Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

WILDHAVEN WILDLIFE SANCTUARY REVIEW by Wildlife Specialist, Zack Heart

"As an Australian TV Personality, Wildlife Specialist and Species Conservationist, Zoo keeper and Trapper for over 20 years, and having worked with numerous wildlife facilities in both Australia and the USA, I had the
very good fortune of working with Diane & Roger and their animal-being residents in countless activities from wildlife care, wildlife education, Celebrity Speaker at their 2013 Gala Fundraiser, filming an endangered species TV and web series, plus a bunch of other things! I can sincerely say that I have not seen such endless dedication, devotion and care around the clock, 7 days a week, rain, hail, SNOW, or shine as Diane and Roger, and the volunteers provide for their magnificent species' individuals that call Wildhaven Wildlife Sanctuary home, as they are rehabilitated but sadly unreleasable for a number of reasons."

"The time, care, maintenance, COST... and responsibilities required to run a wildlife facility is simply incredible and something no individual should ever take lightly... Diane and Roger are exemplary role models and two of the most wonderful human beings that I have had the great pleasure of knowing, and I am very proud to call them my dear friends."

Sincerely,

Zack Heart
TV Personality,
Wildlife Specialist & Species Conservationist
info@zackheart.com
http://www.outbackzack.com
http://www.facebook.com/zackheart


October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

As a volunteer bear handler for 12 years at Wildhaven, I am also intricately involved in bear awareness on the mountain. On our tour the public will see our Animal Ambassadors that are indigenous to our mountains and receive education on how to co-exist and share habitat. Our resident animals are the heart of Wildhaven. "If we do not know them, we will not love them, if we do not love them, we will not protect them."
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I've had the some of the most wonderful experiences of my young life while volunteering at Wildhaven Ranch. Not only have I formed bonds with the beautiful animal that the ranch cares for, animals of every shape, size, and character, but the relationships I've made with other staff members, including the lovely owners of the ranch, have certainly changed my life. Wildhaven is an exciting place to be, and when I first arrived as a visitor in a tour group, I could feel the energy. For the last 3 years, I've enjoyed this same energy weekly, whether by feeding my 'boyfriends' Stubby and Bandit, the raccoons, or brushing my deer friend, Buckwheat, or simply enjoying the day with other volunteers. I thoroughly Wildhaven to any visitor, volunteer, or donor.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I had the pleasure of volunteering at the San Bernardino Wildlife Society back in 2013 and throughly enjoyed my experience. They provide a great atmosphere to grow and learn. It really sparked my interested in working with wildlife and has led me to peruse a career in animal care. They really care about thier animals and would do anything for them as well as providing an educational experience for the public. I highly reccomed them to anyone wanting to gain experience working with wildlife or anyone wanting to have a unique close up expereicne with the animals at their facility.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Wildhaven Ranch for 7 years. It was a matter of "timing is everything" when I first began as a WCP (Wildlife Care Provider). After receiving training from seasoned "veterans", I began working with the animals. The timing part, an orphaned bear cub made her arrival at the Ranch. I started bearsitting and can say I helped raise a California Black Bear! The love and dedication that both Diane and Roger have for the facility and all that they put into it is phenomenal. It is not "just a business" for them, it is their passion. Having worked in the animal business for over 38 years, I know, people don't do the things they do for money...it is for the love of the animals. There is a passion they display whether it is for the littlest animal ambassador or the senior member of the bear family. I believe this is a very worthy facility and I plan to continue my involvement with them in order to help preserve our local wildlife.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I had the honor of being a volunteer Wildlife Care Provider at Wildhaven. It was an exciting and educational experience. The love and devotion that both Diane and Roger have for all of the wildlife in their care is inspiring. They provide a safe and nurturing place for non-releasable wild animals, while educating the public about the wildlife in our mountain community. Every person, young and old, that attends their educational tours leaves in awe of this up-close and personal experience with bears, birds of prey, a bob-cat, raccoons, coyotes, and mule deer, to name a few. They come to respect the wildness of these creatures and learn much needed information about living near them safely. "Do not feed" is repeated throughout their informative talks. Wildhaven Ranch is a treasure in our mountain community. I am proud to have been a part of this wonderful sanctuary and educational facility.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Wildhaven Ranch in the San Bernardino Mountains is truly a unique experience. The animal residents are all there because they could not be rehabilitated and released back into the wild. When you watch the wonderful bears lumbering about their enclosures and listen to the knowledgeable handlers, it truly is special. There are a variety of animals you see when you take one of their public tours. And as you observe each animal, a guide provides you with valuable information about them. Mountain residents often visit Wildhaven and tourists to the Lake Arrowhead area find Wildhaven to be an interesting and different activity to learn about the local wildlife. All and all Wildhaven is truly a wonderful place run by 2 dedicated people who are devoted to the animals. Phyllis B.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My son and I began voulunteering at Wildhaven in March of this year. We immediately fell in love with the beautiful site and of course the animals, But we were most impressed with Diane and Rodger (director/owners). They are exceptionally loving and dedicated to the care and rehabilitation of indigenous animals. Their expertise in the care of multiple species of animals is astounding and earned over years of schooling and hands on learning. As vouunteers we were provided with training in site maintenance, the characteristics and needs of each animal as well as important protocols for maintaining hygenic conditions. Dianne and Rodger have a mission to provide educational programing around the animals at Wildhaven as well as the understanding and protection of all animals. Their outreach programs are extended to schools, youth centers and any one who will listen. They are community heros doing kind, important work.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Wildhaven Ranch offers informative educational programs that is fun for families and students. I learn so much about wildlife and our environment during my visits. Lake Arrowhead community is lucky to be the host of Wildhaven.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I believe in Wildhaven Ranch. I like their educational programs that teach the public about the wildlife and ecosystem. Families of all ages can benefit and learn so much from Wildhaven Ranch. Learning about our wildlife and natural resources is the best thing anyone and any organization can offer to our community.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help clean wildlife enclosures, teach an educational program, prep for wildlife food in kitchen, maintain Ranch property, build cages, plant trees, help with erosion control, answer phones, greet guests, give tours, man our shop, fish for trout, feed wildlife, go to schools, raise funds, attend events, hand out literature