Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have been involved with the San Diego brain injury foundation since its inception three decades ago. This organization has grown from a fledgling grassroots group of brain injury survivor, family members and interested professionals. Through many years of struggling to survive and to support the many and varied needs of the brain injury community in San Diego, this organization has grown into a fine example of what many larger more well funded foundations could only hope to be. No need for guidance, assistance, or resources is too small for this foundation to try to accommodate for the hundreds of its members and the community at large. They serve as a clearinghouse and information source for educational materials and professional referrals and day-to-day pragmatic needs that otherwise would have gone unmet for survivors of brain injuries and their families. They keep the community informed about political and legislative issues that affect the brain injured community and work tirelessly to influencethe decision-making bodies involved. Theythey treat the constituents they serveas a family and everyone is on a first name basis. They are very resourceful in their fundraising efforts and have a large supportive impact with small means. They can be credited for bettering the lives of hundreds of brain injury survivors in the San Diego region with their individualized and compassionate delivery of resources. I am never hesitant to refer consumers, patients, professionals, families and caregivers to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the sister of a brain injury survivor, I was very excited to work with SDBIF as an intern. When I finished my internship, I was invited to serve as a member of the Board of Directors. It was a very rewarding experience. This organization is an absolutely vital resource for survivors and their families. The support and education they provide is outstanding. Speaking with survivors and their families you get a sense of how helpful SDBIF has been in getting them through the morass of information out their about brain injury. For the survivors, being able to get together socially and learn about each other is a way for them to know that they are not alone. Top notch staff and volunteers!
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a parent of a brain injury survivor and professional in the field (Speech Pathology) I am on a constant quest for resources. I joined SDBIF based on my observations that its volunteers serve unconditionally; and that the board serves in the same manner. I am grateful that we all work from the premise that quality of life is paramount for those we serve; and that direction to the appropriate resources can be life changing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2011

more

June 24, 2011

As a postsecondary institution serving many individuals with acquired brain injuries, I cannot ask for a more supportive partner in providing success oportunities for the people we serve!
SDBIF is an ever present agancy for our Advisory Committee, a visible program for support of students on
our campus and a fantastic group of individuals that enjoy fund raising along with other activities to support quality of life for persons with ABI.
They are friendly, positive and sincere in their support and area resource for us as I am sure we are for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have 100's of persons referred to our program for persons with Acquired Brain Injury and most are from SDBIF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish them more funds and more ability to provide outreach in this needy area

June 23, 2011

more

June 23, 2011

I've been aware of the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation for over 30 years. And I've been grateful for the generous support that their committed staff and members have provided to my patients and their families. The organization has played a significant role in helping my patients and their families cope with their disabilities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm impressed with the informal mentoring and sharing of resources that my patients and their families have received.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see a formal mentoring program established.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

I love the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation. They provide monthly support group meeting for persons who have suffered from any type of brain injury. I consider them to be the most important referral I give to my patients and their family members. My patients not only make friends and have a sense of community but families exchange information and support each other. The have specialized groups including a couples group which is also a vital service. There are very few resources for people with brain injuy and I am so glad we have this valuable foundation in San Diego. People with brain injury often recieve only brief treatment and would be lost without the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation which provides so much information and support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have attended the meetings and fundraisers. I have referred clients to this group and have had their feedback that it was very helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer a talk therapy support group

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at our Saturday support group meetings or volunteer to help with our mailings.