Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
123.5945945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Am a born again christian Accountant) we had a chance when Samaritan purse gave a smile to pupils faces at our place of work (kampala school for physically handicapped) our pupils felt that are not left out globally for they imagined some body oversees to think about them.so Samaritan purse its our prayer we join you to do God's work
Gertrude Nakibuuka sozzi

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BBB rates them as "Standards not met" and cites some clear and cogent reasons for doing so: http://www.bbb.org/charity-reviews/national/religious/samaritans-purse-in-boone-nc-281 Why would a NGO of this size not state their fundraising costs in their annual report? Power corrupts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I feel like everyone is looking at this from the wrong perspective. 1st) The approach to CEO pay for a large non-profit CANNOT be approached much differently from CEO pay for a large corporation. Why? While there are surely a multitude of positions within a charitable organization that can pay based on the size of an employee's heart to a greater extent than for the size of an employee's skill, the CEO is not one of them. There are two basic reasons. Firstly, an organization of Samaritan Purse's magnitude and undoubted organizational complexity (non-profit, NGO, corporation, or otherwise) MUST attract an individual who is an excellent steward of the organization's assets. This means finding someone with a ton of a talent, decades of experience, and a rare skill set that involves managing - in this case - millions and millions of dollars in revenue and assets. That doesn't come cheap. In order to compete with high-paying firms that need great CEOs to do the exact same thing, non-profits have no choice but to compete on pay. Additionally, after some of the issues with big non-profits like Goodwill, it is imperative that a CEO be incentivized to uphold the core values of the organization and to, again, be an excellent steward of its assets. Because stock options are not an "option," in the case of a non-profit, salary is the only option. 2nd) What we should really be asking is why a non-profit is retaining 10% of revenue (primarily from donations) instead of spending it on programs; that's over $37 million in this case, folks. That's $37 million that's just sitting around not helping people who could use it. There are a few reasons (beyond idiotic management) that could explain this, but maybe it would better to look into something meaningful like that, instead of worrying about a CEO who is paid at a considerably lower % of expenses that a whole host of CEOs at other non-profits. For example, is this excess the result of forward planning in lieu of the potential Euro-zone meltdown, or the general volatility of the market over the last couple of years (which could ultimately result in a steep decline in donation funds in the matter of, say, only a few months... if that)? Maybe, within the regions in which Samaritan's Purse operates, it has simply exhausted its volunteer base, and has no ability to increase its operations to a point of alignment with the company's current donation potential. If the latter is the case, then they definitely don't need that extra 10% every year, and you might consider being cautious when making the decision to give. 3rd) There was an individual who gave the organization a 5 out of 5, apparently based solely on having participated in downstream, donation-acquisition activities. I would caution that it is the organization's macro financing and ultimately a thorough appraisal of its efforts abroad and/or in the inner cities (depending on the organization) that have a considerably more valuable bearing on its success in terms of making a difference for those who need the assistance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This 'samaritan's purse' is surely bulging! Must be the highest paid of ngo execs! DONORS BEWARE!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 29, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I'm adding my comments, not as a donor or a volunteer, but as a person seeing unjust accusations being made on this review page. I am in the process of looking for another charitable organization to commit to, and came across these reviews of Samaritan's Purse. I am impressed with the ratings and intended purpose of this organization, especially compared with other non-profits I've come across. Being a bookkeeper and financial manager, the financials interest me, and I like what I see here. All the hoopla about Franklin Graham's salary are overblown when you put them into perspective. His salary accounts for a mere .15% of what the organization brings in. That's FAR LESS THAN ONE PERCENT! This is by no means out of the question for running a very large and successful ministry. Even with only a tiny fraction of the revenues going to Mr. Graham, the Lord still blesses his efforts and his faithfulness, as He promises in the Scriptures. I have only given four stars simply because I have not yet had any personal experience with this ministry.
March 4, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 4, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

While government agencies are arguing over how to distrubute promised aid to the hurting Samaritan Purse is first in action to help the poor and broken. This organization is remarkable

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am always trying to give to charitable organizations. Samaritan Purse has been a wonderful tool to connect those wanting to give and those needing to overcome tragedy

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know at this time

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers