Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been involved with SDBIF as a professional in the field of brain injury rehabilitation off and on for the past 23 years and I have watched it evolve into a spectacular organization that I am proud to be affiliated with. To paraphrase a famous quote, never have so few done so much for so many with so little. No need of a survivor or family is too little to be addressed in a personal and cutomized manner. I consistently refer my patients and families to these good people.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have been involved with the San Diego brain injury foundation since its inception three decades ago. This organization has grown from a fledgling grassroots group of brain injury survivor, family members and interested professionals. Through many years of struggling to survive and to support the many and varied needs of the brain injury community in San Diego, this organization has grown into a fine example of what many larger more well funded foundations could only hope to be. No need for guidance, assistance, or resources is too small for this foundation to try to accommodate for the hundreds of its members and the community at large. They serve as a clearinghouse and information source for educational materials and professional referrals and day-to-day pragmatic needs that otherwise would have gone unmet for survivors of brain injuries and their families. They keep the community informed about political and legislative issues that affect the brain injured community and work tirelessly to influencethe decision-making bodies involved. Theythey treat the constituents they serveas a family and everyone is on a first name basis. They are very resourceful in their fundraising efforts and have a large supportive impact with small means. They can be credited for bettering the lives of hundreds of brain injury survivors in the San Diego region with their individualized and compassionate delivery of resources. I am never hesitant to refer consumers, patients, professionals, families and caregivers to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have been involved with the SDBIF for about 12 years now, and have served as past president. I have had a TBI myself, and got into wanting to help the brain-injured and their families when I saw what brain surgery did to my brother-in-law and his family. Every aspect of one's life is affected by a BI, and it takes a lot of different types of help and interventions, and a lot of love, patience and understanding to help heal the individual and their loved ones. The people I have worked with, who are also passionate about improving the quality of life for this population, are some of the finest people I have ever encountered. The board members alone donate over 1.000 hrs. each year. Other survivors and friends put in many other hundreds of hours to reach out, educate, refer, and provide needed services where we are able. Every penny goes towards our mission, and people see our results, and want to come alongside and help, and most also donate to the cause. What a group!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more people who are passionate, so we could reach more survivors

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I am currently a Board Member for the SD Brain Injury Foundation, but as a speech pathologist and professor in a local Acquired Brain Injury Program for over 25 years, I have sent my students to the... more

October 22, 2014

In my three years on the Board, I never cease to be amazed at the dedication of those who volunteer and run the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation. The focus is always on improving education, advocacy, and support for our brain injury community. The SDBIF is intimately connected with local agencies, caregivers, and the survivors themselves and offers a wealth of resources and events to reduce the sense of isolation and confusion that often accompanies brain injury. I am happy to be a part of these efforts!
November 13, 2012

I am currently a Board Member for the SD Brain Injury Foundation, but as a speech pathologist and professor in a local Acquired Brain Injury Program for over 25 years, I have sent my students to them for resources and referrals for years. The SDBIF provides an invaluable service to our BI community in a number of ways--offering educational monthly meetings and support groups, disseminating written information about BI, supporting a residential home, Howard House, and most importantly, acting a lighthouse to guide survivors and their families through the fog that accompanies brain injury. I am most excited by the fact that SDBIF took the lead, five years ago, to host a Walk for brain injury awareness here in San Diego! This was a HUGE undertaking and just further demonstrates the commitment of the Foundation to BI survivors in helping them become effective advocates and educators about this "silent epidemic."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

San Diego Brain Injury Foundation has been serving as a resource and support system for children, adolescents and adults with brain injury in the San Diego community for over 30 years. The Officers and Board Members are committed to making sure that every individual with a brain injury and their family have access to the support and assistance that they need and desire. It a a community of love, care, and dedication. San Diego is fortunate to have such an organization and I am blessed to be part of this community.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

I survived a brain injury in 2003. I wish I would have known about this foundation. As a graduate intern, I have been fortunate to learn all that SDBIF does. The support they have provided so many people is amazing. I was asked to be a board member in June. I love the support they provide to the family members and the social support they give to the survivors. I have learned so much about myself working with the SDBIF.
Heather Berner
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

When I sustained my TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) 6 years ago, I felt very alone. I lost my sense of smell and taste as a result. People that you once thought were your friends didn't understand the changes sustained from the injury. This became an eye opener as who your real friends are/were. Your whole person changes as a result of the injury. People don't understand the situation because TBI is an unseen injury; therefore you're fine in their eyes. Not so. My dad didn't believe In my injury all the way to the time he died 4 years ago. The people at the San Diego Brain Injury Foundation have been my emotional support and don't know what I would've done if I didn't have them. With them, I hope that one day people will not judge and/or discriminate against people with the unseen injury, TBI.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

Their work in the brain injured community is unparralleled. What they have achieved and the number of people they have helped is incredible. I am proud to help support their projects and programs and hope others will join our cause!
October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the sister of a brain injury survivor, I was very excited to work with SDBIF as an intern. When I finished my internship, I was invited to serve as a member of the Board of Directors. It was a very rewarding experience. This organization is an absolutely vital resource for survivors and their families. The support and education they provide is outstanding. Speaking with survivors and their families you get a sense of how helpful SDBIF has been in getting them through the morass of information out their about brain injury. For the survivors, being able to get together socially and learn about each other is a way for them to know that they are not alone. Top notch staff and volunteers!
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I ended up doing one of my internships at SDBIF. Never have I seen so few accomplish so much for so many on so little resources. I can only imagine how much more dynamic and influential in helping those with brain injuries,myself included, this organization could be if they had additional funding.The 'F' signifying foundation should be changed to 'Family'- as this organization helps us all to feel this way, during very trying times that can last for years

With great respect,
Michael Murphy
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help at our Saturday support group meetings or volunteer to help with our mailings.