Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.055565
Write A Review
January 24, 2013

more

January 24, 2013

Long story short I was a volunteer there until I moved out of state and also adopted my bird from there. Those guys are great. The birds are treated better then people! Best foods, medical care and at the time they would get oatmeal and fresh fruit every morning.

Bravo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

This place is wonderful. They run 100% with their donations that they get from the public. Comparing to breeders prices its really cheap. But it's a long process because they want to make sure that the home is good since the last home of the birds wasn't so good they want to make sure that the bird doesn't go to a bad home again. They change the food and water every single day. If any volunteer try's or does hurt a bird they automatically get kicked out and doesn't get to come back because the birds were already abuse/neglected. They have a facility and they also clean there everyday. They clean the bird cages all the time. All the volunteers love the birds. They are birds so they can bite people(mostly volunteers)but the volunteers still love the birds. The main people(Greg, Kerstin, and Fox ) train the volunteers. They get birds and sometimes the best volunteers ( best to train birds ) train the birds how to be more socialized.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Greg Galloway also known as Greg Williams runs this place and makes himself known as the master trainer. He does suck into the good feelings from people who love birds, he manipulates parents into getting their kids into volunteering..leaves the kids ALONE at the Balboa Park place EVERY SINGLE TIME they are there, but Greg Galloway is very good in collecting the money all the VOLUNTEERS get for him. He is a LIAR and scammer. He sends emails asking for people to donate money for some surgery or vet care for some birds that need the care in that moment, COLLECTS MORE than HE actually NEEDS and keeps most of the money to himself. Then he gets reminding calls from the people he owes asking him to PAY...what does he do with the money? he is a smooth talker and will talk to he anyone who will belive in him. He also will suck in children, of SINGLE mothers, into volunteering, so he can then have a good time with their mothers while their children are volunteering, that way he IS MAKING MONEY WHILE HAVING a good time!! BEWARE! he accused a mother of stalking him after he had his fun and kicked her child out of the rescue. This group is NOT NON-PROFIT, Greg M. Galloway charges people who surrender their birds to him. he pretends to ask them for a donation. And many birds need special care he does not provide. He does NOTHING to care for these birds, he has ALL of the VOLUNTEERS clean and feed the birds, and the mothers he is screwing around help with some of the bills at the wearhouse where he keeps the birds all the time. the birds are kept in the dark till late in the day when he finally arrives to take some of them to the park, leaving the most needed behind. Some volunteers can not even take a break from volunteering because he is not there to supervise, and they work their butts off for 4 to 6 hours each time!! He has no respect for anyone or anything, uses this "non-profit"organization to get money for himself and sex for free, everyone should be ware of this user, caniving, manipulative, lier..parents out there, do not allow your children to volunteer, and parents do not donate money to this lier..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at the SDBR for nine months, and they are without a doubt, the best rescue I've seen. Besides caring for their birds, they also go above and beyond the call of duty to help their volunteers with what they can. Volunteering with the rescue and being out, talking with the public on bird care and parrot companionship, has really helped me in my personal life, and I will never forget their compassion for both animal and humankind alike. If you ever want to adopt, volunteer, or donate, you should consider this rescue your first choice!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

San Diego Bird Rescue is NOT a non-profit. They DO NOT rescue anything! They take donations based on the name of their business, as most believe RESCUE = non profit help organization. Only one being helped or rescued is Greg M. Galloway & Maria Nagyova, along with a few pretend volunteers. The website for SDBR is a .com, not a .org. The website is brief and upon contacting them you will find very few similarities to REAL RESCUES. BEWARE! DO NOT GIVE MONEY TO THIS BUSINESS, AS IT DOES NOTHING RELATIVE TO BIRDS, EXCEPT ABUSE, USE & NEGLECT. ************* GREG M. GALLOWAY BY AND THRU SAN DIEGO BIRD RESCUE IS NOTHING BUT A SMOOTH TALKING FRAUDSTER WHO HAS BEEN DOING THIS FOR 8+ YEARS. GREG LIKES FOR CHILDREN TO VOLUNTEER TOO, SO WATCH OUT MOMMY'S & DADDY'S HE WILL SUCK YOU & YOUR KIDS INTO HIS GAME OF DECEIT. I KNOW SPECIFICALLY OF SEVERAL, 2 SISTERS APPROX 10 YRS OLD & 1 BOY (same approx age) USED TO GET PARENTS UP TO THE SPOT THEY MAINTAIN IN BALBOA PARK. JUST ANOTHER WAY TO DRAW IN MORE CASH.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

PLEASE NOTE ANSWERS ABOVE WERE NOT ALL ANSWERED NEGITIVLEY FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: 1. they used me to get donations, all my volunteer time was spent getting money for them, so I was used wisely by them and answered OUITE WELL. 2. as for the impact question I answered LIFE CHANGING, as I truly have been changed forever. Instead of this experience being a total negitive, I am doing my best to turn it into a positive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT THEM DOWN! This is NOT a non-profit, just a business posing as a RESCUE ORGANIZATION. Rescue means to come to the aid of....help out, assist & prevent damage/peril. If this company was actually RESCUING, instead of exploiting for self profit I would be so angry. Instead they are doing exactly the opposite of helping unwanted, neglected, and abused birds. SDBR is a money making scam that has fallen under the radar long enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

The supposed volunteers, namely Fox & Kirsten are aware of what is really going on inside SDBR. My best guess is that they are getting paid, and only pose like volunteers. Kirsten has has been seen at the place birds are kept, basically an empty office with numerous birds in cages. They pick up the Balboa Park birds in the morning and drop off at night. No one is there any other time of the day, 23 hours a day kept in cages. The few birds that are at the park at least get attention and exercise. The birds left behind get 1 hour (if that) of human contact a day. Food is not proper for these types of birds and bowls are never cleaned. Every bird in this building shows signs of extreme neglect and mental torment. Every bird in there has plucked their feathers to the point of baldness!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Taught me to never believe anyone again, will always verify before trusting some one again. Greg M. Galloway is nothing but an opportunist and animal abuser. He also claims to be a federal agent (DOJ) with the Drug Enforcement Agency. What a joke! He must work as a cop while he sleeps. Greg is nothing but a salesman who profits off people who are uninformed and unsuspecting.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I was taken advantage of like never before. Some one who sets out to defraud at an animals expense is the lowest form of human being I can think of. These birds are victims of a very cruel & cold hearted person. My experience has forever changed me & will seek to see good come of this by shutting SDBR down and hopefully seeing the persons involved prosecuted.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers