Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

I don't know exactly how to put into words how much Salute, Inc. means to my family. Shortly after my husband was wounded while on a mission overseas, I received a phone call from Salute saying that they'd like to help my family. With bills instantly piling up due to trips to the hospital, needing care for my children, etc. they were an answer to our prayers. The thing is that it wasn't about them paying a bill for us, it was their true dedication and sincerity that meant the most. After about 10-15 surgeries, my husband decided to step away from his military career and retire because he could no longer do the job he loved to do. It was an extremely scary decision, but we decided to move back home to Illinois and start this new chapter in our lives. Because we were moving to the same state that Salute is located, we have been able to give back to the organization that graciously gives to so many veterans. We've continued our relationship with Salute by helping to raise money for other families and speak about our story at events. They've been the calm in our storm and the link from military to civilian life for my family. Because of Salute, we're now able to pay it forward to so many who have sacrificed. Without Salute, moving would have been that much scarier but being around those who understand what we've been through feels like home. It's security. It's friendship. It's honor. If anyone is looking for an organization to donate to, please consider Salute, Inc. you won't regret it.
November 20, 2014

more

November 20, 2014

Salute Inc is more of a family then it is a nonprofit organization. I mean they are and they help out in so many different ways when other companies just look at you as the next number in a line of people to be helped. Salute Inc takes time to get to know you on an individual basis and find out what your needs really are and the best way to meet those needs to help you in the best way possible. They have helped me with getting my finances in order by providing a counselor to help figure out a budget and get control of my spending. Salute Inc has been so generous in that they almost every year for the past 4 years have given my daughter presents on Christmas through one of their programs. They donated me a laptop so that I could be more organized and help keep my schedule and life in order as well as keep in touch with people and my friends better. I am now trying to be a part of giving back and paying forward what they have given me by volunteering my time to kelp in anyway I can. I help with fundraising ideas and have helped by speaking about Salute Inc and the different ways they help veterans and their families and myself. They truly have compassion and passion for the people they help and the job they are doing. They really make you feel like they are on your side and will be there with you through the hard times and them help get you to better times. I don't think of Mary Beth and the staff as just "workers or volunteers" but more as my extended family. They go above and beyond in whatever way they can to help veterans and their families needs.
January 31, 2013

more

January 31, 2013

My name is Jeremy Votaw and I served in the US Army from Jan 03 to Feb 06.In fall of 2004 I was wounded during a combat operation and spent my last years of service in and out of the hospital.After my service in the military I got a job back home.I worked there for about three years before my injuries and pain overcame my ability to perform my job.This is due to being shot multiple times in the left leg.The result of this injury,I suffer from arthritis in my back,both knees and in my hips.I also suffer from PTSD.When my wife and I heard about Salute,it couldn't have come at a better time.I was struggling with receiving my benifits and with my wife the only one working we got behind on our bills.Salute was able to help us not once but a couple of times!Of course that wasn't the end of our troubles.With a crippling economy my wife was let go due to cutbacks.I was yet to receive my benifits and we were looking at no light at the end of the tunnel.Salute once again was able to help us and got others in there network involved and gave our children a Christmas to remember.If not for Salute and their amazing staff,I don't know where my family would be.They were able to keep us afloat just as I started receiving my VA benifits.Salute asked for nothing in return other than this.....to please tell others like yourself about us so we may help them. None of their mission would be possible if it weren't for incredible people that not only volunenteer but also help through donations.For it all I'm truly grateful.Thank you Salute and thank you to the people who support their cause.You too are the wind beneath our wings.Thank you and God bless Salute.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2012

Salute Inc is a wonderful organization, that truly helps veterans of our military. I am an Air Force officer, who served 6 tours of duty in Iraq and Afghanistan. As I was preparing to leave Iraq from my last tour of duty, I had a breakdown on the plane, and we were forced to emergency land in Qatar. From there, my diagnosis was made, PTSD and TBI. I was flown stateside and spent about 3 months in the hospital. My PTSD is 100% disabling. My life is not the same and never will be. In addition to the stressors of dealing with PTSD/TBI, money worries were a constant. It takes a great deal of time to get benefits in place, both military and VA. During this time we became behind on some bills, had our furnace break down, requiring a new one, and had a car accident involving a deer. Salute Inc, was there for us in a heartbeat. They made the application process streamlined and got our bills paid for us in short order, so we could concentrate on the business of trying to heal and deal with our new normal. I am not sure how we could have done it without Salute Inc. Thank you, Salute Inc Written by Kimberly K Cox, POA for Major David Cox, USAF, RET

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 15, 2012

My husband Cpl Yuriy Zmysly is an injured Iraq war veteran, he has a severe anoxic brain injury due to lack of oxygen after a surgery on base. He served two tours overseas and was awarded many medals. Because Yuriy wasn't injured in combat, we had a hard time trying to find groups that would help us. From the moment we met Salute Inc back in 2007, they offered their help right away. Because of Salute Inc, my husband has rehab equipment at home that he uses everyday, he has an adaptive bike that he rides outside, and they helped us get a home that is completely wheelchair accessible. All of these things helped change our lives for the better. We have our independence back, that we had lost after he was injured. We will always have Salute Inc in our hearts and they will always be a part of our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers