Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I heard about San Diego Brain Injury Foundation while in a vocational rehabilitation master's program, and I am so glad I did. I started as a volunteer, and transitioned into a role as an intern and n... more

September 7, 2014

I love volunteering with Sdbif! I get to work with survivors who are beyond inspirational :)
November 7, 2012

I heard about San Diego Brain Injury Foundation while in a vocational rehabilitation master's program, and I am so glad I did. I started as a volunteer, and transitioned into a role as an intern and now as a board member. It is one of the few organizations out there that has survivors of brain injuries that have vital roles and responsibilities laced through every layer of its infrastructure. It empowers survivors to lead support groups, and meetings, as well as large community events. I have never seen so many people that were so inspiring, motivated and positive. SDBIF allows survivors to give and receive support to and from one another. Survivors are encouraged here to set any goal, and teammates collaborate with them to make a plan to achieve those goals. I grew up with family members who had brain injuries as children and later in life as adults. If an organization like this was in their local communities, things could have played out differently. Also, from a non-survivor perspective, I've had the opportunity to create employment and educational plans with survivors, and really work with them as teammates to help them reach their goals. No other organization in the area provides this level of interaction between board members, survivors, family members, and interns as a whole. Being a part of the SDBIF has changed my life and will do so for years to come. I am forever in debt for this great opportunity to grow, learn, and be inspired by people who have overcome obstacles that seemed impossible at times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SDBIF has been instrumental in helping our family through the maze of information and disinformation about my son's brain injury. Without their guidance at a critical time in our lives, I doubt that our outcome would be nearly as positive as it has been. Their monthly meetings are so helpful for both survivors and their families/careproviders that it is hard to miss one.

SDBIF is a wealth of knowledge about resources, activities, educational opportunities, and counseling. Recently a friend of mine also suffered a brain injury of a very different type than my son's injury. I knew immediately how to get her involved with SDBIF and their adjunct services. She has told me how grateful she is for the outreach and support they provide.

This is a unique organization that is extremely well run by very compassionate people who have immediate knowledge about brain injury - not just a bunch of goody-two-shoes college graduates with no experience.

If you ever need anything related to acquired brain injury in the San Diego area - this is THE place!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I do not know what I would have done without the resources SDBIF have provided me and some of my BI friends! Life really changed for me after my head injury, no one seem to get me or I them. I received very little support or compassion after the injury, I felt so alone and confused. I attend a brain injury recovery center who recommended SDBIF to learn more about how to cope with my BI and meet others like me. SDBIF welcome me in like an old friend, I felt part of the family right off. The staff were helpful in finding resources, the monthly meeting provided me with much needed insights and the opportunity to meet others like me. SBIF gave me a place where I felt I belong and a home. I will forever grateful for the all the resources that were provided as well as the love and kindness I received from the staff.

With gratitude forever,

Martha Torkington

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have been volunteering with the San Diego rain Injury Foundation for over 10 years. Recently, I have been helping them with the marketing and promotions of their fundraising events. It is amazing how far they have come in these 14 years...and it is even more incredible how, this year especially, they have provided support, resources and a great community environment for the Brain Injured community. Their recent surviveHEADSTRONG - Walk for Recovery was more successful than ever before and has opened new doors to serve the community and they are ready to go! Great job SDBIF! I am proud to be working with you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

About the time I was to finish High School my mother began to experience a change. In the begining, the symptoms were slight and benign. Interests she had never previously expressed began to consume her everyday life. For example, she began running daily. First one mile, then five, then up to ten miles a day. Initially this appeared to be within the bounds of normal and even beneficial. But then the doctors appointments started. Her cholesterol and blood pressure were off the charts. This from a person in prime physical condition? Soon afterwards the mental confusion began. She started to have difficulty remembering small things and then this escalated to a level which impacted not only her career but her family life as well. After nearly a year of bouncing from one doctor to another she was diagnosed with a nonmalignant brain tumor. Surgery was scheduled within the week and she was told that the tumor had been growing for the past 7 years.

Fortunately for my mother and our family she made a full recovery. Nonetheless the following months were very difficult for her. Her medical care was outstanding but there were no organizations in the area that offered support like the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation. She had no opportunity to attend support groups, no outlet for the fear and concern she had revolving her brain tumor. An opportunity like this would have allowed her to meet other people who had survived and moved on from this kind of experience. Unfortunately, we had to manage without such a resource following her diagnosis.

Years later, I moved to San Diego. I learned about SDBIF from a friend who was going to be a guest speaker. I attended a support group, introduced myself and began volunteering as a guest speaker on legal issues surrounding brain injury. In time I became more involved with the organization and I currently sit on the board of directors. I have felt the personal impact that brain injury can have on a family and I have seen first had how SDBIF has provided support to the brain injured community of San Diego. They provide a service that no hospital offers with a personal touch that can be extended only by those who have first had experience with brain injury. SDBIF is a great asset to this community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

As a parent of a brain injury survivor and professional in the field (Speech Pathology) I am on a constant quest for resources. I joined SDBIF based on my observations that its volunteers serve unconditionally; and that the board serves in the same manner. I am grateful that we all work from the premise that quality of life is paramount for those we serve; and that direction to the appropriate resources can be life changing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I believe the foundation has not only provided support for survivors, their families, and the community, through support groups and fund raising events that keep the foundation helping those who are dealing with such pivotal moment in their life when traumatic brain injury strikes. The San Diego Brain Injury Foundation brings hope to those on the journey to recovery and demonstrates that there’s a ray of hope as survivors, family members, and friends travel the journey to recovery. I’m proud to serve as a board member and help the foundation provide a ray of hope one survivor at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Almost 11 years ago my son was in a near fatal auto accident, he survived with having a Severe Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). I became involved with the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation before my son was released from the hospital by attending their Saturday support meetings. I found that I was not alone. When James came home from the hospital 10 months post coma and 15 months after his accident I began attending the meetings with him. I became a board member because I wanted to help make a difference in the lives of so many who have a family member with a brain injury. This organization helps give support and resources to families to help them cope with their newly changed lives and everyday living. From this organization I formed my own non-profit to work alongside and help get the word out about Traumatic Brain Injuries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I have a son 9 years post traumatic brain injury and because of him I began attending the monthly support groups in San Diego. They supported me during some tough months and then 4 years ago I became a board member. There are 11,000 survivors and family members in San Diego County alone and every 23 seconds nationwide another person will acquire a traumatic brain injury. Because of their support in the county many families have received resources that have helped them through their family needs. Thank you San Diego Brain Injury for what you do to help the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am the chairperson for the annual walk in March. I personally experience the faces of the people who have TBI and their families who are thrilled with the recognition they are receiving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not do a thing to the structure just get more people involved to build a strong board.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

SDBIF is the only non-profit agency that provides support services to brain injury survivors after release from the hospital and/or rehabilitation centers. SDBIF provides survivors with information about community resources, organizes support groups and collaborates with the San Diego Community College for classes focused on managing the challenges of their new life.
The organization keeps records and statistics of all assistance provided to brain injury survivors. Each survivor's success is celebrated.


ach survivors success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

During the 15 years at SDBIF as a volunteer, donor and board member, I have witnessed success for those who've suffered from brain injuries. Through SDBIF programs such as Howard House and survivor/family education and support groups, I have seen many clients whose quality of life was greatly enhanced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Although the SDBIF is run very efficiently at present, it experiences the challenges that every organization undergoes during its growth. I think I'd personally run it with the further efficiency of a business, while keeping the heart of a non-profit.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at our Saturday support group meetings or volunteer to help with our mailings.