Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

About the time I was to finish High School my mother began to experience a change. In the begining, the symptoms were slight and benign. Interests she had never previously expressed began to consume her everyday life. For example, she began running daily. First one mile, then five, then up to ten miles a day. Initially this appeared to be within the bounds of normal and even beneficial. But then the doctors appointments started. Her cholesterol and blood pressure were off the charts. This from a person in prime physical condition? Soon afterwards the mental confusion began. She started to have difficulty remembering small things and then this escalated to a level which impacted not only her career but her family life as well. After nearly a year of bouncing from one doctor to another she was diagnosed with a nonmalignant brain tumor. Surgery was scheduled within the week and she was told that the tumor had been growing for the past 7 years.

Fortunately for my mother and our family she made a full recovery. Nonetheless the following months were very difficult for her. Her medical care was outstanding but there were no organizations in the area that offered support like the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation. She had no opportunity to attend support groups, no outlet for the fear and concern she had revolving her brain tumor. An opportunity like this would have allowed her to meet other people who had survived and moved on from this kind of experience. Unfortunately, we had to manage without such a resource following her diagnosis.

Years later, I moved to San Diego. I learned about SDBIF from a friend who was going to be a guest speaker. I attended a support group, introduced myself and began volunteering as a guest speaker on legal issues surrounding brain injury. In time I became more involved with the organization and I currently sit on the board of directors. I have felt the personal impact that brain injury can have on a family and I have seen first had how SDBIF has provided support to the brain injured community of San Diego. They provide a service that no hospital offers with a personal touch that can be extended only by those who have first had experience with brain injury. SDBIF is a great asset to this community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am currently a Board Member for the SD Brain Injury Foundation, but as a speech pathologist and professor in a local Acquired Brain Injury Program for over 25 years, I have sent my students to them for resources and referrals for years. The SDBIF provides an invaluable service to our BI community in a number of ways--offering educational monthly meetings and support groups, disseminating written information about BI, supporting a residential home, Howard House, and most importantly, acting a lighthouse to guide survivors and their families through the fog that accompanies brain injury. I am most excited by the fact that SDBIF took the lead, five years ago, to host a Walk for brain injury awareness here in San Diego! This was a HUGE undertaking and just further demonstrates the commitment of the Foundation to BI survivors in helping them become effective advocates and educators about this "silent epidemic."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I heard about San Diego Brain Injury Foundation while in a vocational rehabilitation master's program, and I am so glad I did. I started as a volunteer, and transitioned into a role as an intern and now as a board member. It is one of the few organizations out there that has survivors of brain injuries that have vital roles and responsibilities laced through every layer of its infrastructure. It empowers survivors to lead support groups, and meetings, as well as large community events. I have never seen so many people that were so inspiring, motivated and positive. SDBIF allows survivors to give and receive support to and from one another. Survivors are encouraged here to set any goal, and teammates collaborate with them to make a plan to achieve those goals. I grew up with family members who had brain injuries as children and later in life as adults. If an organization like this was in their local communities, things could have played out differently. Also, from a non-survivor perspective, I've had the opportunity to create employment and educational plans with survivors, and really work with them as teammates to help them reach their goals. No other organization in the area provides this level of interaction between board members, survivors, family members, and interns as a whole. Being a part of the SDBIF has changed my life and will do so for years to come. I am forever in debt for this great opportunity to grow, learn, and be inspired by people who have overcome obstacles that seemed impossible at times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I believe the foundation has not only provided support for survivors, their families, and the community, through support groups and fund raising events that keep the foundation helping those who are dealing with such pivotal moment in their life when traumatic brain injury strikes. The San Diego Brain Injury Foundation brings hope to those on the journey to recovery and demonstrates that there’s a ray of hope as survivors, family members, and friends travel the journey to recovery. I’m proud to serve as a board member and help the foundation provide a ray of hope one survivor at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Almost 11 years ago my son was in a near fatal auto accident, he survived with having a Severe Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). I became involved with the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation before my son was released from the hospital by attending their Saturday support meetings. I found that I was not alone. When James came home from the hospital 10 months post coma and 15 months after his accident I began attending the meetings with him. I became a board member because I wanted to help make a difference in the lives of so many who have a family member with a brain injury. This organization helps give support and resources to families to help them cope with their newly changed lives and everyday living. From this organization I formed my own non-profit to work alongside and help get the word out about Traumatic Brain Injuries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I have a son 9 years post traumatic brain injury and because of him I began attending the monthly support groups in San Diego. They supported me during some tough months and then 4 years ago I became a board member. There are 11,000 survivors and family members in San Diego County alone and every 23 seconds nationwide another person will acquire a traumatic brain injury. Because of their support in the county many families have received resources that have helped them through their family needs. Thank you San Diego Brain Injury for what you do to help the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am the chairperson for the annual walk in March. I personally experience the faces of the people who have TBI and their families who are thrilled with the recognition they are receiving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not do a thing to the structure just get more people involved to build a strong board.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at our Saturday support group meetings or volunteer to help with our mailings.