Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I wanted to give locally, and after visiting the San Antonio Humane Society, the choice was easy. I found the SAHS staffed with wonderful people and selfless, caring volunteers. The grounds and buildings are well maintained and feel more like a "pet resort". Best of all are the sweet animals that are so well cared for and loved while they are waiting to find their forever homes. Thanks SAHS for all that you do!
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2013

I donated small sums of money to the San Antonio Humane Society for many years. Then, after retirement, I became a volunteer. Here, I found a volunteer home! Observing the staff interaction with the ... more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor, volunteer, and adopter, I feel I know the San Antonio Humane Society very well. With the large homeless animal population here in San Antonio, the need to find homes for dogs and cats is a never ending task. But day after day, I witness the hard work the staff, volunteers, fosters, and board do to place these pets in loving homes. These sweet animals are given a safe, clean, healthy, and kind environment until they are adopted into their forever homes.

So if you have a home to share or a donation to make, the San Antonio Humane Society is the perfect place to do so !
June 13, 2013

I donated small sums of money to the San Antonio Humane Society for many years. Then, after retirement, I became a volunteer. Here, I found a volunteer home! Observing the staff interaction with the public, each other, and most importantly, the animals, has made volunteering a joy! Seeing that the welfare of the animals is always top priority with this organization made me want to do more. I therefore became a member of the Circle of Friends, pledging a certain amount a money for five years. I have volunteered and donated for many years now, and cannot imagine a more rewarding use of my time and money!

If you care about animals and want to support an organization which is totally dedicated to their welfare and finding them forever homes, the San Antonio Humane Society is the place to donate your time or money, or both!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful to expand its capabilities to help even more animals. Donating to the great rescue organization is the way to make this happen!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My wife and I became "Circle of Friends" donors to the San Antonio Humane Society almost 4 years ago. There is not a finer organization that you can help out either by donating or volunteering . Their facility is of the highest standards and is very kept clean and sanitary. Their staff is well trained, friendly, and care deeply about helping. It makes us feel good to know that we can do our part to help these sweet animals find loving homes.
This year I plan on becoming more involved by not only doubling our annual financial contribution but I plan to volunteer my time to participate on one of their committee's as an Ambassador.
I feel that when you "pay it forward" to help others the rewards of life come right back to you in return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2011

more

August 23, 2011

We found our two dogs here in 2009. We were very pleased with the staff and how helpful everyone was. The facilities are very open and inviting to those wishing to look at the animals placed there. I would recommend anyone looking for a new pet to try the San Antonio Humane Society! We love our dogs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

obtaining my pets from here

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide training or health care (whatever is necessary) so that the animals can be housed together rather than in cages.

June 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 11, 2011

Imagine a cheerful animal shelter, one that makes you realize that the animals in the facility are the lucky ones. Imagine a shelter where the dogs and cats are tended by skilled, loving staff, a shel... more

June 11, 2013

The San Antonio Humane Society is so skillfully managed, so humane in the care of its charges, so successful in its mission that I can truthfully say that the dogs and cats sheltered there are the lucky ones. The shelter finds loving homes for over 97 percent of the animals it receives, a rate about three times the national average. And while the San Antonio Humane Society works hard at its goals of rescue, shelter, spaying and neutering and adoption, it goes beyond the work of most animal shelters by taking its mission to the community. The shelter has instituted a program in public schools to educate young people on the humane treatment of animals and proper veterinary care; it partners with other animal shelters by accepting orphaned dogs and cats from them that might otherwise be euthanized; it offers the public behind-the-scenes tours of its facility twice monthly--with nothing hidden. Its grounds are tranquil, its kennels immaculate, its staff and volunteers devoted--I love volunteering at this extraordinary organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2011

Imagine a cheerful animal shelter, one that makes you realize that the animals in the facility are the lucky ones. Imagine a shelter where the dogs and cats are tended by skilled, loving staff, a shelter where there is ample room for dogs to run and willing volunteers to exercise them. Imagine a shelter where the cats are cuddled, where every area is immaculate, and where each animal accepted will find a loving, forever home. It's not your imagination--it's the San Antonio Humane Society.

In a city with a large homeless pet population, the San Antonio Humane Society cares for more than 5,000 orphaned pets each year. It not only nurses abandoned animals back to health (the Society has a 95% save rate), it makes sure each animal is spayed or neutered before adoption and released to its new family with a modestly priced basket of benefits. Among them: food, vaccinations, introductory veterinary care and health insurance, microchip and collar and tag.

The Humane Society serves the community through summer camp programs for young people, hurricane evacuation work and educational tours at the facility and off campus.

The staff and volunteers work hard, but with skill, love and dedication. A visit to the San Antonio Humane Society is a joy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have learned how once frightened, damaged animals are nursed back to health, their fears patiently dealt with and then placed in loving homes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would double its size.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

San Antonio has a large homeless animal population and the Humane Society is making heroic efforts to reduce the number of orphaned pets on our streets.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The San Antonio Humane Society does not received government, United Way, or other agency funds. It is solely supported by its donors. I have been impressed by how prudently and effectively funds are used by the Society

What would you tell others about this organization?

Visit! I guarantee you will feel uplifted and grateful for the existence of this first-rate organization

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs; clean cages; spend time in our kitty cottage assisting with cats and kittens, volunteer in the administration department with paperwork.