Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
123.645
Write A Review
November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

BBB is a joke! They falsely claim to be lacking information that is clearly spelled out in Samaritan Purse's Annual Financial Disclosure. After posting an erroneous review on Samaritan's Purse, BBB asked me for money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I tried to add some comments under other reviews, but got an error message, so I will add them here. These comments have to do with the discussion about Franklin Graham's compensation. I have donated to Samaritan's Purse in the past and haven't come to a personal opinion about the CEO salary question, but I wanted to share a couple of thoughts.

In one of the reviews it is said that Franklin Graham probably puts a lot of his own money into Samaritan's Purse. My observation is that if he is putting a lot of his salary back into Samaritan's Purse, that is tax inefficient. He would pay various taxes on his salary - and at a salary over $470K he would not be eligible for many deductions. It would make more sense for him to take a lower salary and leave the money in the charity, so an additional cut doesn't have to go to the government.

For that reason, my guess is that Franklin Graham isn't putting a significant percentage of his salary into Samaritan's Purse; of course, he may be tithing to his church and doing other charitable things with the money.

Another review mentioned that the total compensation number probably includes travel and other business expenses. It would be non-standard accounting if expenses such as travel were included in the CEO's compensation. As a general principal, you want things to be accounted for in the right "bucket" and travel expense should go in the travel expense bucket and salary should go in the salary bucket.

Of course there are cases where teachers buy supplies for their classes because the school district won't, or managers buy lunch for their team and don't submit it for reimbursement because company policy won't allow it (I've done that). Franklin Graham may be doing some similar things, but as CEO he is likely setting the appropriate reimbursement policies and following them. That means unreimbursed expenses are likely a small percentage of his total compensation. To do otherwise would be tax inefficient (for both him and Samaritan's Purse) and I assume Franklin Graham is too smart for that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am sad to see some of the comments on here about how much Franklin Graham is making. Is that in gross or net amounts? And do these persons know what he does with the money? I am willing to bet that he is returning much of it back into the organization. I have been a donor through Christmas Child for only two years now and then recently have made some other donations for Sudan, where Franklin has been in the thick of where the people were under attack. How many CEO's of charities do that? I know only one other one for sure and that is Wess Stafford of Compassion International, I believe he would also risk his life for the children. I intend to continue giving to Samaritan's Purse until I see in black in white that Mr. Graham is ripping them off. My income would also look pretty good for other seniors my age, but nobody knows just what I do with that money, and a large percentage of it is given to charity, like sponsoring 8 children with Compassion and 2 with World Vision for one. If people are concerned about the money Franklin Graham is making, why don't the just ask him if that is net or gross and what percentage of it does he actually keep? I know he could tell them it is none of their business but then again they might be surprised.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Before JUMPING TO CONCLUSIONS, you criticizers need to understand that COMPENSATION is not the same as a salary. That $473,440 also includes EXPENSES for travel, food, lodging, etc. This would mean his salary is only a part of $473,440. Considering that a ministry of this size and magnitude probably requires Mr. Graham to do a lot of traveling, I do not find his COMPENSATION to be excessive at all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 30, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I think there are better charities out there. Franklin Graham's salary keeps increasing and is now approaching a half million dollars. Let's not forget he also makes $106,000 from his father's foundation. Samaritan's Purse also has a clear agenda that seems to care more about spreading its beliefs rather than truly helping people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through local church

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce executive compensation, give more without strings attached.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

November 1, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 1, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have served as a volunteer and a donor for years. They provide humanitarian and relief aid and I understand Mr. Graham's salary is lower than is genreally reported and is consistent with a large nonprofit. I cannot understand how an organization that seeks to promote the Gospel also serves to promote political personalities and, in that affiliation, their specific political agenda. Appearing with anyone with a national political impact and agenda, such as Sarah Palin, is an endorsement of that agenda.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I do not really know the results. Yes, they give many shoeboxes away. Hopefully, children will see Jesus through the gifts. Unfortunately, I am saddened that my time and money may have been misused for political, rather than Christian, means.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

list it as a Christian AND political organization. People need to know to whom and to what they are giving. I am just asking for transparency and truthfulness.

More feedback...

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I was prompted by my desire to see people changed by the love of Jesus.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I have friends who shared the organization with me and on researching it, it has a good track record.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Do your homework. As with any organization, make sure that the organization's affiliations are consistent with its philosophy and heart.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Samaritan's Purse for well over a decade. Until today, I would have told anyone who asked me that they were a reputable charity who uses donated funds for much needed programs to aid the poor and needy. Today, I was unfortunate enough to learn the truth. I requested that a charge on my credit card, for a donation I did not make, be refunded to my credit card. With lots of doublespeak and nonsense, zi was refused a refund. It is hard for me to accept that Samaritan's Purse would kick a long-term donor to the curb for $60, but that is exactly what happened. I will never give them another dime, and I intend to warn everyone else I know to stay away from this charity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I feel used and betrayed by what happened regarding an unauthorized donation not being refunded to me by Samaritan's Purse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Some integrity would be wonderful to have.

March 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 18, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

http://ar.gy/japan

I just went to the website above and was able to quickly give a donation to relief in Japan. Look up Samaritan's Purse online or on FB and you will see what they are doing right now. You can choose where you want you money to be sent.

"Today we're airlifting
more than 90 tons of emergency supplies to Japan. Plastic sheeting for shelters, blankets, and hygiene supplies will be loaded onto a 747 cargo jet, set to depart for the earthquake-ravaged country just after noon." 3-18-11 SP on FB.

This is a wonderful organization that has compassion for those in need. They know what they are doing and how to do it effectively.

May the Lord bless Samaritan's Purse and all those suffering in Japan.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We give to Operation Christmas Child through Samaritan's Purse. Our children and those at our church fill shoe boxes of goodies to send to children all over the world. We send letters and often the children send letters back. We are blessed to give and to serve others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure what I would change. They are effective in what they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Japan's earthquake

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To help as soon as possible

What would you tell others about this organization?

Please give and feel safe about your donation.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Rev. Franklin Graham is a true man of God and is compassionately serving the poor and needy of the entire world in times of difficulty and disaster thru his love and dedication to Jesus Christ.

He has risked his own life at times such as when he came under sniper fire in Israel. That is
remarkable that he does this without fear but by his faith in Jesus Christ. How many Christians would be willing to do the same thing?

I recommend that you read his books to get to know the real Franklin Graham and his strong faith in his Saviour. Then I would ask you to pray to Jesus Christ about supporting this ministry by giving a monthly donation. You will be blessed if you do as I know first-hand since I am a monthly donor and have been for quite a few years. I can only afford to give a small amount since I am disabled and can not work. However, all the small donations such as mine add up to lots of aid for this ministry's calling to serve others and to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ to the lost.

How can someone who is hungry, sick or injured accept Jesus Christ if we only pray for God to intervene in their situation. Yes, we pray for them but we also have to feed them and medically treat them and show toward them the Love of Jesus that abides in us. God Bless and please help Franklin Graham's ministry by becoming an active part of it.

Please open your Bibles to Matthew 25:31-46 and read what Jesus said about us helping the needy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have viewed Franklin Graham on TV at disasters in the world, such as Haiti last year when the earthquake devastated the country. Franklin was there and was pleading for President Obama to open the airports for flights so that he and others could fly in food, medical supplies, and building materials for housing, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would list the names of the board members and what they are paid. How often they meet and what if any perks they may receive. Same for Franklin. I suggest this so to be as open and honest to the general public in order to build the upmost trust for this ministry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

That as a Christian I was led to help support a Christian aid organization that was credible and served everyone no matter what their belief in times of need. I read Rev. Graham's books and when he came to Samaritan's Purse and I investigated them; I knew I had found the ministry that I wanted to donate to.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I donate each and every month from my checking acct. with autopay in order to help support financially this ministry.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That Samaritan's Purse is doing the work of Jesus Christ thru out the entire world by helping the needy in time of crisis and need. They are constantly somewhere in the world doing aid and relief projects to help the needy and spread the Word of Jesus Christ. Rev. Franklin Graham CEO, does not sit at a desk and command others to go and do the Lord's work; he goes himself and directs the aid efforts even when he would be in danger.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

This organization does fantastic mercy work in disaster areas and many third world countries. They provide material support and the hope of God's Good News. Check the financials; they are very good stewards.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers