Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
123.645
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I LOVE Operation Christmas Child. Our family LOVES Operation Christmas Child. Every year, we put together shoe boxes for children around the world, and take so much joy in sharing what we have with others! We teach our children using this outreach about those around the world who are less fortunate, and help them to have hearts that love to give. They fill out their own boxes and love it! This year we are having a OCC Packing Party with a kit from Samaritan's Purse, and we couldn't be more excited! Praise God for the opportunity to love on kids throughout the world!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not even sure!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Samaritan's Purse is ethical all the way, and they've been incredibly responsive to me every time I've had a query about their livestock-related projects. My passion is ethical treatment of animals, and they've given me detailed descriptions of the training they give the recipients of their livestock animals as far as humane treatment, sound husbandry principles, and their Biblical philosophy regarding humans' responsibility to care properly for animals. One of my greatest joys every Christmas is choosing charity gifts from the Samaritan's Purse catalog. I recommend them with no hesitation to any donors considering making a contribution of any size.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

I think Samaritan's Purse is one of the best organizations I have ever given to. I like their work, and
I know it isn't easy for them to go to some parts of the world because of the danger. But they do,
anyway. Franklin Graham stands up for the truth no matter what the world says. I
admire that. Sue White
February 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

There are many Christian charities out there showing starving children, some with only 5% of the donations going to the needed. Samaritan Purse is a very trustworthy organization with good accountability and 90% of the funds going to the needed. Bob Leone, www.HumanBeans.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am so thankful for this organization. It allows a small, lower income family to make a dfference in a child's life...at Christmas no less! The impact they are making with their shoe boxes truly shows love the way The Lord intended. All things biblical are now seen as politcal...it is the season of life we are in. Christ's message is THE SAME as it always has been...as is Samaritan's Purse message. It's the political agenda that is crossing their paths. Biblical truth and charitable transparency is what SP stands for, and I am thankful for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I know that this isn't a blog or anything. But in defense of Mr. Graham and Samraitans Purse, I do not believe he has a political agenda, but a Biblical Agenda. If you read the Scriptures, the public policies he defended are those that have clearly been spoken by the Creator. Truth is Truth. Samaritans Purse will be blessed because they understand that and fear God more than man. My dollars and prayers will continue to support this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

I have made small donations and my family has made very significant donations to Samaritan's purse. My support has ceased, and I'm hoping to persuade my families business to stop giving them many thousands each year. I'm very hesitant to take adverse action against them, but do so for the following reasons. 1. Franklin Graham takes a large salary 2. He is deeply engaged in using his organization in partisan politics, and 3. while some of their work is very good, some has not been very good, such as their internal bickering and finally abruptly pulling out of their commitment for the war child project in Northern Uganda, which left the other NGO's scrambling to provide the food for these kids that Samaratin's Purse had provided. That was irresponsible and unconscionable. If you're going to make a commitment to these kids who have seen and done things that we can't even imagine, you must stand by that commitment. Was it their internal fighting that was legendary, or was it lack of funds while they find it worthwhile to make large contributions to anti-gay marriage measures? Either way, it's not Christian, and it's not good. Knowing that they funneled contributions through the Billy Graham Evangelical Association when most of the money came from Samaritan's Purse is not helpful. Nor was his repeated Obama bashing, which apparently was not God's will as he was re-elected anyway, and the Bible is clear that God puts the leaders in office. So he opposes God. Period. is not following in his father's footsteps but is collecting a very large salary from Samaritan's purse and was also collecting a large salary from the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association. In 2008 his total salary was 1.2 million. A controversy arose, and he's since stopped his BGEA salary, but still collects over 400,000 from Samaritan's Purse.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 19, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

A year ago I made a operation Christmas child box and enjoyed the process. However now I am completely disappointed with Samaritan's purse because I was sent an email of a political nature which really turned me off. I've noticed that the organization has an extreme right wing point of view. From here on out I will only donate to groups in which their only point of view is helping people. I think it is very unchristian to have such a strong political stance that undermines outreach. If the CEO was less outspoken I might still be donating to samaritan's purse. I will be continuing to donate to Lutheran world relief an excellent relief organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've been a regular donor to SP for a few years, but Franklin Graham's recent political commentary has me greatly concerned, especially where it pertains to same-sex marriage. I didn't realize that SP's mission includes promoting their political agenda, and I refuse to have my contributions used to support bigotry. As a result, I've become disillusioned with SP and have not donated since May. I'm still prayerfully considering whether I should resume, but at this point I have no confidence that my contributions will not be supporting such un-Christ-like behavior.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This is the second year we have put together christmas packages for children (3 - one from each of my children). It is a nice experience for them. I am very saddened to see a CEO of a non-profit making $400,000 plus. It is pure greed. I think with conscience NO CEO's of non profits should take more then $200,000 for their work. Shame on Mr. Graham and the board for allowing this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers