Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

The San Diego Children's Choir was a large part of my life for 10 years.

From the ages 8-18, I went to weekly rehearsals, performed concerts all over San Diego...and got to travel the world! Because of the choir, I got to visit Italy at the age of 12, France at 14 (during the World
Cup!!), Germany/Austria at 16, and England/Wales at 18.

Polly Campbell was an amazing lady and I'm so happy she founded the choir... which let me have so many great experiences (and friends!)

It is because of SDCC that I went on to join the UC Women's Chorale and subsequently the Alumni Chorus at UC Berkeley. This offered me great opportunities, not only travel, but also leadership positions, which in term influenced my career after undergrad.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This is a wonderful organization that reaches out to every corner of San Diego County to bring music education to children where their schools often fall short. The Neighborhood Choir Program especially is a beacon of hope for children in underprivileged areas that do not have the money or the opportunity to participate in any performance art and gives them a healthy and enriching extra-curricular activity.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

This is my son's first year in the choir and he loves it! The opportunity to perform and travel as a group is wonderful. The quality of the children's voices and the adult instruction and leadership is impressive. I am sorry we did not know about the choir earlier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Our daughter has been singing with SDCC for over 5 years. One of the rewards for us is we get to hear her break into spontaneous singing in the car from time to time. She has also made many friends with other choristers!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

My daughter spent 10 years singing with SDCC and I served as a parent volunteer and on the Board of Directors as I so appreciate all the the choir has done for my daughter. Not only did she develop a beautiful voice, gained knowledge of choral music and music theory, she served our community. SDCC was involved in some fabulous community service opportunites. My daughter traveled with the choir, making joyful music all over the world. She made wonderful friends and learned the value of community service. We will forever have a special place in out hearts for SDCC and beautiful memories to last a lifetime. I will forever be grateful for the opportunites SDCC gave to my daughter!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I had the privilege of being a parent volunteer, Board Member and now an Advisor after my daughter spent 10 years in the SDCC. It was the most rewarding experience to watch the children grow in their confidence and maturity as they developed their voices and ability to perform for the community. I encourage families to get involved so that others may benefit from the education and friendships that will last a lifetime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My son has enjoyed his experience with the choir immensely. When I say "Let's practice your music," he jumps at the chance. I love the choir leader's approach to learning, using games and fun techniques. The kids learn the pieces quickly and correctly with ease. As a singer in an adult choir myself, I think I'd rather use games to learn my music, because memorization is getting harder and harder as I age. Valerie S.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

This is an outstanding organization for our San Diego children. Participating students get a unique and high quality musical experience provided by experts intheir fields. Every concert is extraordinary and never disappoints. It is too bad all of our students cannot take part in the valuable experience. Students who areinvolved in music over a period of time out rank their non-music peers academically, socially, civically and emotionally. This fabulous organization is filling a need that no other organization can provide. Thank you SDCC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My son has been in SDCC for five years. He has grown from needing an "end of semester reward" to full engagement and enjoyment. He's got great memories of singing at the Nutcracker from the orchestra pit to performing at the Holiday Pops. He's met nice friends and enjoys the excellent calibre instruction.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

A wonderful experience working with the Choir for the Tsunami Relief Efforts for the Red Cross at the Japanese Friendship Gardens. Beautiful music for a beautiful cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers