Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The San Diego Architectural Foundation fills a very important need for the residents and visitors to the San Diego region. Its programs engage the community and provide platforms for the public to become educated and express opinions about the area's built environment. The membership encompasses a diverse cross section of the interested public, built environment professionals, students, educators and businesses who provide services to built environment in San Diego. The Foundation's programs, such as "Orchids & Onions," has successfully created a public dialog about what's right and what's wrong about the projects being build in San Diego. The SDAF has become a viable and credible force to make San Diego and its surrounding communities a better place to live, work and visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The best part of SDAF for me is the incredible community it fosters. When I first became involved as a volunteer, I found the events (PechaKucha, O&O, Special Evening, to name a few) so inspiring and educational on so many levels. Involvement in our community is critical today - not just for networking and making connections, but for creating awareness of what goes on in San Diego AND fostering a sense of concern for it. We all can make an impact in the future of our city - but we have to CARE enough to do so. SDAF is a bright and diverse community of people who do and I love being a part of that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have sat on many BODS from AIASD to Habitat for Humanity SD. In my experience the SDAF organization is top notch and well managed by seasoned professionals. The programming is amazing, engaging and such a benefit to the community of San Diego. I would love to see the organization grow but that takes funding. Hopefully we will gather more support in 2013.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with SDAF for almost 6 years, initially as a volunteer and now a board member. My initial involvement was as a volunteer for Orchids & Onions, and this year I was a co-Chair with Pauly DeBartolo. Getting involved in SDAF either through a program or just by attending an event is a great way to get involved in the design community of San Diego, thorough a non-profit that is actually doing something and spreading the word about San Diego’s built environment. SDAF programs, offer a wide range of interests, from Pecha Kucha, to Orchids & Onions. SDAF is a great way to spread the word about Architecture & Design in San Diego.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The SDAF is a place for anyone who cares about the livability and quality of design of San Diego's built environment. I have been involved with SDAF since 2005 when I played a big role in re-inventing its signature program, Orchids & Onions, the annual public design awards program. Although it continues to receive criticism for calling out the bad, in addition to highlighting the good, SDAF believes that it is fundamental to our mission to educate and promote, to a wider public audience, the importance of excellence in our built environment. I am proud to be a part of this organization who does so much on a shoe string budget thanks to a devoted group of volunteers, a fearless Executive Director and committed board support. We get great feedback from a diverse cross section of the local population that our programs are an important part of the cultural life of San Diego. We hope to continue improving our programming and outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

2012 was my second year of involvement with the San Diego Architectural Foundation & what a year it's been! Being extremely hands-on as the Co -Chair (with rockstar Ivana Vinski) of the Orchids & Onions Awards Ceremony & Silent Auction, I had the opportunity to see first hand how SDAF reaches beyond the 'architectural' community to engage with with the 'San Diego' community to encourage education & awareness for our built environment. The widespread volunteer base (always well represented by some amazing New School of Architecture students & recent graduates) show a massive dedication to SDAF & make it possible to put on such programs to continue this dialogue. Even through economically challenging times, SDAF has been able to strengthened its outreach by hosting a public exhibit that continues the dialogue on San Diego's opportunities & biggest questions to enhance this great city. As an Australian who calls San Diego his home, I could not be prouder to be part of this team, & i look forward to being involved with the San Diego Architectural Foundation for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have lived in San Diego all of my life, am a practicing architect , and served on other boards in San Diego. SDAF is by far the most engaging and communicative organization when it comes to public awareness. The organizations primary mission is to educate and to inform the public about our built environment. It does this exceptionally well. The diversity of programs it sponsors caters to a broad range of interests. If you care at all about San Diego's quality of life, its rich heritage, the bay and embarcado, its fist rate universities, parks, museums, culture and entertainment, and hven't heard about SDAF, you need to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers