Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.588245
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

My son and I did the Meals on Wheels program for a few weeks at Sage. Everyone that worked there was very pleasant and welcoming. We moved out of state or I would still be volunteering at Sage. Great group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Working with the SAGE Meals on Wheels program delivering to those who cannot manage on their own has been a real eye-opener for me. Each client has their own story and they feel so much more connected to their community knowing they can easily reach out to SAGE and will hear a friendly and helpful voice on the phone. It is a privilege to get to know the seniors on my route, and to see how grateful they are when you enter their home with their meal. The seniors are also thrilled that they can receive home repairs at very low cost to them through SAGE's many programs. The seniors can trust the workers who come their homes.
On the occasion when I cannot deliver, my daughter takes over and they love to get to know the family and that we would not let them down; they are important to us.
I have seen how relieved a husband is when his wife with dementia can attend the Spend a Day program, and he can run errands and not have to be confined to the house looking after his wife.
And on a personal level, I have gained important knowledge about how to deal with my own aging parents through their many free classes, for example, keeping the home safe from accidents.
Thank you to SAGE for being there, and for being in the forefront of eldercare in our community.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

Sage is an exemplary institution helping our elderly navigate their later years and helping those who care for the elderly gain useful perspective. I have served Sage as a volunteer and my husband has been involved as a member of the Board of Trustees. We are proud that Sage is located in Summit and serves the broader community at large in such a worthwhile manner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a Sage office in every community with over 20,000 residents!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have volunteered with SAGE for over ten years. When I initially reached out to SAGE looking to serve as a volunteer, they were kind enough to give me a role that would allow me to volunteer with my children by my side. As a member of the Meals on Wheels team, my work with SAGE stands out as my most fulfilling volunteer experience. My four children have joined me over the years as we delivered food to those in need in our community. It provided them with invaluable multi-generational experiences and allowed them to serve the elderly in their community. We have made wonderful friendships not only with the people we deliver to but also with other elderly people who live in the housing complex we go to and members of the SAGE staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

SAGE plays a very critical and supportive role for older adults and caregivers in the communities near Summit, Chatham, etc. As a long time volunteer in their Meals On Wheels program I have seen the difference their daily interactions make to isolated adults for whom SAGE may be the only social touch for the day. Their professionalism, care and continuous and consistent support provide a bench mark for other NGOs in the area. Hopefully more financial support from the communities will allow growth in their numerous older adult support services programs

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 12, 2013

SAGE consistently fulfills it's mission of assisting seniors and caregivers. But what really amazes me is how SAGE reacts to local crisis. With Hurricane Sandy, NJ was devastated. Sage offered safe haven for clients and warming and charging stations for the community. Home health aides followed their clients to shelters and hotels. The non- perishable pantry was completly spent to provide meals for clients. Despite the danger and their own problems, Meal-on-Wheels volunteers continued to serve the needs of vulnerable seniors. I am so proud to be a SAGE volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the programs and services to address more needs of seniors and caregivers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

As a volunteer and donor, I am always impressed by how warm and personable the staff at SAGE is. Sage provides vital services in the community, including Meals of Wheels, grocery delivery, adult Spend-A-Day, and home health aides, but it is really the staff and the people that work there make it such a special place. I truly enjoy making my Meals on Wheels runs and seeing the clients - it really is a highlight of my week!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help deliver Meals On Wheels, grocery shop, work in our Resale Shop or Furniture Restoration Workshop Volunteer