Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I have been involved with Safe Sitter for over 20 years as the coordinator of a Safe Sitter site. The program is well designed to engage children's interest and attention for the training. The evaluations of the kids are enthusiastic and they are excited about learning how to take care of children. We now have former Safe Sitters teaching as volunteers. The organization is responsive and professional. They provide comprehensive training and support to their sites, reaching out to organizations to spread the word and teach as many students as possible. It's a valuable service to every community to help students become responsible sitters (and future parents!)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014

more

April 1, 2014

I am an RN and have been a Safe Sitter instructor for 14 years at the facility where I am Education Coordinator. Safe Sitter classes is one of the highlights of the year for us (instructors). I often tell parents of prospective students about not just the life-saving skills that our students learn, but about the "life" skills we teach. Two of our graduates have been instrumental in saving a younger sibling from choking, so that in itself makes everything we do worthwhile. I am such a believer in the program that I am making plans to have a grandson who lives out of state come and stay with me this year so he can attend our classes. All 11-13 year olds would benefit from taking this course.
August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

Safe Sitter collaborates well with Woman's Foundations, Inc. This organization serves great purpose to our community and gives children the opportunity to learn so much about babysitting and more! Their friendly staff makes my job as a site coordinator fun, easy, and manageable. I love working with Safe Sitter, and I look forward to the future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is GREAT and I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I am a nurse and I work in the education department of our local hospital. We have been a Safe Sitter site for about 20 years. We have graduated a lot of safe sitters through the years. We offer classes at our hospital in the summers and we have recently started teaching a class at a local school. The teens enjoy the interactive activities and they are so proud of themselves when they graduate from a class. The parents love that their child has learned lifesaving skills as well as lifelong skills. Employers love that they have a skilled and knowledgeable teen left in charge of their children. We hear from parents after every class about how much their child enjoyed the Safe Sitter class. They are also amazed at the skills the teens have learned. It's a great program that teaches kids things that they will use their entire life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I am a nurse and a Safe Sitter instructor. I think that Safe Sitter is a wonderful program that helps children become more confident in their childcare and emergency skills. It also helps build self confidence and promotes better communication skills while teaching about the importance of responsibility. The information is well organized, easy to teach, and presented in a fun manner. The Safe Sitter website is also very user friendly and their staff responds to questions in a timely manner.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

St. Luke’s Children’s Hospital, Boise, Idaho, has been offering the Safe Sitter Program in our community since 2005. As the Site Coordinator and an instructor, it is important being a Children’s Hospital that the program we offer is evidence-based, fun to teach and fun for the participants. We offer monthly classes and it’s not uncommon that our classes are full two months in advance, resulting in us offering more. We are frequently asked to bring this fun class to our outreach rural communities. In 2012 we taught over 250 class participants how to properly care for children and have fun in the process. To date in 2013 we have taught over 300 young people and we are only half way through the year! I never lack for instructors for teaching this class. It helps to bring out the child in all of us!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Safe Sitter has been a valuable program in the Yakima Valley. In 2012 we educated 95 with the Safe Sitter curriculum, with popular demand we have educated 127 so far in 2013. Thank you Safe Sitter you are helping us save lives in our community.

Kate Sansom

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them do site visits.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013

more

July 31, 2013

I have been teaching Safe Sitter for almost 10 years. What an incredible program for young people to attend, whether or not they plan to babyist! I have a background in childcare as well as emergency medical services and I honestly believe that Safe Sitter covers EVERYTHING a babysitter may face.
I will definitely have my two boys attend the course when they are of age and I encourage all of my friends and family members to send their children when they are between 11-13 years old.
Love Safe Sitter!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Safe Sitter is very well-organized and well-developed. The staff is always friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. I cannot think of anything I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I am a site coordinator for safe sitter and also a safe sitter instructor. This is a very well run program and they are very willing to do what needs to be done to help teaching sites.
Their materials are top quality and the student participants love the program.
I always enjoy reading the
students comments at the end of class.
How this make make them better baby sitters now but better parents in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I am the director of a community wellness program at a Children's Hospital. We have worked with Safe Sitter for over 25 years and have always been impressed with the quality of the materials, the support for our program and the professionalism of the trainers. Every year we host an instructor training with national trainers coming in to conduct the workshops. Safe Sitter is so well organized that we always have the materials ahead of time with a trainer who is personable and well prepared.
The response of the community to this program is overwhelming as we now have young adults who were trained as Safe Sitters now teaching the program as instructors. We feel it offers the most comprehensive and age appropriate model for helping kids learn how to care for young children and hopefully prepare them for parenting. As soon as we put the summer schedule of classes out, the classes begin to fill. The quality of the program makes it sell itself. We are proud to be a Safe Sitter site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything. They are responsive, supportive and work with us to offer scholarships to low income students. They maintain consistent quality and fidelity in the information offered as well as the manner of presentation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers