Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.75
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I visit once a week from 3-7pm. There are 4 rescues and three owned by the founder. The big reward for me is being close to the horses. They appreciate us taking great care of them. This means cleaning their stall, filtering and topping off their water all while talking to them and petting them. Then we turn them out, and bathe a couple. I like to take the newest one Joshua
for a walk. He likes to have face time with the neighboring horses. You can bond w these guys and they are so SWEET! Esta the founder has taught me so much about respecting them. These are the luckiest horses to be in this sanctuary.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Esta and John are inspirational in their care and support for their equine charges. Not only do they spend countless hours and $$ from their own pockets working with the volunteers to feed, groom, clean and love the rescues, but they insist that we take time to LISTEN and just BE with the horses. Thank you Esta and John for your heart work!
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

I just stopped by the stables to visit an old friend who was volunteering at Saffyre Sanctuary. I wasn't there long before i picked up a rake and started helping as I felt the depth of good that was happening there. I now plan to help out at least once a week as helping there feels like I'm a part of something good happening in the world. The horses are also teaching me so much so quickly. I'm learning about pure reciprocal love as the horses love to love and be loved. I'm learning about manifestation and how to work with the universe to co create what I wish to see happen for the horses not yet rescued. I'm happy to have stumbled across this shelter and I love how consciously aware they are of the needs of these beautiful animals. It's a great place to volunteer and be around an important progressive consciousness. It's what I needed.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

Absolutely amazing! Truly a great rescue. Far exceeds any other out there. I cannot say enough good about Esta and everyone else involved.
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I was searching for a place that needed my help when I found Saffyre Sanctuary on line. I had been taking lessons on horse care but I was still a novice. Esta put me to work right away and she and the horses have taught me something new everyday. There is nothing better than learning by doing. I really feel valued by the organization and I feel like I'm making a difference. I love my time there so much I go four days a week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

what a wonderful, caring group!!!!!! thanx for all you do!!!!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I got involved with Saffyre Sanctuary last July (2013) and have loved the time I've spent with Esta, John, and the beautiful horses. Esta has established a very loving and nurturing atmosphere in which all volunteers and individuals that come to the sanctuary learn and grow from one another. Before volunteering, Esta had called me to discuss my hopes and interests in Saffyre. I explained my love for animals and she assured me that I would learn far more from the horses [about myself] than I could imagine. How true that statement has proven to be!

Esta and John both have taught me so much regarding the care and treatment of horses. Both take the time to teach and thoughtfully guide each volunteer, regardless of horse experience, through every learning process. From bathing an Arabian to playing with the a beautiful rescue horse named Lakota, my time spent at Saffyre has been enriching and life-giving. I am so thankful for Esta, John, and the caring individuals who take the time to love on the horses that make Saffyre the unique sanctuary it is.

If you can spare the time, I urge you to visit. It will well be worth your while. All guests are welcomed with open arms. There's just something special about this place; you feel special being there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

A healing place for horses and humans alike! A wonderful group of beings that I am privileged to spend time with. These horses have brought me so much joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., it's founder and CEO Esta Bernstein, foster caregiver Janie Oliver, horse trainer Tiffany Jenkins, and the many unnamed volunteers and financial supporters embody and daily carry out the mission of this non-profit organization to rescue and rehabilitate neglected and abused horses (special expertise for Arabians but accept all other breeds too). I was extremely excited to find an 8 year old Arabian Mare (perfect age and horse breed for my granddaughter and me) on the "Rescue Me" website, which assists many rescue agencies to find new homes for rehabilitated animals of all kinds; the initial response from Esta Bernstein of "adoption already in progress" was disappointing but life goes on and, problems with my email account and changes did occur. Restored email account showed a later email from Esta that this Arabian Mare had not been adopted and the contact information for the foster care giver renewed the hope and excitement. The "in-person" meeting with the horse was also attended by the foster caregiver, the horse trainer and my immediate family members; this organization draws from it's involved volunteers' feedback of the suitability of horse and prospective adopter(s)!! Endorsed by the foster caregiver, an inspection of the proposed new home/ stable & stall was scheduled and conducted by Esta; she also personally "interviewed" (awesome whisperer-in-action event) each of the boarded horses and pony :). Upon her approval of the facility and my adoption of the Arabian Mare, Esta told me that she would be continuously available to answer all of my questions and address all my concerns even after completion of the adoption process -- indeed Esta is easily accessible and, even responded to my questions on Thanksgiving !!! Just as incredible is the accessibility of the foster caregiver, the horse trainer and the recommended professional horse transporter. In short, when you adopt a rescued horse from Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., you get adopted by Esta Bernstein and all the volunteers involved with the rehabilitation of that particular horse :). Esta freely shares her wealth of research findings and longtime hands-on experiences pertaining to "A through Z" of equines such as wholesome and nutritional feed, use of non-chemical and non-toxic products to maximize and maintain the health and balance of body and mental functions for longevity and prolonged physical activity soundness. I am now supported by the far reaching connections of an even bigger "Horse Family" which makes my stewardship of this incredible Arabian Mare even more enjoyable. As we are in the annual season of gratitude and giving, I want to encourage everyone to appreciate and send donations to Saffrye Sanctuary, Inc., since it's mission is to rescue horses from the plight of neglect and abuse, rehabilitate the body and spirit of each and, to place the horses with suitable stewards so the trust and positive partnership between hunan and horse is restored.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Support Saffrye Sanctuary, a non-profit organization, to procure enough donations and grants for acquisition of it's own stable facility in order to increase it's capacity to take in horses requiring rescue and rehabilitation services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Esta and John are devoted and talented leaders of this amazing sanctuary. The horses are cared for inside and out. Esta puts so much thought into every step of each horse's rehabilitation and care, giving all of them the love they need in order to be ready to go to the right permanent home.

I came with no horse experience, but Esta and John patiently taught me the ropes. Now I feel confident with the horses, and I enjoy working hard and learning more every time I go back.

Most of all though, I appreciate the time given to every volunteer to get to know the horses while we work. The most rewarding part of volunteering is the deep relationships that volunteers form with all of the wonderful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

clean stalls, feed and groom horses Volunteer