Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My wife and I have attended several San Diego Civic Youth Ballet performances and have thoroughly enjoyed every one. Having watched our own children perform in countless plays, recitals, and dance showcases over the years, we had a sense of what we might experience with SDCYB. What a wonderful surprise awaited us! The choreography, sets, costumes, and performance levels were exceptional. On more than one occasion it seemed as if we were watching a professional troupe. I can only imagine how proud the parents of these darling dancers must feel. We can't wait to join them for this year's Nutcracker!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand, if possible, in order to give more children an opportunity of a lifetime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

My daughter and I love SDCYB. This ballet school holds high standards for both their staff and students. It is clear that at SDCYB the administration fosters an environment of respect and professionalism. It is a place where kindness and principled behavior is both supported and expected from all parties involved.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

We have been with SDCYB for over 6 years. Both my daughter and I have been very happy with the staff and the dance instruction she has received. Highly recommend SDCYB!!
September 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 7, 2013

SDCYB is one of the best ballet schools we've been to. The staff is always very professional in all aspects from the office administration to the programming and execution of their performance events.... more

September 9, 2014

My daughter dances at SDCYB, and we as a family love to volunteer our time in order to help in the productions, which are extremely professional, a true delight to watch and for the dancers to prepare for future dancing opportunities.
SDCYB offers more than ballet classes, it offers a real life
opportunity to kids and their families to experience the fun, the love and the passion for this artistic expression.
We truly appreciate what the full staff and all the community of SDCYB do.
October 7, 2013

SDCYB is one of the best ballet schools we've been to. The staff is always very professional in all aspects from the office administration to the programming and execution of their performance events. SDCYB is one of the few place we have come across where dancers of all ages have the opportunity to be involved and exposed to continuous dance and performance experiences. It is impressive to know that SDCYB is a non-profit organization and that many of their special event activities rely on volunteer work as well as donations. Yet, even when this is true, their level of professionalism is incredible. We love SDCYB and the people who work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2013

My two girls have danced with San Diego Civic Youth Ballet from Tiny Tots on. This ballet organization is amazing. The teaching staff is first rate. They are all extremely professional yet caring. ... more

September 8, 2014

This is a fantastic organization and and great experience for all dancers.
October 11, 2013

My two girls have danced with San Diego Civic Youth Ballet from Tiny Tots on. This ballet organization is amazing. The teaching staff is first rate. They are all extremely professional yet caring. The level of instruction is high quality. We love coming to Balboa Park to take classes and for performances. I also take the adult ballet class and look forward to each and every class. My family has enjoyed our time here tremendously.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I am pleased to recommend the San Diego Civic Youth Ballet to parents considering dance for their children and youth. As a former dancer who went through a ballet company with pressure surrounding weight and body image I was very concerned about making sure that my child had a better experience than I had. Not only does SDCYB have incredible technical instructors, they also have personalities that make dancing enjoyable. All children and youth are encouraged to enjoy ballet as an art form and are taught to have an appreciation for the expression, the music, their bodies, and other people. They have produced some incredibly talented dancers who are clearly poised to become career dancers. The entire staff understands however that not all participants are there to become career dancers. They appreciate that all dancers come in with individual levels and goals of participation and they don't attempt to classify dancers exclusively based on an age group. The performances they produce are truly beautiful productions with exquisite costumes and professionally choreographed numbers that you will be proud to have family members and friends attend. Also, very importantly, SDCYB instructors take the safety of all dancers seriously and are meticulous with drop off and pick up and bathroom breaks.
I have been thrilled to have my child dancing with SDCYB for 5 years and will continue to enroll her and support what I believe is the best dance company in San Diego.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Thirteen years ago, my then four year old daughter started taking ballet classes at San Diego Civic Youth Ballet. As soon as her little sister turned four, she started lessons too, and is still dancing today. This year will mark her tenth consecutive year performing in The Nutcracker. We love the SDCYB program, staff, and teachers, who really care about their students. My girls have made wonderful friends there over the years, as well as gaining pose, strength, confidence and self-discipline. It has been a very rewarding experience for all of us.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Our family loves this ballet company. The instructors are very professional, and personable. The building and surrounding park are beautifully artistic and inspiring. Our daughter has been attending class since she was a little girl, and we have seen her grow with the qualities of discipline and grace. We recommend SDCYB for any family considering a dance company for their daughter or son. A big thumbs up!
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

My two daughters have been students at SDCYB since they were little. The teachers while professional, are extremely personable making the students feel welcomed and comfortable. This allows each student the self-esteem to give it their all. We are pleased with the character growth and ballet expertise of our girls as a result of being a part of SDCYB.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I love SDCYB! My daughter has been attending for several years now, and I love the school both as a parent and audience member. The teachers are professional: they are loving and caring, which is what little ones need, but also there to teach them technique and how to be a part of a company. They take safety as seriously as anything, too, which is very important. And the performances are wonderful! Everything from the cute tiny tots to the well-versed teenagers. I get teary watching them, even when my daughter isn't on stage!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers