Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

After a few years most successful coalitions have either slowed down in their efforts or at least leveled off in their achievements. That is NOT true of SAFE (Substance Abuse Free Environment). SAFE continues to "raise the bar". I believe that one reason for SAFE's continuing success is due to this being a true coalition. It is a living organization that is not built on personality or achievemets. The leadership is strong, the vision is clear and the mission is being accomplished.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Substance Abuse Free Environment executes goal oriented initiatives to inform young people about substance abuse and to prevent drug abuse among young people in Chesterfield County, Virginia. G. Wayne Frith, Executive Director, works on and off the clock including weekends to ensure the budget, planning, and correspondence of daily detail runs smoothly for the precise execution of the mission of S.A.F.E. These details include providing Board Members with up to date information on S.A.F.E., providing S.A.F.E. members with informative information of the status of young people in Chesterfield County, Va., describing the level of substance abuse in Chesterfield County, Va., and communicating with prestigious colleges and universities in Virginia. Monica Mastro, Administrative Assistant, diligently organizes, records, and informs S.A.F.E. members’ daily, and she keeps colleagues abreast of current affairs internally and externally. Carol Szakmary, Events Coordinator, schedules S.A.F.E. events and interacts with the community allowing an exchange of information between S.A.F.E and the community. Regina Whitsett, SPF-SIG Coordinator, is a joy to work with. Regina, manages, analyzes, and conducts community surveys of young people in the schools to evaluate the status of young people and substance abuse. Regina plays a crucial role in survey/statistical obtainment of S.A.F.E. along with other members of the S.A.F.E community. Maya Brewer, Community Coordinator, provides a healthy contact/connection and sharing of information between both faith based communities as well as non-faith based communities and S.A.F.E.
S.A.F.E. has sponsored many drug take back events in Chesterfield County, collecting several hundred pounds worth of drugs from the community. S.A.F.E. has sponsored mentoring programs, parent and child programs, and information programs at schools for children and families lowering substance abuse among young people in Chesterfield County. S.A.F.E. has attracted members of the White House as a result of the excellence S.A.F.E. has produced in its efforts to reduce substance abuse among young people in Chesterfield County, Virginia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Having been involved with SAFE for more than 10 years, it is truly gratifying to see thepositive impact this coalition has had on our community, both local, statewide and at the national level. SAFE has continually seized opportunities to address substance abuse issues in our community, and involve community members and businesses in the partnership. Through data collection and analysis, seeking community input and providing community based education, SAFE has served as a role model throughout the area for making change happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Substance Abuse Free Environment is the type of non-profit that every community needs and wants! Through the careful study and analysis of data - this organization is geared to develop environmental strategies that will bring focus, activity and results to the identified problem/issue. From reducing the number of retail outlets that sell alcohol to underage buyers to joining with industry partners to reduce access to inhalents (freon)- SAFE produces change for the betterment of our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

As a concerned community partner from pubic health and now a Board member, I have been involved with SAFE for at least five years. During that time I have been inspired by the member's commitment to protecting and improving the health of our youths and the community through substance abuse prevention efforts. Using knowledge gained from community assessments, passionate individuals have strived to promote and implement environmental strategies for substance abuse prevention, making great strides in positively impacting underage drinking, inlalant use and prescription drug use. SAFE is a dynamic organization that exemplifies, "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world...indeed, it is the only thing that ever has." (Margaret Meade)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

increased awareness of SAFEs initiatives at the local level through increased community partnerships; living in healthier community with changing societal norms related to underage drinking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the depth and breadth of community awareness regarding the positive strides made by SAFE for the health of our youths and community.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I first got involved with SAFE through my job. I soon found out that the SAFE Coalition actually got things done. They "put feet to their words". Because of the way this coalition worked I had a desire to become a board member.

One of the things that has impressed me is the way that
every member is valued for what they can bring to the table no matter how small or large the contribution. Safe is effective at revealing the fact that everyone has something to offer. They truely show that through teamwork we can all make a difference.

This coalition has done it's homework through the years. Using bench marking, assessment tools and innovative approaches SAFE is able to address many substance abuse issues. After addressing issues SAFE is quick to review, evaluate and share data.

Thanks to SAFE's leadership many of us have been more effective at weaving prevention into all aspects of our lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have witnessed the impact that this coalition has had on children and adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness of this coalition so other's can become more involved. Additonal funding would be helpful in reaching this goal.

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

I became involved with SAFE at the invitation of the Executive Director- who had the vision of involving as many partners as he could to be involved with SAFE and more importantly, its mission. Reaching out to an adjacent locality enabled my Coalition to partner with and learn from SAFE's expertise. SAFE has been a leader in the state around issues of Inhalent Abuse prevention, bringing speakers to the community who are experts and who have been personally touched by this troubling problem.
SAFE's work on prevention of underage alcohol abuse has employed effective environmental strategies that are making a difference in the health of our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the results of this organization through my involvement with the terrific staff who willingly share knowledge and resources with my organization- thus multiplying results !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could make changes in this organization I would increase the staffing level so that more great results might be evidenced in different arenas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

Fifteen years ago, as part of my job responsibilities, I was assigned to be my agency's representative to what has now become SAFE. Initially, I remember thinking "what am I doing here?". During the past 15 years, I have had the privilege of working as a volunteer, board member, and board chair, and have witnessed the tremendous growth of SAFE and the positive impact it has had on our community. Thanks to the efforts of SAFE, we have been able to obtain youth survey data that has shocked our community into taking actions to protect our youth. Several initiatives related to inhalant abuse prevetion have not only benefitted our local community, but have been utilized throughout the state and country.
SAFE's efforts to engage the community continue to occur, involving youth, parents, community agencies and local businesses.
I now no longer ask "what am I doing here?".......I now look at what SAFE has been able to accomplish in a relatively short time frame and think "how great that I've been able to play a small role in seeing my community become a better place for our youth!"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

So many of the activities I've been involved with are youth related, and gave me the opportunity to involve my own children in activities to help them understand the effects of making healthy decisions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase staff support to allow us to implement additional activities; continue to add to the active membership of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 22, 2011

more

June 22, 2011

The new National Prevention Strategy states that "prevention should be woven into all aspects our our lives, including where and how we live, learn, work and play." Chesterfield SAFE works tirelessly to make that concept a reality in Chesterfield County. SAFE initiatives have contributed to a measurable decrease in inhalant use in our county and an increase in retailer compliance in not selling alcohol to underage buyers. SAFE is proactive in identifying and addressing substance related risk factors in our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

SAFE materials served as a catalyst for a discussion between me and my child about alcohol use and refusal skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase community members' awareness and involvement in SAFE.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers