Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
123.5263245
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am currently volunteering with this organization to help with hurricane disaster relief in nj. They are doing amazing work. I am Christian but not a church goer and have to admit I am always cautious of any large group in power whether political or religious. That being said, the amount of work this group gets done is amazing. They are truly making a huge difference in peoples lives every day. I have volunteered with other organizations that are not as organized and not as productive. Samaritan purse is not that way. They send out teams of volunteers who simply act. They do whatever is needed... no questions asked. They rip up carpet, pack up a house, tear up carpet, clean out moldy furniture, offer a listening ear, seriously anything needed. Thus far I have been very impressed. I have read the leader makes a huge salary which disagree with however, that aside they are great. My recommendation would be to volunteer with them. If you are concerned about donating money, don't. Volunteers are an organizations greatest asset . Honestly, any big organization needs some money for administration costs. It takes money to mobilize volunteers and get work done. I can honestly say though that the team of 20 volunteers I worked with yesterday did 10,000$ worth of work in 6 hours. That's huge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

A year ago I made a operation Christmas child box and enjoyed the process. However now I am completely disappointed with Samaritan's purse because I was sent an email of a political nature which really turned me off. I've noticed that the organization has an extreme right wing point of view. From here on out I will only donate to groups in which their only point of view is helping people. I think it is very unchristian to have such a strong political stance that undermines outreach. If the CEO was less outspoken I might still be donating to samaritan's purse. I will be continuing to donate to Lutheran world relief an excellent relief organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've been a regular donor to SP for a few years, but Franklin Graham's recent political commentary has me greatly concerned, especially where it pertains to same-sex marriage. I didn't realize that SP's mission includes promoting their political agenda, and I refuse to have my contributions used to support bigotry. As a result, I've become disillusioned with SP and have not donated since May. I'm still prayerfully considering whether I should resume, but at this point I have no confidence that my contributions will not be supporting such un-Christ-like behavior.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This is the second year we have put together christmas packages for children (3 - one from each of my children). It is a nice experience for them. I am very saddened to see a CEO of a non-profit making $400,000 plus. It is pure greed. I think with conscience NO CEO's of non profits should take more then $200,000 for their work. Shame on Mr. Graham and the board for allowing this.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I was wounded by an IED in Afghanistan in 2010. Afterwards there are many obstacles, both physically and mentally that must be overcome in order to return to life before the injury. My wife and I were selected to participate in Operation Heal Our Patriots (A project of Samaritans Purse), where we could focus on reconnecting as a couple. This was the first time in the two years following the incident that we were able to focus on us, without the kids. What else can i say except, "WOW...WORLD CLASS!" It was a truly amazing once in a lifetime opportunity and we are a stronger unit now than ever. Every contributing member we met during the event touched our lives and we look forward to reuniting with them in the spring of 2013. This is a top-tier Non-profit and I encourage anyone who can to get involved and support there efforts. Thank You Samaritans Lodge Staff!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization and its volunteers are exemplary! They fulfill every professional, personal and spiritual standard above the level anyone can measure! Their level of work, kindness, integrity, help, time, efforts, resolutions and follow-up surpass most other groups and organizations in their genre which is public service. There are perhaps four others that equal them in our country, the USA. That's a great rating! I have excellent, rigorous professional standards for an organization to meet a qualified standard in its practice and levels of care and operation. This one, Samaritan's Purse, exceeds every one! I am deeply grateful professionally and personally for their existence and everything they do in the USA and Internationally. Yes, the BBB has unfortunately not corrected their evaluative information which is indeed unfortunately inaccurate and misleading.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

BBB is a joke! They falsely claim to be lacking information that is clearly spelled out in Samaritan Purse's Annual Financial Disclosure. After posting an erroneous review on Samaritan's Purse, BBB asked me for money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The BBB rates them as "Standards not met" and cites some clear and cogent reasons for doing so: http://www.bbb.org/charity-reviews/national/religious/samaritans-purse-in-boone-nc-281 Why would a NGO of this size not state their fundraising costs in their annual report? Power corrupts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Valuable, fun experience to understand your cash donation or christmas shoebox is benefiting a child and their holiday. Equipping them with gifts at Christams and making it a memorable experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

There is no greater pleasure than seeing the smile of the kids opening their shoe boxes and knowing that what you are giving really goes to what it was destinated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers