providing Sunday night dinner when the cook was off. We were a team of three and cooked and served the residents. This was indeed an activity that made us feel that we were needed. We loved interacting with the residents and they told us how much they loved our meals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A friendy and warm enviroment. A system that works. The participants are expected to follow house rules but are also made to feel part of a family. Not your average shelter. It encourages and assists the participants to become self suffient once again and gives them the life skills to maintain the knowledge learned at SJOM.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

San Jose Obrero Mission is a great place to help people in need. It has an nice warm environment with a caring and passionate staff who really cares about the well being of the people. Keep up the good work guys and God Bless you all! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

San Jose Obrero Mission is a non-profit organization that really helps the people in need. Not only by providing our men, women, and families with shelter and food but with so much more. SJOM provides programs like life skill and career classes so our men and women are equipped for the real world. SJOM is preparing each person to get back into society by helping them find a job and a place to live. As a volunteer coordinator I have seen the reward of helping out the families by taking care of the kids so mom can go and find a job or go to that job interview. Honestly, being a volunteer and serving the people in my community is the best job ever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I have witnessed first hand the good this organization does for the community. They provide comprehensive services to the clients there, from life skills to job skills to meals. I was impressed at the lengths they go to to help the clients. From trying to hunt down documentation for benefits and I was so impressed by the quality of meals they served. The shelters are super clean and very safe. I was honored to volunteer there and feel they are such an asset to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have worked with the Executive Director of San Jose for years on various homeless initiatives. When Israel became the director of this amazing shelter in the Pilsen area in Chicago it was as if that corner of the neighborhood had been lifted up. Israel is a great leader and his staff is very caring and professional. The men and woman they serve have told me on more than one occasion how much they feel valued and supported. That means a lot for this particular community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers