Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The San Diego Children's Choir was a large part of my life for 10 years.

From the ages 8-18, I went to weekly rehearsals, performed concerts all over San Diego...and got to travel the world! Because of the choir, I got to visit Italy at the age of 12, France at 14 (during the World
Cup!!), Germany/Austria at 16, and England/Wales at 18.

Polly Campbell was an amazing lady and I'm so happy she founded the choir... which let me have so many great experiences (and friends!)

It is because of SDCC that I went on to join the UC Women's Chorale and subsequently the Alumni Chorus at UC Berkeley. This offered me great opportunities, not only travel, but also leadership positions, which in term influenced my career after undergrad.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This is my son's first year in the choir and he loves it! The opportunity to perform and travel as a group is wonderful. The quality of the children's voices and the adult instruction and leadership is impressive. I am sorry we did not know about the choir earlier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Our daughter has been singing with SDCC for over 5 years. One of the rewards for us is we get to hear her break into spontaneous singing in the car from time to time. She has also made many friends with other choristers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My son has enjoyed his experience with the choir immensely. When I say "Let's practice your music," he jumps at the chance. I love the choir leader's approach to learning, using games and fun techniques. The kids learn the pieces quickly and correctly with ease. As a singer in an adult choir myself, I think I'd rather use games to learn my music, because memorization is getting harder and harder as I age. Valerie S.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My son has been in SDCC for five years. He has grown from needing an "end of semester reward" to full engagement and enjoyment. He's got great memories of singing at the Nutcracker from the orchestra pit to performing at the Holiday Pops. He's met nice friends and enjoys the excellent calibre instruction.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I sang in the Choir for many years and it was a fabulous experience! Not only did I learn about music and singing, but I made wonderful friends and great memories.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

This choir has been integral to my son's development. He has gained confidence and skills that go well beyond singing. But, yes, the singing has been beautiful and brought me to tears many times. I love the San Diego Children's Choir!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been very fortunate to hear these young people sing and see them perform. You can't help but feel good and warm to hear them. They are truly gifted.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Both of our children were in the Choir for a number of years. It instilled both confidence and a love of music that has stuck with them and will for the rest of their lives. Our daughter now plays in the school band and plays the piano at home. Our son plays guitar and piano and sings in his high school honor choir. He was also selected to sing in the California All State High School Honor Choir. Both children have very high grades and we believe one of the reasons is their stronger connection to the school through music. Due to budget cuts the music programs in our schools have been cut severely. The Children's Choir helps fill that void and we believe is a great investment in your children's education and development and is well worth the cost and effort.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2010

more

September 16, 2010

I joined the San Diego Childrens Choir when I was in third grade, and I loved it so much that I stuck with it until I graduated high school 10 years later. The choir was a great experience for me, I learned how to sing, but also how to blend with others, how to shape the tone of my voice, how to sing multiple part harmony (up to 6 or 8 voice parts in some songs!) and how to act professional while performing. While in the choir I had the opportunity to travel as well. In the youngest choir there were several weekend tours to places such as Los Angeles or other near by cities, which allowed us youngsters to learn proper tour behavior before moving up to the Concert choir. Concert and Youth choir get to travel to much further places, and often times the choirs travel together, which allows the younger Concert Choir to look up to the older Youth Choir as role models. I was lucky enough to travel to Oregon, Germany/Austria, Italy and Australia during my time in the choir. All of these tours allowed me to experience different places, cultures, foods, and sing songs from the area. I have hundreds of cherished memories from choir tours, and anyone who has ever gone on one will tell you how much they loved the experience. Many of my good friends that I am still in contact with today were friends I made while in the choir, and traveled with while on tour. I cant say enough good things about the San Diego Childrens Choir, the music is excellent, and the conductors are always well prepared and have music suited to the level they are conducting. The office staff are hard working and friendly. The opportunities to perform are excellent and include a winter concert and a spring concert each year, and also chances to carol during the winder season, performances with the San Diego Symphony, performances in Copley Hall downtown, and many more! I loved every rehearsal and looked forward to every performance that we had. I was very sad to leave the choir when I graduated from high school, but was extremely happy to hear that an alumni choir was starting up.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Prep Choir, Concert Choir, Youth Choir, Alumni Choir

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The singing! I have cultivated such a love of music and I attribute most of this to my involvement in SDCC. I have made lifelong friends while in choir, and have had the opportunity to travel and learn about other cultures.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

All the staff and volunteers are there because they love the organization. Most of the volunteers are parents of choristers, and all are happy, friendly, well informed and professional.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Provide more opportunities for low income families. They have started community choirs for children in low income neighborhoods at greatly reduced fees (free even!)to give as many kids as possible the chance to sing. More money would help increase grow.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers