Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The San Diego Humane Society is an outstanding animal welfare agency and a well run organization. I have been involved with SDHS as a donor and volunteer for over 20 years. I have adopted 4 cats from the SDHS. As a current Board Member, I am proud to be associated with the organization. Our staff and volunteers are dedicated and passionate. We've made a difference in thousands of animal lives and the people who love them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love animals! In some instances, I think I love animals more than people. I've been involved with the San Diego Humane Society for the past 3 years and have been very impressed with all they do to help our furry friends find homes. The new initiative Getting to Zero which intends to eliminate the euthanasia of all treatable pets is brilliant. It addresses the problem on many fronts including even accepting animals from other, overcrowded shelters in the area to prevent unnecessary euthanasia of treatable pets. The new President, Dr. Gary Weitzman, is very forward thinking and is making positive changes that will improve both our community and overall animal welfare. I am proud to be involved with the San Diego Humane Society and look forward to doing all that I can do to help animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the operation so that more animals can be saved and returned to loving homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I became involved in the San Diego Humane Society (SDHS) as donors several years ago. At the time it was a well run organization that effectively served the needs of the community. With the addition of it's new president, Dr. Gary Weitzman, it has really become a star amongst organizations of its type. Gary and his team have been instrumental in pushing the organization forward to meet challenging and important goals, such as it's Treatable Pet Initiative and Spay and Neuter Initiative. These are both innovative, far reaching projects that have already made a major impact on animals in the San Diego community. I have been asked to sit on a number of boards in the past and have always declined. I was asked to join the board at the San Diego Humane Society and gladly accepted. You have to come and see the center itself to get a feel for how committed everyone there is to helping the lives of animals in need and making sure that adoptions are smooth and successful. My wife and I remain strong supporters of SDHS, as volunteers, donors and board members. We are both very proud to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been privileged to serve as principal outside legal counsel for the San Diego Humane Society for more than 20 years. Much of my time has been pro bono. I have never regretted that time commitment. I have consistently found the staff and volunteers to be inspiring in their devotion to the mission of the Society, never more so than now. As an attorney working with senior staff and a participant at virtually every Board of Trustees meeting, I am continually impressed by the care taken to ensure that donations are spent in a manner so as to maximize the animal welfare benefits, with a minmum allocated to adminstrative expense.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have supported this charity for about 15 years now and am impressed by the quality of care and attention provided to all animals that come in and the dedicated commitment of staff to insure that all animals that are adopted out go to loving, responsible families. In addition, I am impressed by the maintenance of quality services while increasing the number of animals adopted out each month.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

For several years I have been supporting this organization financially. Three years ago I joined their board and found it to be a very rewarding experience. My only goal is to help as many animals as possible and the San Diego Humane Society is doing just this. I am very proud to be associated with such an organization. Everybody I meet at the San Diego Humane Society has the same goals and that is to save as many animals as possible and find them happy new homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would continue to reach out to other organizations to help them join our mission goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I continue to be so impressed every day by the inroads that the SDHS is making for animal welfare in this community. Under Dr. Weitzman's leadership, we have seen many new initiatives that have resulted in many more adoptions, spay and neuterings, and rescue of animals that are abused.
In
addition, we now, thanks to the work of SDHS, have a law against selling puppies in stores which will help squash puppy mills. The work of this organization is vast and is changing the welfare of animals in our city.
I have been asked to serve on various boards and this one is the BEST!! I am honored to be a part of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having been involved with the San Diego Humane Society for many years, I still continue to be amazed at the level of caring, professionalism and community service provided by the staff. This is an organization that really understands its mission - top to bottom - and lives animal welfare 24/7. I am proud to say that I give them my time, my small bit of expertise and my donations. I can't think of a more well-run non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to expand throughout San Diego County so that this same level of service could be available to everyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor, my involvement with the San Diego Humane Society has been eye opening and rewarding. Having gone through the acquisition of the Oceanside facility as a board member, I have seen the tremendously positive impact that SDHS has had in improving the quality of care for the animals, and the continued improvement in the facility. Neuter and spay programs have been instituted, and the commitment to re-home all animals is higher than ever. The campus on Gaines Street in San Diego, as well as the facility in Oceanside, offers many positive programs for the community and the staff is intent on providing the best possible services for the animals and the people who love them...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the facility to enable SDHS to house and thus help more animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been volunteering with the San Diego Humane Society (SDHS) for about 3 years now and love the commitment that staff, management, and other volunteers have consistently made to help the animals. SDHS is a wonderful organization with such diverse programs to help the animals and educate the public regarding animal care. They perform animal adoptions, animal rescue, education sessions. One of my favorite projects is Project KEPPT (Keeping Every Person & Pet Together) which reaches out to the homeless folks with animals to provide necessary supplies and information so people can keep their animals. It is very well run under a new (actually 1 year now) president with lots of heart and great ideas. I LOVE volunteering with this organization that truly cares for the animals & people they serve, and appreciates its volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers