Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 4, 2013

I started volunteering at The Samaritan Women through my company last fall and have been coming back pretty much every week since then. When I arrived with my company, we were put to work on the farm, cleaning up the grounds and harvesting in the fields. It was amazingly liberating and freeing work and excellently organized experience. My co-workers regularly ask me when we are going to go back.

I continued to volunteer with the farm when I had the opportunity to begin working in the residence with the ladies. I began doing overnights and seeing them regularly once a week. It's been a fantastic experience seeing them as they grow and work through their personal change. Jeanne and the other staff are warm, compassionate but very candid and no nonsense with the ladies that come in to the house. It's like a huge family that talks and learns and goes through the ups and downs of life. I've learned so much coming in to this environment and have been able to form real relationships with the women and others in my life.

Jeanne invited me to join the ladies for a conference that I thought was linked to victims of human trafficking but was actually a Women of Faith conference. My oversight Mind you, I haven't stepped in a church (outside of funerals) since I was 7 and haven't been particularly religious. Even when I was volunteering The Samaritan Women never once pressured me to worship or practice. They utilize faith as a pillar for guidance, not use religion as a means to push an agenda which was so different from any other experience that I've ever had.

When I went to the conference, it was the first time I have really experienced true love and community worshiping God. It was a brief epiphany but Jeanne and the other staff and residents at TSW have been incredibly supportive in my exploration of my faith, providing me with reading materials, inviting me to worship with them and then inviting me to bible study with them.

I cannot thank Samaritan Women enough for their kindness, support, wisdom and guidance through this experience. I came in to help them and they ended up helping me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 27, 2013

Our Father/Son group at LifePoint Church volunteered on a Saturday this Spring to remove debris, leaves and weeds from the grounds. We learned more about the mission from a presentation prior to us getting started that gave us a more detailed understanding of the day to day operation and what motivates the staff. I had a chance to meet the staff prior to our work day and was blown away by their desire to serve women who have been trafficked.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to give them more resources

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

I am fortunate to have been involved at The Samaritan Women since early in its history. The quality and consistency of care from Executive Director, Jeanne Allert, and her staff is nothing short of amazing. They go above and beyond the call in servicing those woman who are entrusted to their care. A truly special place of healing. It's an honor to be a part on this ministry.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I came across Samaritan Women shortly after its inception about 5 years ago. Since then I've worked with its leaders in various ways, from recruiting donors of paving materials and signs, to making connections at the VA, to selecting the prime HVAC renovation contractor, to working with outside CPAs for the first audits, based on my own vocation as a CPA/CFO -- to cutting the grass. Members of my church have actively worked on fundraising, and farm and renovation projects.

This charity is one of the most pure and cost-efficient I have encountered in my career. The facilities are unique, and the outpouring of well-deployed volunteers is extraordinary. The residence, the farm, and the message address acute needs of our times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 9, 2013

The Samaritan Women is a very special place. When I first started volunteering at TSW with St. Mary Coptic Orthodox Church in Savage it was towards the beginning of the project. Our love for TSW, its... more

April 5, 2013

The Samaritan Women is amazing non-profit that is actually changing lives in Baltimore. This place doesn't stop expanding. The amazing staff and board never says 'it's enough.' God bless you! We love you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013

The Samaritan Women is a very special place. When I first started volunteering at TSW with St. Mary Coptic Orthodox Church in Savage it was towards the beginning of the project. Our love for TSW, its leaders, and its vision has kept volunteers from our church coming back on a regular basis. We have participated in a variety of projects to transform the facility from its original state including: painting, drywalling, gardening, farming, wood/paint stripping, trash removal, etc. Today TSW is a beautiful and blessed place that welcomes and cares for women who have endured trauma. We are blessed to be a part of what they are doing and hope to continue to work with them for many years to come. God bless you TSW!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

Three things you should know about "TSW"--

Huge army of volunteers, whatever your skill, they can use it! I am helping with corporate donations

Inspiring site-- 23 acres right nearby where 695 meets 144 -- big urban farm

The staff is singularly focused on helping victims
of human trafficking, and very open to new ideas and helpers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2013

more

February 8, 2013

TSW is a terrific, now 6-year old story of TRANSFORMATION. Most important, the Residence and its Staff are helping women who are victims of sex trafficking restore their lives. And on 23 acres, they've restored the land (now has a farm, and soon also a 300-seat Amphitheater) and the property (2 buildings, 2 greenhouses).

If you are looking for a place where your time, prayers or donations will fly straight to the hurting and with maximum impact and efficiency, www.thesamaritanwomen.org is it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013

more

February 7, 2013

When I first started volunteering at TSW, I had no idea how much my life would be completely changed by their work. From the farm to the residence, and their work with survivors, I love every second that I spend here. The staff are intelligent and friendly, receptive to criticisms, and very approachable about new groups and events. Everyone should be so lucky to have a volunteer organization like this one in their life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

I have been able to volunteer a couple of times of the past couple years or so. Majority of my time volunteering has been spent helping TSW do yard work, building retaining walls, or basic up keep around the property. It was extremely rewarding volunteering in this manner in order to help them reach their goals. I highly recommend it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 2, 2013

more

January 2, 2013

I have volunteered at this wonderful organization for several years and am amazed at how far it has come in such a short time. I first learned about TSW through my church and fell in love with its values, beliefs, and dedication to serving a marginalized population that is often forgotten in society. Later, I signed up to serve at TSW through a service learning program at UMBC for a semester. I always enjoyed volunteering at TSW and was encouraged by the passion that I saw in all TSW staff.
TSW is a blessing to the community and I am sure that it will continue to be successful as more members come through its doors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers