Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I have been an instructor in the Safe Sitter program since around 1998. It has been a most enjoyable and rewarding expereince. We have served adolescents ages 11 - 13 in our community every summer for over 20 years--even before I joined our community hospital. Young people at this age are very inquisitive and, for the most part, eager to learn. The content of the course is very good information to have at this time in their lives. Actually, it's good information for anyone to have. As the Safe Sitter motto says--"Better Sitters Today, Better Parents Tomorrow."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Really nothing. Safe Sitter has done a very good job of "changing with the times." There are 3 different versions of the Safe Sitter course that the teaching site may choice from. And, within those three versions, there are multiple ways to teach each version. This is very important for a department of a hospital, which is has to be ever changing to meet the needs of our community. Plus, teaching support is just excellent. The home office is always very accessible and easy to deal with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

It is with pleasure and honor that I recommend Safe Sitter for the “Great Non-profits”. It has been a great experience working with Safe Sitter Inc. We are a Volunteer Fire Department and wanted to add Safe Sitter to our Injury Prevention Programs. We contacted Safe Sitter and they were an excellent resource in helping us get out program up and running. We were able to get our staff certified to teach the program at our pace with a lot of assistance from Safe Sitter Inc. We have taught a couple of classes in our local area and the participants have had grave reviews about the program. One of the best reviews I heard was when asked what you would change about the program, the answer given was “Nothing it was perfect the way it is”. On behalf of the Friendswood Volunteer Fire Department Inc. I would like to say thank you to Safe Sitter Inc. and would highly recommend them for the “Great Non-Profits”.

Roy L. Hunter
Assistant EMS Chief
Friendswood Volunteer Fire Department Inc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Safe Sitter is an excellent program for boys or girls to attend. Even if they never baby sit all the material presented is medically accurate and they are learning life skills. The skills learned are important in every aspect of life from learning how to make positive first impression to how how to call 911 and preform CPR and clear the airway of a choking child. I recommend this program to every one I meet with children as soon as they reach the required age.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes necessary

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I am a RN and we just implemented the Safe Sitter class at my facility and I could not be more excited about it. We have received an outpouring of requests for this course. Its reputation precedes itself and many parents took the course when they were young and now are sending a second generation for this most important training. The kids are so excited about learning how to save a life and if I can make a difference in even one child’s life then I am upholding the mission of this program. As a nurse and a mother I want all babysitters to be prepared for the worst but also HAVE FUN. I would feel more comfortable entrusting my child’s life to a Safe Sitter and hope to train many more to come! The staff that run the program are extremely helpful and responsive. They are willing to assist in any way possible to ensure that the program continues to reach the community. What an awesome program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2014

more

April 10, 2014

I am a Nurse Practitioner and this is my first year being involved with the instruction of the Safe Sitter Program. With reviewing the course content I became excited to help students learn how to be a Safe Sitter. The program keeps the students engaged with real life information. Students are provided with the knowledge to keep both the children they are watching and themselves safe! This is an excellent program that I am proud to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2014

more

April 4, 2014

I introduced Safe Sitter to our rural community through my family practice. I am so impressed with this program! It provides a great foundation for the basics of child care and choking rescue, but also teaches the sitter personal safety skills they can apply to other circumstances they might encounter. I especially like the way Safe Sitter encourages the children to seek the help of adults, either a designated individual or the EMS system, while providing skills to act on their own as well. It is a great model for adults and children working together, and for youth development. The children's reviews of the program are very positive. We invite the Sheriff or the EMS director to the closing ceremonies to commend the children for learning to be Safe Sitters, and to make the EMS system have a face for them. The support staff at Safe Sitter is accessible, friendly and helpful. A great nonprofit I highly recommend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I haven't found that need yet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I thought that a babysitting certification course would help our local, church-owned camp. I called another organization to determine the teacher certification and was told about the many pre-requisites and the perhaps 2-year time-delay, I found the Safe Sitter website. It was perfect! The curriculum partnered with my AHA first aid/cpr/aed teaching certifications and allowed up to people to be trained in one session - by video! The staff could not have been more supportive, and the materials are up to date and attractive. Best of all, the related costs are low enough to be cost-effective for us.
We have added Safe Sitter certification to our summer camp line ups. Campers spend 3-4 hours a day in Safe Sitter classes and also get to swim, do crafts (some SS related), and other camp-y activities. At the end of the week, we have a graduation, and they are ready to start their own businesses. We find that the camp schedule gives us more time to add even more information as well as certify the campers in CPR/First Aid/AED and give them more leadership skills. A win-win!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing! It is much better than other training organizations already and very supportive to their instructors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

As an Emergency Room Nurse and Safe Sitter Insructor I see the value of the Safe Sitter curiculum on a regular basis. Preventing injury and avoiding unsafe situations are so relevant in our environment today.
It is a pleasure to teach Safe Sitter!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Safe Sitter

Our Medical Fitness Center has been using Safe Sitter as part of our community resources for years and as a Safe Sitter Coordinator I've been totally in awe of the change in the students who come through the program - now over 1,000. The first day of the two day class, we get
the usual 11-13 year old behavior and attention span but by the 2nd of the two days, they have matured enormously! They have had real CPR and First Aid training from our instructors and really have a mastery of the skills they are taught. They are confident and well versed in those skills and in the role they have taken caring for children. Safe Sitter is presented with great integrity, is very carefully laid out and taught - and in my observation, it never disappoints!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Coffeyville Regional Medical Center has been a Safe Sitter site for 18 years. Since1996 CRMC has graduated 363 Safe Sitter participants.

Our coordinator retired last year and turned the reins over to me.

On July 30-31, 2013 we held our first class that I coordinated, with a
total of 9 students. During the class, I had occasion to go into the classroom and take a few photos. While I was there, I was very impressed with what I observed. The kids were fully engaged, asking questions, and doing hands-on exercises, which included infant CPR. This program is excellent and provides such good information that I think it should be used outside of babysitting, such as helping with younger siblings. Every child (and maybe even adult) should have to take this course.

I also had several occasions to talk with Safe Sitter staff since it was my first class to coordinate. I found everyone at Safe Sitter to be very helpful and walk me through all the steps. They made the job much easier, and they provided all the forms and information to me. They were great to work with.

We look forward to being a Safe Sitter Site for many years in the future because this program is such a good community service.
Susan

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers