Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
123.645
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our church is involved with Operation Christmas Child, which is how I became acquainted with Samaritan's Purse. I admire the work they do around the world through this program. In November, 2012 I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Haiti and work with a group of US volunteers at the Greta Home and Academy in Leogane, Haiti. I was so impressed with the SP leadership I met in Haiti, and just the overall experience I had. Our accomodations were by no means luxurious, but we were well taken care of and SP took our safety seriously. The Greta home, which is now operating, is a beacon of light that shines in a spiritually dark and corrupted country, yet beautiful and full of potential. God is doing great things through SP there. I cant think of another organization that I would rather support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 23, 2013

am a singer ,a christian singer ,JESUS CHRIST is my GOD ,AM LOOKING FOR A SPONSOR ,AM A CONGOLESE REFUGEE HERE IN UGAANDA,I HAVE ONE SINGLE ON YOUTUBE http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lq_G9wPyLYk PLEASE HELP ME IN JESUS CHRIST S NAME

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am currently volunteering with this organization to help with hurricane disaster relief in nj. They are doing amazing work. I am Christian but not a church goer and have to admit I am always cautious of any large group in power whether political or religious. That being said, the amount of work this group gets done is amazing. They are truly making a huge difference in peoples lives every day. I have volunteered with other organizations that are not as organized and not as productive. Samaritan purse is not that way. They send out teams of volunteers who simply act. They do whatever is needed... no questions asked. They rip up carpet, pack up a house, tear up carpet, clean out moldy furniture, offer a listening ear, seriously anything needed. Thus far I have been very impressed. I have read the leader makes a huge salary which disagree with however, that aside they are great. My recommendation would be to volunteer with them. If you are concerned about donating money, don't. Volunteers are an organizations greatest asset . Honestly, any big organization needs some money for administration costs. It takes money to mobilize volunteers and get work done. I can honestly say though that the team of 20 volunteers I worked with yesterday did 10,000$ worth of work in 6 hours. That's huge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Valuable, fun experience to understand your cash donation or christmas shoebox is benefiting a child and their holiday. Equipping them with gifts at Christams and making it a memorable experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There is no greater pleasure than seeing the smile of the kids opening their shoe boxes and knowing that what you are giving really goes to what it was destinated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Waisting resources? Could not have been more disappointed. I would caution anyone considering going on one of their missions trips to consider if their money and time could be better spent somewhere else. Maybe a group that is more accountable? We sent our young adult child on a trip that was meant to have both a medical and dental clinic as our child was preparing for medical school. NEITHER the medical clinic or the dental clinic WERE DONE on the two week trip. We did not find out until we could talk to our child when the group returned. No one told us and no one addressed it after the return. The group were just told they "didn't have a doctor" once they were down there like it was not big deal. They never so much as SAW a clinic. I wonder if this may happen frequently and unsuspecting volunteers miss out of contributing economically and physically in ways they had intended and raised funds for. The volunteers instead spent two weeks doing: some time at an orphanage and mostly distributing christmas boxes and playing with kids (often giving boys the girl boxes because they did not have the right amount of each gender) and they dug trenches by hand for two weeks (side note: daily pouring rain and mud). Prior to the trip, volunteers are encouraged to have their friends donate directly. The problem with this is that people unknowingly keep giving AFTER personal fundraising goals have been reached. I think this is done strategically by them and I believe it to be manipulative. We later found out our raised funds far exceeded the required funding for the medical and dental clinic trip (that WERE NOT EVEN DONE). We PERSONALLY raised more than the allotted funds and we had no say on where the additional hundreds and hundreds of dollars were to go. The youth raised enough for a medical and dental clinic. Neither were done and the money they raised for the clinic was of course not reimbursed or applied to them doing a clinic in the future. There were a few pre-med students on this trip anticipating to pay for incoming university and instead they invested in THIS GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT. There is no way the $3500+ that each person was asked to donate could be used up on only group reduced air fair and sleeping in a continually rained-out tent. Plus, like I said earlier, we raised quite a bit more than the minimum. WOuld not recommend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I an currently a Year Round Volunteer with Samaritan's Purse/Operation Christmas Child. During the past two years as shoe box gift packer, Project Leader for our church, Drop Off Location organizer and now Area Coordinator for Scottsdale, Paradise Valley and Fountain Hills, AZ, I can honestly say I have been behind the scenes of this organization. They not only care about the children who receive the shoe box, but they also care about the volunteers and the people who pack the shoe boxes on "this side of the box". I only have good words and praise to say about this organization and before you make your comments based on the $$ amount paid to Franklin Graham, perhaps you should take a better look as to how they are accounting VERY CLOSELY all the monies and gifts that come in for needy children around the world. Thank you Samaritan's Purse/Operation Christmas Child for blessing me with the opportunity and privilege to work along side a well run organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

I volunteered in New Orleans after Katrina and also in Haiti for cholera treatment volunteering as an RN and every time I have been nothing but highly impressed with the quality of their work, their supplies, and the effort they make to maintain the safety of the volunteers. There was no fancy accommodation, basic needs were met, but they were all genuine people of God, with a big job to do and they did it with great enthusiasm and without judgement

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They save lives, physically and spiritually, and give people hope and love

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate and volunteer more!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers