Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.55
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., it's founder and CEO Esta Bernstein, foster caregiver Janie Oliver, horse trainer Tiffany Jenkins, and the many unnamed volunteers and financial supporters embody and daily carry out the mission of this non-profit organization to rescue and rehabilitate neglected and abused horses (special expertise for Arabians but accept all other breeds too). I was extremely excited to find an 8 year old Arabian Mare (perfect age and horse breed for my granddaughter and me) on the "Rescue Me" website, which assists many rescue agencies to find new homes for rehabilitated animals of all kinds; the initial response from Esta Bernstein of "adoption already in progress" was disappointing but life goes on and, problems with my email account and changes did occur. Restored email account showed a later email from Esta that this Arabian Mare had not been adopted and the contact information for the foster care giver renewed the hope and excitement. The "in-person" meeting with the horse was also attended by the foster caregiver, the horse trainer and my immediate family members; this organization draws from it's involved volunteers' feedback of the suitability of horse and prospective adopter(s)!! Endorsed by the foster caregiver, an inspection of the proposed new home/ stable & stall was scheduled and conducted by Esta; she also personally "interviewed" (awesome whisperer-in-action event) each of the boarded horses and pony :). Upon her approval of the facility and my adoption of the Arabian Mare, Esta told me that she would be continuously available to answer all of my questions and address all my concerns even after completion of the adoption process -- indeed Esta is easily accessible and, even responded to my questions on Thanksgiving !!! Just as incredible is the accessibility of the foster caregiver, the horse trainer and the recommended professional horse transporter. In short, when you adopt a rescued horse from Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., you get adopted by Esta Bernstein and all the volunteers involved with the rehabilitation of that particular horse :). Esta freely shares her wealth of research findings and longtime hands-on experiences pertaining to "A through Z" of equines such as wholesome and nutritional feed, use of non-chemical and non-toxic products to maximize and maintain the health and balance of body and mental functions for longevity and prolonged physical activity soundness. I am now supported by the far reaching connections of an even bigger "Horse Family" which makes my stewardship of this incredible Arabian Mare even more enjoyable. As we are in the annual season of gratitude and giving, I want to encourage everyone to appreciate and send donations to Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., since it's mission is to rescue horses from the plight of neglect and abuse, rehabilitate the body and spirit of each and, to place the horses with suitable stewards so the trust and positive partnership between hunan and horse is restored.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support Saffrye Sanctuary, a non-profit organization, to procure enough donations and grants for acquisition of it's own stable facility in order to increase it's capacity to take in horses requiring rescue and rehabilitation services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Esta and John are devoted and talented leaders of this amazing sanctuary. The horses are cared for inside and out. Esta puts so much thought into every step of each horse's rehabilitation and care, giving all of them the love they need in order to be ready to go to the right permanent home.

I came with no horse experience, but Esta and John patiently taught me the ropes. Now I feel confident with the horses, and I enjoy working hard and learning more every time I go back.

Most of all though, I appreciate the time given to every volunteer to get to know the horses while we work. The most rewarding part of volunteering is the deep relationships that volunteers form with all of the wonderful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

What started as a volunteer opportunity for my 10 year old daughter has turned into a labor of love for my whole family. In the last few months, this group of patient, caring people and the amazing animals they care for have turned us all into horse lovers. I know we benefit as much as the horses do from our time together - it's truly therapeutic! We are so grateful for this experience and plan to keep helping by making time each week to volunteer, and giving as generously as we can manage. Join in!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more funding so they could help even more horses in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

Saffyre Sanctuary does everything right to rehabilitate, care for and love abused and neglected horses. Please help them all you can by donating land or money for this very valuable nonprofit with heart! Liz Mitten Ryan, Equinisity Retreats.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

This organization has a GREAT BIG HEART for helping horses. and the people who love them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing they do could be better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

Esta Bernstein, the owner of Saffyre Sanctuary has always impressed me because she and her gang have saved so many horses thru hard work and donations. She truly cares about the horses and is a true ... more

April 12, 2013

Well I know this is a tough job, it hurts emotionally. I try to rescue whatever I can, its a gotta do it type thing. I have three horses, am allowed to have up to four here on my land (1 acre). I am lucky, I get to live with my horses and I don't know how it could ever be any other way, they are part of me. I see them every day several times, I ride them, train them, feed them, love them and exercise them, I even put them to bed at time in their rooms and provide fresh shavings bi-weekly. Horses are the most wonderfully deep creatures, they just know things. I wish I didn't have to go to work because I would just take care of them more. Horses need a leader and the more you give to them the more they shine.

There are just too many horses and other animals that desperately need good homes. Its a very sad situation. I just don't know what to do about it. I would love to help out if I could, of course, it would make me very happy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

Esta Bernstein, the owner of Saffyre Sanctuary has always impressed me because she and her gang have saved so many horses thru hard work and donations. She truly cares about the horses and is a true humanitarian to all animals. God bless her and thank goodness for Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc. Jan Schommer

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2012

more

December 16, 2012

When it became sadly necessary to place our two horses, we tried placing them on our own as well as other rescue groups with a lot of wasted time and disappointment. It was different with Esta at Saffyre. She just never gave up and ultimately matched each horse with a wonderful home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Thanks to Esta and her Saffyre Sanctuary, I now am the proud onwer of a beautiful Arabian Stallion. He was severly abused & neglected and saved by Esta. He has now been with me 10 months and has regain trust in us, the people. Esta monitored his progress and was always there to answer questions and assist with guidance on his nutritional needs. She doesn't just save the horses, she gives them hope and a new life as well as matching them with their owners. My gratitude is infinite and I only wish more rescues had their own Esta on board. She can manage horses and people with flair & love.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This non profit is being reported for terrorism, harassment and violating policies for publishing private email addresses on a public forum and asking people to email and harass the people. They are not a company you want to do business with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I visited Saffyre Sanctuary recently. The company I work for does a Benefit Horse Show every August. We are searching for the 2013 recipient of our Silent Auction proceeds. I found Esta and the volunteers to be very knowledgeable about Equine Rescue care. They are not just about rescuing horses, but also about educating the public about Equine Safety. I was inspired by the dedication of her and the staff, their stories of rescues, and the sincere desire, determination and commitment to help save horses in need. This program is very well run and organized, and succeeding despite our problematic economy. Sincerely, Lisa Herron

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

feed and groom horses, clean stalls