Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

As a resident of the community that is served by San Jose Obrero Mission, I feel privileged to have firsthand knowledge of the comprehensive services that are provided by this not-for-profit organization. The staff members are very committed to delivering a nurturing and safe environment for all participants who come through their doors. The executive director, Israel Vargas is dedicated to making the aspirations of all participants a reality through training and by seeking out varied resources to empower participants through employment and housing opportunities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have worked with the Executive Director of San Jose for years on various homeless initiatives. When Israel became the director of this amazing shelter in the Pilsen area in Chicago it was as if that corner of the neighborhood had been lifted up. Israel is a great leader and his staff is very caring and professional. The men and woman they serve have told me on more than one occasion how much they feel valued and supported. That means a lot for this particular community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I serve as Executive Director to San Jose Obrero Mission. In the past four years San Jose Obrero Mission has become a pioneer of a new kind of Interim Housing in Chicago. Focusing in the Latino communities, our bilingual services exemplifies the services we offer to our Latino men, women, and children ensuring education on every level be the foundation that will stabilize peoples lives. As a former homeless man i understand the journey of a person or familiy without support or resources to become contributing members of society. As we hold everyone accountable, we have seen many thus far move into permanent housing which brings us joy to know that we are helping the economy as we help others.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I came to San Jose in the Fall of 2011 after meeting the Director at a community event. He was so passionate about San Jose Obrero that when he said, "You simply have to come take a tour and see what we are all about", I took him up on his offer. This truly is a place for those that want to change, rebuild thier lives to be. SJOM partners with individuals, families that are homeless and are committed to ending that cycle in their lives. As I walked through and observed the interaction of staff members with participants, saw the structure, and shoulder to shoulder approach in helping the participants rebuild their lives I knew I had to give a helping hand. I have taken others now to Tour SJOM and they too feel the energy and passion and have given their helping hand. San Jose Obrero mission is changing lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers