Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

I love volunteering at SA Humane! The staff are always so friendly and appreciative of the help. I have a great time helping out and best of all working with the cute dogs and cats. It's hard work but I'm grateful for the opportunity to help out. The San Antonio Humane Society is a great non-profit doing amazing work in SA.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Volunteering for the SA Humane Society was the first thing I did after retiring. This is something I always wanted to do. I am a dog lover & have four that have rescued me. I would have more if I could. So I volunteer to take care of that need. I encourage everyone to volunteer if they have a love for animals. I love the animals & the staff is amazing. Watching them care deeply for each animal that arrives is truly a calling.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I am a busy young professional but my passion for helping humanity is met through volunteering at the San Antonio Humane Society. The SAHS is a model for a well-run, CLEAN, and community centered shelter. The animals are the priority. The kennels are roomy, climate controlled, well-kept, and the animals are socialized and given top-notch care.
And the staff is world-class - you can tell that every human being at the shelter truly cares about the dogs and the cats and the overall mission of SAHS.
The SAHS does good, hard work!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the San Antonio Humane Society for a number of years, and try to go once a week. It's a great place to volunteer! Everything is very clean, and the animals receive excellent care. I spend most of my time in the cattery, helping socialize the cats so their chances of finding a forever home are increased. By spending time nurturing these animals, I really feel like I am making a difference in the lives of these animals. There is no better feeling. It's exciting helping at one of San Antonio's no-kill shelters, and being an advocate for the animals.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the San Antonio Humane Society for basically my whole life. When I was little, my mother decided to get me a kitten. We went to many shelters and we couldn't find a place we trusted until the SAHS. I found my Lucky and a year later from the SAHS, my Maximus. Lucky lived a very good 7 years while Maximus is thriving now at almost 12 years old(in January 2015). The SAHS treat their animals like if they were their own. In the past few months I have started to volunteer with them and I have never seen a group of such committed and loving people. These people have a huge passion for these animals and show it in their time volunteering and fostering.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The great thing about the Hamane socity. Is that they give animals a chance to be able to live with a family to be able to be loved. Have a chance to be able to love life without fear. A other good reason is that when an animal gets adopted the money from that adoption goes to the other animals to the shelter. A area for an other animal to be able to have a chance in life. It's been a great experience volunteering. I enjoy making the animals feel loved being able to connect ours selfs with the animals. I will continue on going for more wonderful experiences.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My granddaughter needed volunteer hours for school when starting the sixth grade. She loves animals of all kinds and has always had dogs and cats as pets. She wanted to volunteer at the Humane Society where she could do good and give love to the animals. Her dad did the volunteer work with her, it gave them together time and gave her the ability to love and care for the animals. She feels at home at the facility on Fredericksburg Road and finds the staff and other volunteers very easy to be with. You see, my granddaughter has always been quite but this wonderful place makes her feel at home. The 2nd year she was there her dad dropped out due to work schedule and now I go with her. This is our special time with each other. We both love helping out, playing with the animals and just loving them. I recommend volunteering at the Humane Society because they provide a great service to San Antonio, they provide a clean, loving atmosphere to these animals and I say it's great for a young person to learn how to care for, and give back to their community. I also say it's a great way to spend time with your children or grand children and show them by example the importance of giving of their time to an organization that needs the help and showing them that it feels good to give. My granddaughter is in her 4th year of volunteering and she wouldn't have it any other way, she feels good about herself.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I started volunteering three years ago. This is a great place. The animals receive loving care. I have helped with volunteer day and birthday parties. Also, I adopted a dog that I worked with from there. He is a wonderful addition to our family. This is a good place to volunteer and volunteers are very much appreciated.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been serving as a volunteer for several years and am extremely impressed with the SAHS Volunteer Program. The induction is clear and concise. The opportunities are varied to meet my interests and needs, and I always feel appreciated by the staff members who I assist. My experience as a SAHS volunteer has definitely exceeded my expectations, and I am grateful for the opportunity.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 13, 2013

I donated small sums of money to the San Antonio Humane Society for many years. Then, after retirement, I became a volunteer. Here, I found a volunteer home! Observing the staff interaction with the ... more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor, volunteer, and adopter, I feel I know the San Antonio Humane Society very well. With the large homeless animal population here in San Antonio, the need to find homes for dogs and cats is a never ending task. But day after day, I witness the hard work the staff, volunteers, fosters, and board do to place these pets in loving homes. These sweet animals are given a safe, clean, healthy, and kind environment until they are adopted into their forever homes.

So if you have a home to share or a donation to make, the San Antonio Humane Society is the perfect place to do so !
June 13, 2013

I donated small sums of money to the San Antonio Humane Society for many years. Then, after retirement, I became a volunteer. Here, I found a volunteer home! Observing the staff interaction with the public, each other, and most importantly, the animals, has made volunteering a joy! Seeing that the welfare of the animals is always top priority with this organization made me want to do more. I therefore became a member of the Circle of Friends, pledging a certain amount a money for five years. I have volunteered and donated for many years now, and cannot imagine a more rewarding use of my time and money!

If you care about animals and want to support an organization which is totally dedicated to their welfare and finding them forever homes, the San Antonio Humane Society is the place to donate your time or money, or both!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful to expand its capabilities to help even more animals. Donating to the great rescue organization is the way to make this happen!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs; clean cages; spend time in our kitty cottage assisting with cats and kittens, volunteer in the administration department with paperwork.