Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Safe Passage fulfills the academic, social, and nutritional needs of some of the most destitute children in Guatemala City. The organization takes a whole-family view, and has also started programs supporting the education and economic independence of mothers as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a donor and child sponsor for years. GREAT organization doing FANTASTIC work everyday. 1000 thanks to ALL involved including those who are considering contributing. Full speed ahead!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for Safe Passage from 2004-2006 and have watched it grow over the years. It does a fabulous job education the poorest of the poor in Guatemala City, integrating locals and volunteers in its efforts. Its holistic approach to combatting poverty is incredibly effective. It is the best run non-profit I have ever encountered in my 12 years of living and volunteering abroad in 4 different foreign countries. If you want to make a difference in a child's life and actually see results, get involved with Safe Passage, Camino Seguro.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We sponsor through Safe Passage, and are continually amazed at the real, practical difference made in the lives of kids and families who otherwise live in poverty in the city dump in Guatemala City.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Safe Passage changes lives. For the three children I sponsor with my brother and sisters, it takes them off the streets and out of the Guatemala City garbage dump by providing them a safe place to study, eat, play, and grow. For the volunteers like my siblings, it shows them a world so different and so much more precarious than their own while empowering them to make real and invaluable changes in the lives of these children. For the mothers involved in the program, it provides a them with the skills and self confidence to create small businesses and better provide for their families. For me it has proven that a small group of people can make a big change if they put their minds to it and that even a small improvement in the life of a child is worth just about anything. In sum, Safe Passage gives people one of the most powerful gifts imaginable: hope.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I became familiar with Safe Passage in the summer of 2010 when my 21 year old son became a long-term volunteer for this group. I heard much about what SafePassage was accomplishing from him during his first 6 months, and was so impressed with what the oganization accomplishes that I, under their support team program, recruited 4 others to put together a support team and we went to Guatemala in June of 2011 for a week of volunteering. There, we saw first hand the incredible success and magic of this organization. Let me take a step back in my story - in 1989 I went to Guatemala (one of many, many visits over the years) and adopted my son Nicholas. He is the the son volunteering at Safe Passage now. I returned in 1991 for my son Steven, and in 1995 for my daughter Rosie. My daughter Rosie went with us on our SafePassage support team trip. Safe Passage has wrapped its collective arms aroung the families living around and working in the Guatemala city dump - families that for generations have been at the bottom of Guatemala's poor. Its mission is to bring hope, education, and opportunity to the children and families living in extreme poverty around the City's garbage dump." Today, Safe Passage has over 100 children in its 'estrilta' preschool (where my son has been a teachers aid in the 2 year old classroom for 2 years), and over 500 children in the educational reinforcement program. The children in the estrelita are there all day, receives all of their meals, engage in a outstanding pre-school curriculum 'planting seeds' , get bathed, brush their teeth, see a dentist twice a year, get medical care, etc. etc. THe children in the educ reinforcement program are provided with books, uniforms, backpacks and tuition to attend the guatemala public schools(which are half day) and spend the other half of the day at safepassage where they have meals, brush their teeth! learn english, get homework help, take music and art, do sports, , and on top of this, these 600 + plus children, representing over 300 families in the dump, often have an active mother or father in the adult literacy program , a mother who no longer works at the dump because she is successful in the jewelry cooperative, a family that is lifting itself out of poverty. Safe Passage is providing these 300 + families a way out of the grinding poverty through education, and Caring - and not a lot of money. THe program has a guatemalan staff of teachers and social workers, at any time over 40 volunteers from all over the world who commit a minimum of 2 months of the life to the program, and dozens of volunteer support teams from around the world that go to guatemala for a week at the program - Rotary clubs, high school and college groups,medical teams, teachers, etc. etc. Never have I seen such an amazing impact on such a large number of families - it truly is astounding. Go to their site, www.safepassage.org and see some of the wonderful things these kids and families are doing. And finally, for my personal perspective, adopting children who are in need of a family because of poverty in a country comes with its own share of sadness, for the family that was but could not continue. I am incredibly proud of the work of SafePassage in that they truly are providing what is needed for Families to stay together and thrive together.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers