Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.055565
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I'm an Active Duty Navy and received orders for deployment. After visiting a few rescues and speaking to people. I decided on SDBR. I am extremely greatful to them, they made the transition so much easier. I get updates on my bird monthly and kept informed. They even suggested I get my bird back when I return if I choose. My little buddy means the world to me, and its good to know I have that option when I return. Outstanding group at SDBR!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I work in the Public sector and have seen many orginizations over the years. These folks are die hard animal lovers and do whatever it takes to make sure they are safe, healthy and very happy! A friend adopted a bird from there last year and has nothing but gawesome things to say about them. They offered classes, hands on time with the adopting family to ensure a great fit. Bravo!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SDBR is an incredible organization. They have an impeccably clean facility, serviced by a wonderful and educated staff. Their work with the community to educate on birds is great. Unfortunately, I had to find my family member a new family. Greg mad this experience a bit less painful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Had to relocate for my job, and had to give up my pet of several years. Broke my heart, but I had no choice at that time. A friend told me about SD Bird Rescue. Talked to them for sometime on the phone then decided they were knowledgeable, friendly and professional. I scheduled the appt for them to come to my home, and pick up my baby. They arrived and despite the tears I had to part with my loved one, they made it smooth, easier and I was relieved to know my bird was going to a good home. They informed me my bird was adopted within two months, and sent me updates on how she is doing. Great orginization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My parents who are in their mid 80's had two birds for more then 40 years. They could no longer care for them and wanted to find good homes for them. This was very hard for Mom since these were her babies. We checked out at least 8-10 Rescues and Sanctuaries. One lady we felt comfortable with asked for a $3,000 donation to cover health and food for the birds for life! We continued looking, and our Avian Vet suggested San Diego Bird Rescue. I called them for my Mom and spoke to them on two ocassions. I spoke with Sylvia first who runs the orginization. We spoke for about 15 mins then she asked me to speak to Greg on of the trainers and hands on people. We spoke with him for about 40 mins and my Mom was comfortable enough to merit a ride to their facility. We go there and most of the birds were out of their cages, on perches or walking the "jungle floor". My Mom began to cry with joy knowing this was "home" for her two babies. The birds were super friendly and we pet, cuddled and hung out with them for more then an hour. We still get monthly updates how they are doing and are more then welcomed to go and visit them if we like. All I can say is well done! We need more folks like you guys out there to be around for the unwanted birds. I will be spreading the word of the excellent job you guys do. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. My parents are at ease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at the SDBR for nine months, and they are without a doubt, the best rescue I've seen. Besides caring for their birds, they also go above and beyond the call of duty to help their volunteers with what they can. Volunteering with the rescue and being out, talking with the public on bird care and parrot companionship, has really helped me in my personal life, and I will never forget their compassion for both animal and humankind alike. If you ever want to adopt, volunteer, or donate, you should consider this rescue your first choice!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

San Diego Bird Rescue is NOT a non-profit. They DO NOT rescue anything! They take donations based on the name of their business, as most believe RESCUE = non profit help organization. Only one being helped or rescued is Greg M. Galloway & Maria Nagyova, along with a few pretend volunteers. The website for SDBR is a .com, not a .org. The website is brief and upon contacting them you will find very few similarities to REAL RESCUES. BEWARE! DO NOT GIVE MONEY TO THIS BUSINESS, AS IT DOES NOTHING RELATIVE TO BIRDS, EXCEPT ABUSE, USE & NEGLECT. ************* GREG M. GALLOWAY BY AND THRU SAN DIEGO BIRD RESCUE IS NOTHING BUT A SMOOTH TALKING FRAUDSTER WHO HAS BEEN DOING THIS FOR 8+ YEARS. GREG LIKES FOR CHILDREN TO VOLUNTEER TOO, SO WATCH OUT MOMMY'S & DADDY'S HE WILL SUCK YOU & YOUR KIDS INTO HIS GAME OF DECEIT. I KNOW SPECIFICALLY OF SEVERAL, 2 SISTERS APPROX 10 YRS OLD & 1 BOY (same approx age) USED TO GET PARENTS UP TO THE SPOT THEY MAINTAIN IN BALBOA PARK. JUST ANOTHER WAY TO DRAW IN MORE CASH.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

PLEASE NOTE ANSWERS ABOVE WERE NOT ALL ANSWERED NEGITIVLEY FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: 1. they used me to get donations, all my volunteer time was spent getting money for them, so I was used wisely by them and answered OUITE WELL. 2. as for the impact question I answered LIFE CHANGING, as I truly have been changed forever. Instead of this experience being a total negitive, I am doing my best to turn it into a positive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT THEM DOWN! This is NOT a non-profit, just a business posing as a RESCUE ORGANIZATION. Rescue means to come to the aid of....help out, assist & prevent damage/peril. If this company was actually RESCUING, instead of exploiting for self profit I would be so angry. Instead they are doing exactly the opposite of helping unwanted, neglected, and abused birds. SDBR is a money making scam that has fallen under the radar long enough.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

The supposed volunteers, namely Fox & Kirsten are aware of what is really going on inside SDBR. My best guess is that they are getting paid, and only pose like volunteers. Kirsten has has been seen at the place birds are kept, basically an empty office with numerous birds in cages. They pick up the Balboa Park birds in the morning and drop off at night. No one is there any other time of the day, 23 hours a day kept in cages. The few birds that are at the park at least get attention and exercise. The birds left behind get 1 hour (if that) of human contact a day. Food is not proper for these types of birds and bowls are never cleaned. Every bird in this building shows signs of extreme neglect and mental torment. Every bird in there has plucked their feathers to the point of baldness!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Taught me to never believe anyone again, will always verify before trusting some one again. Greg M. Galloway is nothing but an opportunist and animal abuser. He also claims to be a federal agent (DOJ) with the Drug Enforcement Agency. What a joke! He must work as a cop while he sleeps. Greg is nothing but a salesman who profits off people who are uninformed and unsuspecting.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I was taken advantage of like never before. Some one who sets out to defraud at an animals expense is the lowest form of human being I can think of. These birds are victims of a very cruel & cold hearted person. My experience has forever changed me & will seek to see good come of this by shutting SDBR down and hopefully seeing the persons involved prosecuted.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers