Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

The San Antonio Humane Society is a shining example of a non-profit organization living their mission day-in and day-out. Our results are continuously monitored and reported, in an effort to keep all of us focused on specific goals and objectives, as well as holding everyone accountable for our results.

I have found serving on the Board to be a wonderful experience . We are a diverse group that bring a wide array of experience. Our time together in Board and Committee meetings is always well-organized, highly productive and efficient.

The last comment I would like to make is about our staff and volunteers. You are hard-pressed to find a team of employees and volunteers that are more proud of the facility they support and the service they provide. Visitors are always taken by the wonderful environment within which the San Antonio Humane Society connects friends for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is in great need of a hospital, in order to expand their capabilities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I am an Ambassador for the San Antonio Humane Society and just got involved with them less than a year ago. I am so impressed with all the staff and volunteers. Everyone that either works or volunteers has a real passion for saving lives. The facility itself is so clean and when we give behind the scene tours twice a month to the public they just cannot believe how well kept the facility is. They have a wonderful adoption rate and partner with our city to go and take animals from Animal Control Services when they have empty spots. By doing this they are reaching out in the community and working with others to control our animal population and make San Antonio a no kill city. These are not my words and I don't know who wrote this but I love the saying..."Rescuing one animal may not change the world, but for that animal and that person, their world is changed forever and in a good way". I have been to other no kill shelters and never been as impressed as I am with the SA Humane Society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are run very efficiently and I cannot think of any changes I would make to the organization at least at this point in my involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013

more

February 26, 2013

Could not believe how beautiful this place is and how clean the kennels are!! We were looking for a puppy. They have a great Puppy Pavillion with the cutest puppies. The only thing I will say is that if you see one you want you better adopt quickly. It seems that the young puppies don't stay here very long (which is GREAT for the puppies). All the adult dogs seemed well cared for and were in clean, nice "cages". We ended up adopting "Carla" and she has been such a joy, we couldn't be happier. There was a slight delay (1 day) in getting her spay surgery completed, so we brought her home 1 day later than expected, but it was not a problem and the staff notified us promptly of the delay. They were very apologetic and then very helpful when I came to pick up Carla after work. We were lucky to adopt on a week night, I am sure that on the weekend you could experience quite a delay in meeting with adoption interviewer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

The San Antonio Humane Society (SAHS) changed my life, and for this reason I feel that I must share my story so that others can see how truly great the organization is. In 2008 I went to the Humane Society to find a friend for my chihuahua Jackson, who, as most chihuahuas are, was very picky about who he wanted to let into the family. The SAHS let me bring my little guy up to the facility to meet other dogs, ensuring that if I found a forever friend to adopt it would be the right fit for my household. I had just about given up hope when I met Patrick, a beagle/bassett mix, and he hit it off with Jackson right away. I began the process of adopting Patrick, and while doing the paperwork the staff filled me in on his story. He was rescued from the local kill shelter a few hours before he was scheduled to be euthanized. When the SAHS received Patrick he was recovering from a broken pelvis, rear left leg, and was heartworm positive. Through the hard work of the clinic staff he was nursed back to health and that's when I met him. It is truly a mark of a great and loving staff that Patrick, even after all teh pain and confusion he had surely suffered, is the happiest pup in the world and loves returning to the SAHS to visit the people who allowed him to join my family.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the pleasure of volunteering at the San Antonio Humane Society since March of 2011. It's been one of the best experiences of my life. The volunteer coordinator and the entire staff we so welcoming and helpful. I worked in the clinic weekly cleaning kennels, mopping floors, walking dogs, unfolding newspaper and doing anything else I could do to make it easier for the clinic staff to do what they do best--intaking and caring for as many animals as there was space for that day. One of my favorite "jobs" has been washing the dogs. When they come in to the clinic it can be very stressful for them. I would try to help calm and soothe them while bathing and drying them so they would feel safe. The tasks may seem menial and unimportant. They certainly aren't glamorous but I loved it. Even as I would be mopping floors I felt I was helping prepare a clean, safe environment for the animals that would come in that day. I also volunteered at Animal Care services in a cooperative program between the Humane society and ACS. The goal was to increase the release rate at ACS. In the short time this program has been active the release rate has increased from 11% to over 50%! That's amazing! Their mission is to protect and improve the lives of dogs and cats by providing shelter, care, adoption, rescue, spay and neuter programs, and community education. As long as I have volunteered the passion of the staff to fulfill that mission is what has impacted me the most
The clinic staff was amazing to me. Sarah P., the clinic supervisor was especially encouraging to me and taught me many skills working with the animals and the people who were surrendering their animals or bringing in strays. The staff was very compassionate and accomodating with all who came to drop off an animal. They were also great with the animals. For those animals who were in the clinic for longer periods the staff would spend time with the animals getting to know them and their personalities and needs. I'm sad to say that I am moving soon and won't be able to volunteer with the Humane Society in San Antonio anymore. I will miss the staff and working with the animals greatly. I'm so thankful for this opportunity to volunteer at the Humane Society. They are certainly making a difference in the community.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I have actually adopted 2 pets from San Antonio Humane Society over the past 6 months. I think that speaks for itself. I adopted a 2 month old kitten back in July 2011 and he immediately adapted to life in a home with a dog and children. I then adopted a 2 month old puppy over Christmas 2011 who has just been the most loving, intelligent, grateful puppy. Everyone raves about her friendly and sweet personality where ever I take her, not to mention how adorable she is. I was very pleased with the experience each time I adopted from the San Antonio Humane Society. The facility is very well organized and clean and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I really like the fact that they are a "no kill" facility. They are always busy, and there is a fair amount of "competition" to adopt their animals, which I find unusual, but inspiring. I also like the follow up conducted by the facility, post adoption, as well as the genuine care they seem to have for each individual animal that goes through the facility.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I adopted Gertie (Sky) in 2010 from the San Antonio Humane Society in San Antonio, Texas. The facility was very organized and clean. The dogs and cats appeared healthy and happy. I feel San Antonio is very lucky to have a nice state of the art facility. I would recommend to others to go to this shelter when seeking a family pet. My Gertie is very happy. We have had her for over a year. She is well adjusted and gets along great with my other dogs. She loves us very much and we in turn love her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

I adopted LadyBug (I changed her name) almost 3 years ago. She was a refugee from Hurricane Ike and had been in shelters for 9 months. She was 6 yrs old and I was probably her last chance. She is a very sweet and loving kitty. It did take her some time to adjust to life in a house. She never goes out and seems content with that. Right now, she is watching me type from her perch on top of the organ--one of her favorite places. She has just communicated to me that it is time for our afternoon nap so I will need to bring this to a close. The Humane Society of San Antonio does a great job of bringing unwanted pets to wanting owners. I salute their work.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

We adopted a Basset Hound/Beagle mix in Summer 2011. The was the first time that we had adopted from the San Antonio Humane Society. It was such a great experience and we would do it over again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

In May 2011, we came into the Humane Society in search of a dog to bring home to our loving family. It was just myself, my husband and our previous brown lab, Sophie. We are both dog lovers and were aching for another dog to join our family. Sophie is a very rambunkshis 4 year old 'puppy' that was in need of a best friend.
We started our search through the first dog building and saw many dogs that would have been great, but we decided to keep looking for that one special dog. So we made our way into the second building, half way down the aisle on the right side, there she was. Her name was Majestic at the time and she sat back quietly in her cage while all the other dogs barked with excitement. We knew we wanted a calm dog that would be great with Sophie and eventually good with kids and as we watched her body language we just knew we had found her. After the paper work and interview Majestic was home, at last.
We decided since she didn't know her new name yet, we would change it to Ruby, just like the gem. And what a gem we found in this dog!!! She is SO very loving and waits patiently for us to get home so that she can snuggle in our laps. Her and Sophie are new best friends and I begin to wonder how they lived without each other. Everywhere one of them goes, the other one follows. Ruby is a great listener and when we take them on our evening walks Ruby follows by our side obediently without a leash. They have been swimming together, constantly playing with tennis balls together and laying happily in the sunshine.
We could not have found a more perfect dog in Ruby and I strongly advise anyone in search for their own 'gem' to adapt from the San Antonio Humane Society or any no kill animal shelter in their area.
Thank you SAHS for making this possible and saving so many lives, we will forever be grateful!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs; clean cages; spend time in our kitty cottage assisting with cats and kittens, volunteer in the administration department with paperwork.