Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.055565
Write A Review
January 13, 2013

more

January 13, 2013

My Mother recently passed and had three birds she loved dearly for more then ten years. I had no idea to do with them, so when I arrived in San Diego I called her Avian Vet. He suggested SD Bird Rescue. I called and spoke to someone for about 20 minutes then made an apt to go see the facility. Once there my heart was lifted with delight by seeing all the birds either flying or jsut hanging out. They have the run of the shop there. I knew my Mothers birds would be at home here. I checked back with them a few weeks later and they seem to be very happy. I'd just like to say thank you for making a very difficult exp. much easier for me and our family. Kudos to the gang there!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

My mother recently passed away. She had 8 birds. After hearing about the SD Rescue from the Avian Doctor, we called them. I live in Wisconsin so didn't know where to turn. With all the funeral arrangements, and house stuff to do, the SD Bird Rescue was a Godsend! They were so nice and made the entire process extremely simple and really came thru for me. They made an apt, came over talked to me about the options I had and I decided to surrender the birds to them. They even made some phone calls and new of another group that could use the outside avairy and misc bird stuff/ In short, I cannot say enough about this guys, they made a tragic situation mych easier for me. For that, I am truly greatful and they will always have my support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I'm an Active Duty Navy and received orders for deployment. After visiting a few rescues and speaking to people. I decided on SDBR. I am extremely greatful to them, they made the transition so much easier. I get updates on my bird monthly and kept informed. They even suggested I get my bird back when I return if I choose. My little buddy means the world to me, and its good to know I have that option when I return. Outstanding group at SDBR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDBR is an incredible organization. They have an impeccably clean facility, serviced by a wonderful and educated staff. Their work with the community to educate on birds is great. Unfortunately, I had to find my family member a new family. Greg mad this experience a bit less painful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Had to relocate for my job, and had to give up my pet of several years. Broke my heart, but I had no choice at that time. A friend told me about SD Bird Rescue. Talked to them for sometime on the phone then decided they were knowledgeable, friendly and professional. I scheduled the appt for them to come to my home, and pick up my baby. They arrived and despite the tears I had to part with my loved one, they made it smooth, easier and I was relieved to know my bird was going to a good home. They informed me my bird was adopted within two months, and sent me updates on how she is doing. Great orginization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My parents who are in their mid 80's had two birds for more then 40 years. They could no longer care for them and wanted to find good homes for them. This was very hard for Mom since these were her babies. We checked out at least 8-10 Rescues and Sanctuaries. One lady we felt comfortable with asked for a $3,000 donation to cover health and food for the birds for life! We continued looking, and our Avian Vet suggested San Diego Bird Rescue. I called them for my Mom and spoke to them on two ocassions. I spoke with Sylvia first who runs the orginization. We spoke for about 15 mins then she asked me to speak to Greg on of the trainers and hands on people. We spoke with him for about 40 mins and my Mom was comfortable enough to merit a ride to their facility. We go there and most of the birds were out of their cages, on perches or walking the "jungle floor". My Mom began to cry with joy knowing this was "home" for her two babies. The birds were super friendly and we pet, cuddled and hung out with them for more then an hour. We still get monthly updates how they are doing and are more then welcomed to go and visit them if we like. All I can say is well done! We need more folks like you guys out there to be around for the unwanted birds. I will be spreading the word of the excellent job you guys do. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. My parents are at ease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers