Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

The San Antonio Humane Society is a caring, loving environment for sheltered dogs and cats. I've been volunteering there for 16 months and have found it very fulfilling. I also adopted a dog i met there, a wonderful German Shepherd mix named Cory. Two of my friends have subsequently begun volunteering there after hearing me rave about the experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

My husband and I got involved about 3 years ago. I have always loved animals so this was a natural fit. Once we became involved we couldn't get enough. The San Antonio Humane society is run by people and volunteers that have an unspeakable love for animals. Looking at the facility and the success of the shelter you can see why it is one of the top charities in the nation. I know my money is going to good use and saving animals lives. I couldn't be happier.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I donated small sums of money to the San Antonio Humane Society for many years. Then, after retirement, I became a volunteer. Here, I found a volunteer home! Observing the staff interaction with the public, each other, and most importantly, the animals, has made volunteering a joy! Seeing that the welfare of the animals is always top priority with this organization made me want to do more. I therefore became a member of the Circle of Friends, pledging a certain amount a money for five years. I have volunteered and donated for many years now, and cannot imagine a more rewarding use of my time and money!

If you care about animals and want to support an organization which is totally dedicated to their welfare and finding them forever homes, the San Antonio Humane Society is the place to donate your time or money, or both!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful to expand its capabilities to help even more animals. Donating to the great rescue organization is the way to make this happen!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

My first experience with SAHS was when I adopted my cat Maya. The experience was very pet friendly. The cat area is so bright and airy. There was great space to visit with possible pets.

Two years ago I became a volunteer and walked dogs. But during training we were told of the need
for cat and kitten fosters. This is a perfect match for me and I love it. The volunteer coordinators are excellent to work with. They check on the animals and support me in taking care of the them. They work so hard to place animals in order to save as many as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to support the educational programs and increase the budget to save more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I've been a volunteer at the SA Humane Society for over 10 years now, and I love love LOVE working here! Being around so many other animal lovers and helping to make a real difference in the lives of abandoned or neglected animals is such a high! This facility has wonderful staff and volunteers who really care. Plus it's such a beautiful place! My volunteer experiences have been quite varied--- from dog walking (great exercise, BTW!!), bathing animals, and fostering, to helping with summer camps and volunteer orientations and off-site adoption events, even laundry. Never a dull moment!
(My 3 great kitties were adopted from here, too. )

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to house even more animals, which would mean adding more buildings. There is just never enough space to take in every needy animal, unfortunately.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

My wife and I became "Circle of Friends" donors to the San Antonio Humane Society almost 4 years ago. There is not a finer organization that you can help out either by donating or volunteering . Their facility is of the highest standards and is very kept clean and sanitary. Their staff is well trained, friendly, and care deeply about helping. It makes us feel good to know that we can do our part to help these sweet animals find loving homes.
This year I plan on becoming more involved by not only doubling our annual financial contribution but I plan to volunteer my time to participate on one of their committee's as an Ambassador.
I feel that when you "pay it forward" to help others the rewards of life come right back to you in return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 11, 2011

Imagine a cheerful animal shelter, one that makes you realize that the animals in the facility are the lucky ones. Imagine a shelter where the dogs and cats are tended by skilled, loving staff, a shel... more

June 11, 2013

The San Antonio Humane Society is so skillfully managed, so humane in the care of its charges, so successful in its mission that I can truthfully say that the dogs and cats sheltered there are the lucky ones. The shelter finds loving homes for over 97 percent of the animals it receives, a rate about three times the national average. And while the San Antonio Humane Society works hard at its goals of rescue, shelter, spaying and neutering and adoption, it goes beyond the work of most animal shelters by taking its mission to the community. The shelter has instituted a program in public schools to educate young people on the humane treatment of animals and proper veterinary care; it partners with other animal shelters by accepting orphaned dogs and cats from them that might otherwise be euthanized; it offers the public behind-the-scenes tours of its facility twice monthly--with nothing hidden. Its grounds are tranquil, its kennels immaculate, its staff and volunteers devoted--I love volunteering at this extraordinary organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2011

Imagine a cheerful animal shelter, one that makes you realize that the animals in the facility are the lucky ones. Imagine a shelter where the dogs and cats are tended by skilled, loving staff, a shelter where there is ample room for dogs to run and willing volunteers to exercise them. Imagine a shelter where the cats are cuddled, where every area is immaculate, and where each animal accepted will find a loving, forever home. It's not your imagination--it's the San Antonio Humane Society.

In a city with a large homeless pet population, the San Antonio Humane Society cares for more than 5,000 orphaned pets each year. It not only nurses abandoned animals back to health (the Society has a 95% save rate), it makes sure each animal is spayed or neutered before adoption and released to its new family with a modestly priced basket of benefits. Among them: food, vaccinations, introductory veterinary care and health insurance, microchip and collar and tag.

The Humane Society serves the community through summer camp programs for young people, hurricane evacuation work and educational tours at the facility and off campus.

The staff and volunteers work hard, but with skill, love and dedication. A visit to the San Antonio Humane Society is a joy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have learned how once frightened, damaged animals are nursed back to health, their fears patiently dealt with and then placed in loving homes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would double its size.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

San Antonio has a large homeless animal population and the Humane Society is making heroic efforts to reduce the number of orphaned pets on our streets.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

The San Antonio Humane Society does not received government, United Way, or other agency funds. It is solely supported by its donors. I have been impressed by how prudently and effectively funds are used by the Society

What would you tell others about this organization?

Visit! I guarantee you will feel uplifted and grateful for the existence of this first-rate organization

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I relocated to San Antonio a little less than a year ago and have finally had the time to get involved with the San Antonio Humane Society - My only regret is that I didn't go the first week I moved here! My involvement with the organization is multifaceted as I'm a volunteer, a foster, a recent adopter, a donor and a council member! I've worked with many different animal rescue organizations but was completely blown away on my first visit to their facility. I've never seen a cleaner, more organized, friendly animal shelter than this! It is abundantly apparent that from the staff, to the directors, to the Ambassadors and the volunteers that these people truly love animals and are completely committed to improving the lives of the animals in our city looking for their forever homes. I couldn't be more proud or more pleased with my involvement with this organization and I look forward to many years of service, many lives saved and many friendships as we collectively work toward our goals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

The San Antonio Humane Society is a shining example of a non-profit organization living their mission day-in and day-out. Our results are continuously monitored and reported, in an effort to keep all of us focused on specific goals and objectives, as well as holding everyone accountable for our results.

I have found serving on the Board to be a wonderful experience . We are a diverse group that bring a wide array of experience. Our time together in Board and Committee meetings is always well-organized, highly productive and efficient.

The last comment I would like to make is about our staff and volunteers. You are hard-pressed to find a team of employees and volunteers that are more proud of the facility they support and the service they provide. Visitors are always taken by the wonderful environment within which the San Antonio Humane Society connects friends for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is in great need of a hospital, in order to expand their capabilities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I am an Ambassador for the San Antonio Humane Society and just got involved with them less than a year ago. I am so impressed with all the staff and volunteers. Everyone that either works or volunteers has a real passion for saving lives. The facility itself is so clean and when we give behind the scene tours twice a month to the public they just cannot believe how well kept the facility is. They have a wonderful adoption rate and partner with our city to go and take animals from Animal Control Services when they have empty spots. By doing this they are reaching out in the community and working with others to control our animal population and make San Antonio a no kill city. These are not my words and I don't know who wrote this but I love the saying..."Rescuing one animal may not change the world, but for that animal and that person, their world is changed forever and in a good way". I have been to other no kill shelters and never been as impressed as I am with the SA Humane Society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are run very efficiently and I cannot think of any changes I would make to the organization at least at this point in my involvement.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk dogs; clean cages; spend time in our kitty cottage assisting with cats and kittens, volunteer in the administration department with paperwork.